We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Trafalgar Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Fareham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014

We stayed for one night Saturday 30th August, the room was very comfortable and clean. The Trafalgar was well presented and in a good location. The owners were very helpful in offering advice and information about the local area. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and the breakfast service was very good. The only thing we could criticise was that the kettle lead in the room was too short to reach the socket from the shelf so we had to put the kettle on the floor to boil it, which could have been a hazard. All in all a very nice place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterhopkins44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    36
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
52
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wodonga, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

This was a lovely well laid out room, with a great bathroom. We got in
Ate, but the hosts were friendly and accommodating. They showed us to the car park, and helped us get settled. Breakfast was awesome, in fact I wasn't sure I could eat it all, but I did. Would have liked to stay longer, but it was a stop over for Portsmouth.

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed overnight on 07/07/14 and thought that for £60 I wouldn't expect too much. What I got though was a very welcome reception, an immaculately clean and spacious room, and free wifi. The local area is decent too with some nice pubs, etc.

In the morning I got a full English included, and it was top notch. None of these cheap sausages and other bits which form the basis of many breakfasts in these type of places, but real good quality food cooked to perfection. Coffee isn't instant but instead filtered, and when I asked if they did decaf (the last 3 hotels I've stayed in I've had to get hot water and use my own tea bags) they said of course, tea or coffee?

I've stayed in a lot of places before which I've paid similar and given top ratings to thinking that you can't get better for the money, but this place makes then look positively lacklustre.

Place is a real find, I will undoubtedly stay here again and cannot recommend this place highly enough.

The only thing I'd change, and this is being really picky as there's nothing else I can think if, is that I like a really powerful shower and whilst the shower was decent, I'd prefer one that was a bit more like a pressure washer. Still, nothing wrong with it.

Last thing to add is there's ample free parking out back which is great. Beats the larger hotel chains any day of the week. Unbeatable for the money, has to be the best value for money hotel in the UK I'd think.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DamienellIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed here for one night with my 10 year old son before heading to the Goodwood Festival of Speed the next day. At first glance the interior looks a little dated but it's actually a welcome change from cookie-cutter chain hotels. Everything was very clean and the welcome was friendly. The room was huge - three beds and a good bathroom. Although we were leaving at 6am (before breakfast was served, obviously) we could help ourselves to cereal, juice etc. in the dining room. Nice touch. Location within Fareham wasn't a major issue since we were using it as a brief stopover but it's on an attractive street in the middle of the town. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riffa, Bahrain
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

On a flying visit to UK this month we needed somewhere near My family due to a bereavement, we stayed for 2 nights in the front facing room and booked the room next door for other family members. If I had been able to book earlier I would have been true to form and booked a chain hotel in Portsmouth, however my wife made the booking and what a fantastic choice it was. Originally from Fareham I didn't realise we had such hidden gems, if I had been told there was such a clean well presented establishment with ample parking in the High Street before,the many nights over the years either on my mums floor or out of town in a premier inn wouldn't have happened. Price wise they are spot on, the rooms are huge and airy, fresh bottled water alongside tea making materials is a rare find anywhere. We were able to check in early, and made to feel at home. I was worried about night traffic but there was either no need or I was just too comfortable in bed. Breakfast was another bonus, the choice (including omelletes) was far more than I expected, no instant coffee here, freshly cooked and all four meals arrived together. What a wonderful place, run by wonderful people and in a perfect location. This guest house sells itself. Don't take my word for it, book and visit you won't be disappointed. Bonus for all who stay here, just down the road is Soothills Bakery, visit early for the Lardie cake, you won't regret it. Many thanks to the owners who were polite, approachable and willing to be of assistance.

Room Tip: Front rooms look onto the High Street steeped in History.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil63Riffa_Bahrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

I was travelling on business and just wanted somewhere cheap and cheerful. I was not expecting somewhere so nice. The room was enormous, as was the bathroom. The place was spotless and staff were lovely. The place is so close to the lovely town centre with its abundance of restaurants. The breakfast smelled delicious, however I am not really a breakfast person.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deelited
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

I agree with everything said before, so I'll not go into any great detail. All I would like to add it that the wifi is great and not limited to half an hour, like the chain hotels. I was able to stream my programs without any buffering. Would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOOFY71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fareham hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.1 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
0.1 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trafalgar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trafalgar Guest House

Property: Trafalgar Guest House
Address: 63 High Street, Fareham PO16 7BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Trafalgar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trafalgar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Guest House Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing