We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great evening”
Review of Lauros Brasserie

Lauros Brasserie
Ranked #3 of 162 Restaurants in Fareham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great evening”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We visited Lauros on 12.04.14. We were the first people in there so were seated quickly.
We ordered a bottle of house white which was quite nice, but have had nicer.
I ordered the Goats cheese for starters and slow cooked beef for mains. My partner ordered the Chicken breast with the intention of sharing my starters with me.
The starters came out pretty quickly and we were both happy with the presentation and quality of the food.
The mains arrived in a good amount of time after we finished our starters and was again presented beautifully.
The beef was nice although the sauce was a bit too strong tasting for my liking, absolutley nothing wrong with it though. My partner enjoyed his main. I especially liked the potato, very nice tasting!
We decided to share the assorted mini assorted dessert. We were both very impressed with this as once again the presentation was great and had a nice selection of desserts including mini creme brulee, chocolate torte, fruit and a kind of fruit pie. It had lovely tasting sauces with it which were presented in different shapes (the pattern in the centre was shaped as a pair of lips!)
I really liked this restaurant, it looks small but I didn't think it felt as small as others have made out in previous reviews? I especially liked the fact that you could see into the kitchen, demonstrates to me that the Chef's do really care about what they are doing and have nothing to hide.
Would definitely re-visit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    54
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“OK”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Tried this based on reviews but was a bit disappointed. Found the ambience lacking and the tables way too close together. This meant you felt a bit like you were sharing tables with the couples on either side of you, but it's a small place so they have used every inch of space. We found the food was ok, but nothing outstanding.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pewter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Been using this restaurant for over 10 years. Not cheap but definitely a question of you get what you pay for.
Be careful - once you've eaten the scallops you'll never choose a different starter - perfection!
Top quality and have never been disappointed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NKRSouthsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“try the fish”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Certainly one of the best Bass Fillets I have had and the sauce was exceptional..... and very nice to see serious effort made with deserts.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dsahq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Top class food in a lovely little restaurant ”
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in warsash and they recommended this place.

From the outside it doesn't look anything special but please don't let it put you off, inside it is lovely the staff are fantastic and the food is presented and tasted as good as any top class restaurant we have eaten at great wine can't fault it In any way a massive thank you for lovely evening

Helpful?
1 Thank bunny0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lauros Brasserie also viewed

 
Fareham, Hampshire
 

Been to Lauros Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing