We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice Band B in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Trafalgar Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Fareham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“nice Band B in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Large B&B in the Hight Street Fareham, close to shops banks.
Built in the 1830s Period decor.
Very spacious in communal area.
Bedrooms of good size with en-suite.
Very clean.
Stayed one night.
Defo use again and recommend people to stay.
Pet friendly. Able to take your dog for a quick walk close to the hotel.
Ample parking space at the back of B&B.
Large garden.
Warning very narrow entrance a few yards away from the B&B that takes to private car back at the back of hotel, where you can also enter the building.
Owner very pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast excellent, served in a delightful dinning room that over looks the spacious garden.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PGA1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    36
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
52
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This was a great place to stay in Fareham. The welcome was warm and genuine and the room we were allocated was large and bright and had 2 double beds and a single bed which would be ideal for a family. The ensuite bathroom with shower was clean and cleverly built into the room in this heritage listing building. The Breakfast options were very good - hot English alternatives or simple cereals and milk and yoghurt. In deed the breakfast set us for our day of sight seeing. Service was excellent and on-site parking out the back was a bonus. Like others we visited the Golden Lion pub for an evening meal of good pub food. There was nothing to fault for our short 2 night stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foxey2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I spent two nights at the Trafalgar this week and highly recommend it. The room was large and comfortable. the bathroom was big and beautifully appointed with a jacuzzi bath and new shower. it was clearly newly refurbished, spotless and warm. the breakfast was made to order and they were very helpful when I was joined by a friend. the woman who served breakfast on Saturday and then came to tidy the room and replenish drinks was really lovely and couldn't do enough for us. the only little thing was the bright street lamp which shone into the room all night. Obviously they can't stop that but an extra blackout curtain liner could solve the problem. All in all one of the best little hotels I have stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaH48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in the four poster room, which was very comfortable and spacious with a large en suite. We slept soundly with no road noise at all in-spite of its central position. There's parking at the back and an amazing little restaurant over the road - Lauro's Brasserie is highly recommended.
Beware however of the amazing breakfast, it is seriously huge and absolutely wonderful.
All in all a lovely weekend and we're very happy to recommend this lovely guest house

Room Tip: Ask for the four poster room, the bed is huge and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here for one night en route to taking our daughter to Southampton university. Got a family room which consisted of a super comfortable double bed for my husband and I and a single bed for our daughter. There was plenty of room for us all, with a tiny ensuite with everything you would need. We ate across the road in the local pub although wasnt overly impressed with the food. Not much happening in fareham but we went and had a drink in one of the bars in town. HAd fabulous cooked breakfast before we left the next day. Would reccommend this guest house to anyone passing through Fareham.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed overnight due to a Naval ceremony and following the reviews on Trip Advisor. The Guest house is a beautifully renovated old office building and the room we stayed in was the family room on the ground floor. It was spacious, clean and comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was also very clean and spacious. The guest house is also central just being a short walk to the centre of Fareham where you will find lots of restaurants and shops. The full English breakfast was large and served hot (although it did take a while to arrive, and the lady who served us was very friendly and welcoming although the owner (Shaun) does not come across as a people person. I think the price of €95 for the one night (2 people) was expensive and not sure if I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeronicaFennell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at the guest house for two weeks in their family room. It was spacious enough for three kids and two adults, with shower and facilities in the room. I have no idea how they kept it so tidy when we went out, but it was really appreciated. The cookies and tea when we got back to the room was always welcome. Shawn and Natalie are amazing hosts and did so much to make our stay wonderful. Incredible full English breakfast kept us good until an early supper. Food was delicious and lots of it. There is a large backyard with BBQ and picnic table to enjoy the outdoors. I would highly recommend this for families where you would like to stay together. We had a room overlooking the street and there was no problem sleeping with the window open. Golden Lion across the street had great food but got booked up fast on some nights.

Room Tip: Family room is large and easily fits three kids and two adults. Perfect for families with younger c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fareham hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.1 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
0.1 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafalgar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafalgar Guest House

Property: Trafalgar Guest House
Address: 63 High Street, Fareham PO16 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trafalgar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trafalgar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Guest House Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing