We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit dated, but comfortable.”
Review of Lysses House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lysses House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
dlmutley
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bit dated, but comfortable.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed here because it was a friends wedding. We were on the second floor, where the decor is a bit tired. Initially on entering thought the double bed was massive, then realised that they had put two single beds together; fortuanately it did stay together! Room looks like it decorated with corporate 1980's in mind. Not quite sure why there is wall paper on the bathroom door and it peels to boot,much like quite a bit of the wall paper in the room. It was a roasting hot day so grateful that the air con was very effective. The bathroom was ok. The shower was on a mixer so took a few mintues to get to right temperature, but held it no problem.
The wedding dinner was reasonable. Though wasn't impressed at cold veg with my main by the time it took to cirulate to our table. Also the mash potato was far too creamy for my taste, no texture to it. Was a shame as have eaten here before (a good number of years ago) and was really nice. I think the trouble is when doing a big function the food hangs around for too long hence temperature issues. Was surprised by how tight they were with the wine at the meal.. Instead of leaving it on the table you had to ask the staff for a top up. I managed two and a half galsses. Yes half, as I shared my last glass with other half as the bottle ran out on my glass and the waitress disappeared not to be seen again. Did notice that some fellow diners on a few tables had given up and gone to the bar to get there own drinks. Shame as I suspect they paid a fortune for the function.
Breakfast - spot on. Great food and lovely service.
The hotel is handy if you need to be near town and want parking, but in my opinion over priced for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dlmutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you for posting a review further to your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear there were some positive aspects of your stay, but disappointed that we missed the mark on a few things.
Please be assured that our beds would not have come apart. They are “zip and link” beds especially made for the hotel industry. The mattresses zip together and the bases have very large metal clips holding them together. We only have 1 within the hotel but it provides the room with extra flexibility. We are undertaking a refurbishment of our top floor bedrooms and bathrooms starting in November this year, as although they are spotlessly clean, as you pointed out they are starting to look a bit dated.
With regards to the function, we will only serve what has been arranged with the function organisers. We would not want their day to be spoilt with an unexpected bill at the end. I have also passed your comments regarding the food to our Food and Beverage Director. We are always grateful for any feedback in this area as In our opinion the standard of food for a large function should be the same as when catering for 4. It is paramount that we maintain this standard as we have an excellent reputation to uphold with regards to catering for large functions. Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you at Lysses House Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    85
    53
    7
    7
See reviews for
53
47
7
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had our reception here August 2014. The staff could not have been more helpful, they really bent over backwards for us with last minute changes due to family illness. The food was amazing, the room was beautifully decorated, the dj was brilliant and all of our guests has a brilliant time. We will use this hotel again for other special occasions.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alanmel2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave us such a positive review. It was an absolute pleasure and a privilege to be part of your special day and we are so glad that we were able to help make it a memorable one. We are looking forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

At the hotel for a wedding and a one night stay. The afternoon wedding reception was held in the upstairs function room. A nice enough setting. The three course meal was good with the exception of the cheesecake - rock solid base. The waiting staff were efficient and friendly. The evening reception was held downstairs. It was fortunate that it was a warm, sunny day as the function area downstairs was a bit small for the number of guests, so the outside patio area was utilised. Once the evening guests had arrived the bar became very busy. For most of the evening only one member of staff was serving behind the bar - not good. Our room, no. 7, was a double on the ground floor. It was expensive for what it was. It was roomy enough but tatty - rusty radiator, stained walls, shabby paintwork. The view was naff too - a brick wall. We had the included breakfast delivered to the room. It was okay but arrived after the time we specified and was a bit cold.

Room Tip: Avoid no. 7.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased that there were some positive aspects to your stay but disappointed that overall we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion Please be assured that we always take our guest feed back seriously and I will review your comments with our relevant members of staff and use them to improve our services in the future. We would love to welcome you back to Lysses next time you are visiting the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, uk
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

For almost twice the price of a premier inn i "enjoyed" last night: a single bed (haven't seen one of them in years!) this was big enough for a medium sized child. i am 6' 2"..... a shower so weak i barely knew it was on, and a room so hot i had to turn on the air conditioning, which was so loud i could not sleep

i'm all for a bit of character but sadly this hotel has seen much better days and no longer offers a service that is up to scratch.

good points:

staff friendly and tried their best
breakfast was good
location
the grounds are very pretty

Room Tip: do not accept a room on the 2nd floor, they are all very small and uncomfortable (and look nothing l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShatnersBasoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave us some feedback.
We appreciate the positive comments regarding our staff, breakfast and our grounds.
Fareham is quite an expensive area, so our single rooms at £70.00 per night including full English breakfast are still very popular. Double rooms for 1 person are available at £83.50 including breakfast which also represents excellent value.
I am sorry you were not happy with your room during your stay with us. We always strive to do our best and are continually looking to improve our facilities and service.
We have investigated the showers and the air conditioning and although we weren't able to find any issues with them, our weather was extremely hot this summer and it maybe that unusually high demand at the same time caused an intermittent problem that we are unable to replicate. I can only apologise for any inconvenience caused. We are continuing to monitor the situation.
We are planning to start a refurbishment of our top floor bedrooms and bathrooms this November, so we hope that we can welcome you back to Lysses House in the future to view the ongoing improvements to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed here for a one night business stayed booked only the night before at £70 per night inc breakfast.

It is a lovely traditional Georgian period building with high ceilings and large windows, so the entrance, restaurant and gardens outside are very well presented to period features of the time. The receptionist was welcoming and i was allocated a room on the second floor. The room unfortunately was disappointing. It was small, pokey, very basic and with little character. The bathroom, which was exceptionally clean had just a shower and decor reminded me of an airplane toilet. Having said that it was very clean and I suppose for one night it would just suffice. As i was travelling on business, wifi is essential and on the most part it work fine apart from late evening during peak use time when it was quite slow.

There was a wedding party staying so the restaurant was not available. However, the hotel is located in Fareham town centre, so I found somewhere to eat within a few minutes walk. When I checked in I was informed the bar would close at 11, I came down to the bar at 9:45 ordered a drink and then the bar staff proceeded to close the bar in a hurry, much to the dismay of the few guests left from the wedding party who were still in the bar. Once the bar was closed at 10, more residents came to the bar, only to notice it was closed. They complained to the lovely receptionist who checked me in earlier, who proceeded to reopen the bar and serve the residents and more guests from wedding. But to close the bar early during a wedding function and on a Thursday evening in a hotel is by anyones standards a cardinal sin.

Breakfast was good. Would have been nice to see fruit and yogurt on offer, as an alternative to cereals but the hot breakfast was well cooked and presented.

This could be an excellent hotel, it just needs to be more consistant throughout. Would I back again? Probably not.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank icansmellthesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 October 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us some constructive feedback.
I am sorry you were disappointed with your room. All our rooms are different shapes and sizes and we do have some small single rooms on our second floor which are cheaper than our larger rooms. We note your comments regarding the bathrooms and thank you for noticing they are exceptionally clean. We are in the process of planning refurbishments of our top floor bedrooms and bathrooms which we hope to start in November this year.

Being a small hotel, we do not have dedicated bar staff, our food and beverage staff also cover the restaurant. We do close the bar when it is quiet to allow our staff to prepare the restaurant for the following day, however, any of our staff on duty, whether it be the receptionist, night porter or food and beverage staff, will always be happy to serve drinks to our residents at any time of night or day.

Yogurt and fruit is available to order on our breakfast menu, rather than on the breakfast buffet to ensure our customers get the freshest possible produce.

We do hope you will revisit us again in the future to have a look around at our ongoing improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed for 1 night, the hotel is on the high street in Fareham. The hotel is very nicely decorated, my room was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. Tea & coffee facilities, large TV and free wi-fi, the en-suite was OK, the water pipes were very noisy though when the taps turned on.
The food in the restaurant was very nice, there is a 2 or 3 course meal in the evenings with plenty of choice. Breakfast good, cereals juices etc and cooked breakfast to order.
I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suunytimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are constantly working hard to improve our facilities and service so our staff really appreciate the positive feedback. We hope to see you again at Lysses House in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We had reason to push the boat out a little this weekend and due to time restraints could not travel too far from home. We drive past this hotel quite regularly and called in on Saturday for afternoon tea with some champagne.
We run the bell in reception where another customer (staying guest) was also waiting. She gave up and went back to her room. We walked through the hotel. Pleasantly decorated but the bar was empty, the lounge was empty, the garden had a couple sitting out there. We tried to find a member of staff but couldn't. Back at reception we rang the bell for a third time, still no-one came. so after 20mins we left the building and drove round to the golf club to have afternoon tea there. Very disappointing and such a shame, it was hot and sunny and would have been lovely in there garden.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaz-Gez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LyssesManager, Front Office Manager at Lysses House Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
I can only apologize that you were unable to find a member of staff. Unfortunately, there was an incident on Saturday afternoon and our receptionist had been called to a room to help an elderly guest. We would love to see you at Lysses House in the future, but we ask that afternoon tea is booked at least 24 hours in advance as everything is freshly made to order. Being a small hotel, our bar is not staffed in the afternoons unless bookings have been made, however our reception staff are usually on hand to help with teas, coffees and drinks. I hope you had a pleasant afternoon, and I am sorry we were unable to help on this occasion,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
639 reviews
1.1 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,025 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roundabout Hotel
The Roundabout Hotel
#7 of 7 in Fareham
241 reviews
3.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lysses House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lysses House Hotel

Property: Lysses House Hotel
Address: 51 High Street, Fareham PO16 7BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lysses House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lysses House, once a family residence built at the height of the Georgian era, is now a small independent hotel situated in the quiet and peaceful surroundings of the old High Street in Fareham. It is easily accessible from the M27, junction 11. We have 21 ensuite bedrooms all with comfy duvets, flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities and free wifi. Our lounge and bar area is the perfect place to relax with friends or colleagues. Light snacks, refreshing drinks or tea and coffee are available. When the weather is warm you can also enjoy the tranquil surroundings of our garden terrace. Our Richmond Restaurant is open for breakfast daily, lunch (Sunday to Friday) and dinner (Monday to Saturday. We grow our own herbs and use fresh produce from as many local suppliers as possible. Although we do not have leisure facilties on site, all our hotel residents can visit the local LA Fitness centre, just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. We offer high standards, fine food and excellent facilities, but most of all, friendly personal service delivered by a team of great people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Lysses House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lysses House Hotel Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing