We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aaaarrgggh!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Roundabout Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Aaaarrgggh!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I booked two single rooms in this hotel for 5th October. We had come to Fareham to celebrate an old friend's birthday. I had booked the hotel over the internet without checking out the reviews. Big Mistake! The poor maintenance and lack of cleanliness in both rooms was disgusting. In neither room did the television work and in one the remote control was extremely greasy and needed a good clean before we could test it out (to find that the tv did not work!! - next morning we were told that the management knew about this, so why was it not fixed?).

Other faults were that in one room the shower thermostat control was broken and my friend having soaped herself was left with a scalding shower (turning the control to cold had no effect) and no way to clean off the soap conveniently. If she had stepped into the shower after allowing it to get hot she would have been badly scalded. In the other room, a cleaning product had been used to remove limescale, but the bath had not been properly rinsed out and there was no bath mat for the shower: The result made showering extremely hazardous as the bath was unbelievably slippery and I very nearly fell over. In fact an earlier guest must have suffered the same fate as the shower control bar was not attached to the wall and must have been wrenched loose to avoid a fall. I also resent the fact that there were no sachets of shampoo etc and no toilet brush was provided.

The level of cleanliness in the rooms was poor. For example in my room there was a coffee mug containing what looked like the remains of a cup of tea which had been there long enough to be showing the early signs of mould.

I am glad that steveboy66 enjoyed his wedding at the hotel. However, my room was directly above the bar and at 1.30am, I did wonder whether to insert earplugs or go down and join in!

The welcome was ok, but the manager had difficulty identifying the second room even though the booking had been confirmed and when he found it, he did not offer to assist us with our bags - we are both quite elderly.

So what if anything was good? Well firstly, the hotel is dog friendly and there is free wifi. The beds were comfortable (though one squeaked badly) and the bed linen was fresh. The breakfast next morning was excellent served by a lovely lady for whom nothing was too much trouble. However when we asked to speak to the manager because we wished to complain, we were told that he was still in bed and that she would make a note of our complaints and pass them on.

In my opinion, this demonstrates extremely poor management and explains the lack of cleanliness in the rooms. The whole hotel looked tired and at £59 per night, it is not cheap. We will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 7 which is directly over the bar and if you must stay in this hotel, check that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    49
    33
    37
See reviews for
70
80
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had our wedding reception here on the 5th oct and cant find any fault with anything. The food was great the staff were brilliant very friendly, nothing was to much trouble.
We stayed overnight in room 24 very nice room, very clean .
This hotel doesnt deserve the many negative reviews it seems to attract .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steveyboy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My partner and I stayed at The Roundabout Hotel on Saturday night which was fully booked but I have to say, we were really disappointed to find that our hotel room was old fashioned and very basic and tired. However, it was generally clean with spotless towels and sheets which made it bearable for our very short stay. The lady on reception was really cheerful and helpful and seemed to do everything as she served our breakfast the next morning too, which was OK. The rate was cheap in comparison to other hotels in the area so basically, you get what you pay for...!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyndiloo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Eaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel is in need of a major face lift dull damp & very shabby (not shabby chic).good road access but thats about all. stayed in this hotel ten years ago it was always top of our list , but not anymore.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redcapphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fareham hotels

Sheffield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Quite simply, this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. We booked it as a cheap overnight stop because we were arriving back on a late ferry so thankfully we didn’t arrive until 10pm and left the next morning. The room was very shabby with a stained and grubby carpet and a tatty pair of faded curtains hung up by four rings on broken wonky poles. The folds of the curtains were thick with dust as were the bedside lamps and the wall shades and a plastic edging strip round the window was held in place with nails and black insulation tape. All the furniture had long since seen better days especially the two metal framed beds which creaked with every tiny movement. The bathroom had a dripping tap that had been dripping so long it had stained the sink and a loo with a dodgy flush. The plastic cups provided had obviously been re-used for a long time and shower head just about fitted in its holder as long as you didn’t mind it pointing at the ceiling. It was so bad we laughed about it saying oh well, it’s only for one night. Went down to breakfast before 8am the following morning as we wanted to get off early although I have to say I was very dubious about eating anything in this establishment. Having taken a surreptitious look through the window in the kitchen door I was relieved that it looked clean and hygienic and ordered a full English thinking I could pick and chose what looked edible. The girl who took our order was very friendly but she was on her own and rushed off her feet so service was slow from the start. After 35 minutes the girl had disappeared completely and we were still waiting for our breakfast to appear. Eventually I went through to the kitchen and found half a dozen cooked breakfasts lined up under the hot plate waiting for service. I actually asked if I could take them out myself but they did then find someone else to serve. No one except the cook gave us an apology and as we left my husband went into the kitchen to thank the cook for a nice breakfast ruined by the wait. I was ready to make my complaint to reception but failed to find anyone to complain to. Already very delayed in our departure I decided a review on trip advisor would probably be far more effective. This is one of the few times I have booked a hotel without reading the reviews but I won’t make that mistake again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We arrived Saturday night off the Caen ferry which docked at 9.30 pm. Thanks to sat. nav. we found the hotel -very difficult in the dark as it is the fifth turn of a roundabout and the hotel sign is not visible. Car park packed - Sat. night drinkers and a wedding. The receptionist indicated a space outside by the road, saying most cars would leave later. Room OK, we needed the fan provided, beds comfortable, bathroom cramped. Main problem was the noise - from the parties down below and outside and also until the early hours tramping of feet back and forth above us. The receptionist said he'd given us a quiet room!. Breakfast reasonable but the nice girl on duty did not think to ask us if we wanted black or white coffee - she presses a button on her machine - so we had to send us back as we do not like milky coffe (the coffee itself was excellent quality). I would not choose this hotel again, although it was good value - we only did so as we needed somewhere cheap near the ferry port.

Room Tip: Room 8 seemed to be above the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Tired, old, dusty, noisy. Filthy stained, hard, flat pillows, exchanged for more hard, flat pillows! I had to buy a new clean pillow from Aldi , thankfully not not far up the road.
So noisy with traffic, couldn't sleep even with ear plugs. Windows closed = hot, suffocating and hotel could not provide a fan - open windows at your peril of heavy traffic noise & carbon monoxide fumes from vehicles :-(
Breakfast finished at 09:30! I was reluctantly offered toast at 09:40
Single room was over priced 'broom cupboard' with wardrobe doors falling off and too much dust. Filthy stool & chair needed to sit on towel to cover the stains. The 'spaghetti junction' of wires next to the kettle was astonishingly dangerous!
Bring in the Hotel Inspector!

Room Tip: Ask for inside toom - not on roundabout side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jupiterjla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
631 reviews
1.3 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
211 reviews
4.0 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,013 reviews
3.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roundabout Hotel

Property: The Roundabout Hotel
Address: 46 Wallington Shore Road, Fareham PO16 8SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Roundabout Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roundabout Hotel Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing