We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRIENDLY BUT NOISY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Roundabout Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Doncsster
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FRIENDLY BUT NOISY”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed one night in cavernous Room 21 which is a family room that sleeps five.
UPSIDE - the room was clean and spacious with en-suite facilities and a large TV.
DOWNSIDE. The room overlooks the Delme Roundabout and the A27 Eastern Way flyover and the double glazing was powerless to reduce the loud traffic noise from 6am onwards.

The hotel itself was pleasant enough though it looked like it's last major refurbishment was in the seventies.

The staff were very helpful and friendly and their is a wide choice at breakfast. I had kippers with scrambled eggs which was well presented and very tasty.

Room Tip: If staying in Room 21 don't forget your ear plugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewiseowls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    49
    33
    37
See reviews for
70
80
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

I've stayed here twice on business, for a quick in and out. Arriving late and getting away early. The breakfast was huge!

On the second trip I left my watch and they kindly phoned me and then posted it back to me. I was really touched and grateful that they went the extra mile for me

I'll be back :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrewLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

On looking the recent reviews it was our idea to stay here for just one night, normally if we come to Fareham it would be the Red Lion Hotel Fareham but they were fully booked. On arrival there was nobody at reception, which was a caged area and very darkly decorated. After pressing the button on the desk someone eventually arrived from the bar area, I asked about the barred reception she said it was part of the character of the hotel. Dinner was another let down, scampi & chips & pie & chips was ordered, took an age to come there was 2 girls running the bar and reception, there was no atmosphere in the restaurant and scampi was burnt. Off to bedroom for a bit of telly before going to sleep, 1 teabag, no toiletries in bathroom which if you turn around quick enough could of done some damage either to you or there wall. Breakfast well this was another let down, buffet ( well cereals in some tubes and iffy grapefruit in a bowl ) 10 minutes before we saw anybody to know where to sit and again no atmosphere. Check out was the same I went hunting for someone to hand the key in and finally leave.
I think in all honesty it is nicely positioned for excursions but focus to customers and your stay is at the bottom of the list, we will not be staying here again and would not recommend either.

Room Tip: Pack your own teabags, eat out someone out nice, walk into Fareham and eat at the Red Lion even bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stampida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fareham hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here with my partner & dog. The staff are so, so wonderful! Very welcoming & they go out of their way to help; nothing is too much trouble. The room was clean, comfortable & cosy. Room service was great value for money, nice variety, delicious and arrived very quickly. The whole stay was just lovely!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mlooby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend. Was attending a friends birthday party close by. The hotel is very basic but you get what you pay for!! Staff are all very friendly and the breakfast was quite good. It was also dog friendly. The bar is quite popular with locals (which is good) but some of the language was colourful. All in all the place did what we wanted and we got what we paid for.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth UK
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a funeral wake and some of the family stayed at the hotel. We had a buffet in the afternoon and a meal for 22 in the evening. Food was excellent and plentiful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Best of all the staff were obliging, friendly and professional. They made a sad occasion much easier by their manner. I would happily recommend it

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Alice54PortsmouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My partner, myself and our dog very much enjoyed our stay. The staff and punters were very welcoming, even when our 11 month dog Tink got in everyones way in the bar/restaurant.

The meal in the evening did the job and breakfast helped us through the day.

Unfortunately the hotel is situated on a very busy road which is a slight nuisance but we will still be planning to stay in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
0.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
630 reviews
1.3 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
211 reviews
4.0 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,012 reviews
3.4 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Roundabout Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Roundabout Hotel

Property: The Roundabout Hotel
Address: 46 Wallington Shore Road, Fareham PO16 8SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Roundabout Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Roundabout Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Roundabout Hotel Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing