We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant food”
Review of Lysses House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lysses House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Restaurant food”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Often eat here and have enjoyed really good quality food every time. Plenty of choices on the menu and their seasonal Specials deals are excellent value. Staff friendly & attentive. Pleasant atmosphere & background music allows you to hear and be heard by others on your table.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We do make sure they are passed on to all our staff so it really makes a difference. We look forward to seeing you at Lysses again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    84
    53
    7
    7
See reviews for
51
47
7
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were only staying there for one night, the staff were friendly. However, our room wasn't ready on arrival. The place looked a bit dated. I can't comment on the food because we ate out. As others have said, the walls are quite thin and I believe we were at the top of the stairs so we heard people coming and going. However, the bed was comfy and I got a good nights sleep. Shower was ok, nothing special. There is a free car park out the back but it is slightly cramped.

Room Tip: Try to get a room nearer the back, then you're away from the stairs and the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank sg3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for review. We always take our customers comments on board so we can improve for the future, I can only apologise that your room was not ready when you arrived. We have also been working hard to improve the sound insulation between rooms. We hope to see you back at Lysses House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed two nights with my husband and teenager daughter.
Booked a family room which was spacious and clean. The room was directly below the stairs and this was noisy, however did not impact on our stay.
Breakfast, we took breakfast on the Sunday morning and the full breakfast was freshly made. We were disappointed with the young girls serving as they did not seem interested. We had to ask for juice as none available at table and this was not offered.
The hotel is centrally located with plenty of parking. We would stay again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johno430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We have taken on board your comments regarding breakfast and have been working hard to improve in this area over the weekend period. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

My wife and friends visited this hotel restaurant and found the food very good.
This restaurant is one of only a few who do silver service in the area, It makes a change from Indian or Chinese for a good night out.

Room Tip: There is a big car park around the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a positive review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oost van Rotterdam
Level Contributor
96 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. Some mixed feelings :
pro's : general appearance, reception, staff in general, cleanliness, parking, quality of breakfast, size of a 3 person room, size of bathroom , location , free use of closeby fitness center
cons : thickness of the walls ( not all rooms they are in the process of improving) , quality of the bed ( we were moved to another room , much, much better) , no a/c .

In general a pleasent stay with some drawbacks. The hotel has a lot of character with a dedicated staff who try hard to make your stay pleasant. My verdict would be very good if the bed in the first room was better and the wall just some more soundproofed !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rotjeknor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. All our guests comments are very important to us and help us to improve for the future. We hope to welcome you back to Lysses House Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

The Lysses hotel to be perfectly honest we found this place on the Internet we were going down for for a family meeting. Everywhere was full this was the only place that had rooms available. I've read some of the reviews and find there all one way. We got to our rooms and they were great clean and tidy the staff were very friendly and plenty of them very helpfull. It was great cant falt it great place.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alfiewhitestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to leave us such great feedback. Our team always really appreciate it. We hope to see you again at Lysses House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at the Lysses hotel and for the price i think it was very plain, the location of the hotel for us was ideal however the hotel is only average at best. The rooms are a bit dated, the staff are very friendly but not overly professional and on our last morning we found cutlery and more than 4 cups to be dirty, not really acceptable for a hotel charging the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Dibley69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave us your feedback. We always take our guest comments very seriously and strive to improve for the future. I can only apologise for the dirty cups and cutlery. All our staff are aware that all items for use by our guests should be checked before use. I can offer no explanation or excuse for our shortfall, only that this is neither a regular occurence or a true reflection of the service we offer. We do hope to see you again at Lysses House Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
631 reviews
1.1 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,013 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roundabout Hotel
The Roundabout Hotel
#7 of 7 in Fareham
238 reviews
3.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lysses House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lysses House Hotel

Property: Lysses House Hotel
Address: 51 High Street, Fareham PO16 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lysses House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lysses House, once a family residence built at the height of the Georgian era, is now a small independent hotel situated in the quiet and peaceful surroundings of the old High Street in Fareham. It is easily accessible from the M27, junction 11. We have 21 ensuite bedrooms all with comfy duvets, flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi. Our lounge and bar area is the perfect place to relax with friends or colleagues. Light snacks, refreshing drinks or tea and coffee are available. When the weather is warm you can also enjoy the tranquil surroundings of our garden terrace. Our Richmond Restaurant is open for breakfast daily, lunch (Sunday to Friday) and dinner (Monday to Saturday. We grow our own herbs and use fresh produce from as many local suppliers as possible. Although we do not have leisure facilties on site, all our hotel residents can visit the local LA Fitness centre, just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We offer high standards, fine food and excellent facilities, but most of all, friendly personal service delivered by a team of great people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Lysses House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lysses House Hotel Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing