We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“birthday meal” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bahn Thai

Bahn Thai
Ranked #65 of 162 Restaurants in Fareham
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“birthday meal”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

We went for a special birthday meal. When we sat down we were gven a menu then the waitress went to sit down at the back of the restaurant. She did n't even ask us if we wanted a drink first. We were readay to order and trying to get her attention

It seemd as it was an effort for her to serve us and gave the imperssion that she just was not interested.

The food was vastly over priced for what it was. The cutlery looked as if it had seen its day and the knife was not particularly clean. We won't be going back there again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank a p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    49
    32
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not worth visiting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

The quality of the food was poor the dishes did not represent the type of dish they were described as on the menu!! It was quiet the evening I visited ! Although the young lady serving us was pleasant she didn't seem to understand what some of the dishes were . Would not return as I didn't feel comfortable and didn't get value for money.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

After reading some reviews I was expecting a lot worse. We came for a friends birthday and all had a great time. The food was ok, just lacked some spice. The sweetcorn cakes are divine.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fareham
1 review
“SCRUMPTIOUS!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

It's my first time to dine in with friends at this restaurant.I ordered a seafood hotpot and while enjoying it , next table ordered a very yummy king prawns in peanut and tamarind sauce.The smell was irresistible and because my eyes were bigger than my tummy,I have to order a second main course and ate it all without sharing to anybody!Since then,I can't stop thinking about it ,planning to go there again.The best quality Thai food I had.Price was reasonable.Definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mjherb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice meal.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Went mid-week. Only a few other tables occupied.
Not the best Thai I've had, but not the worst.
Reasonable service. Could do with a bit more atmosphere and ambience.
Would go again seeing as it's so close to where we live.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bahn Thai also viewed

Whiteley, Fareham
Wickham, Hampshire
 
Fareham, Hampshire
Wickham, Hampshire
 
Wickham, Hampshire
 

Been to Bahn Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing