We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sloppy customer service.”
Review of Ellerslie Hotel

Ellerslie Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ellerslie Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Fareham B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 August 2014

On arrival we sat outside the hotel for about 20 minutes waiting for someone to answer the door, we constantly rang the bell and knocked on the door with the door knocker. I then rang their telephone number. The call was answered then rang off I rang 4 more times before a woman answered. When I explained we were waiting outside she laughed then answered the door. We did not see any staff for the next three days. On the last morning I looked for someone so I could pay the bill with cash. The gentleman called me by the wrong name then handed me the receipt for payment. He said he had taken payment the night before from the card details I had entered when booking even though it was stated when booking, and also on their own literature in the room, that we had to pay on day of departure.We liked the cleanliness of the hotel and the location was good it was very quiet. Such a shame that the stay this hotel was spoiled by sloppy customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank June S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed for 2 nights whilst visiting friends. We thought it comfortable with the usual freebies and hair dryer. The room was large with sash windows overlooking the large garden space.
Room was on the 1st floor. The one window did not stay open on its own so wedged it as very hot night. We had arranged to come in later but arrived earlier and were shown to our room. We did not know if we were allowed to use the campers facilities, lounge etc. but as we were in and out all the time it didn't matter. We could walk from there in about half an hour to our friends on edge of Portchester but there were no lights for a long period from turning into the road, over the railway bridge and to entrance of hotel area. It is set in large open space and so gives it a country feel.
We did not have very hot water but on checking out we got a very good discount. We thought the price was a bit high and we did not have the breakfast there as £8 each extra. We are travelling around so need to be careful of our budget.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travellight55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed at at Ellerslie recently for a meeting in Fareham. For a one night stay it's perfectly adequate as it was close and cheap enough compared to other places. My rating states average due to poor appears to harsh. The rooms are large however the decor is very dated. The breakfast will cost you an extra £8 to be honest that price is high for instant coffee and frozen sausages.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy_Anderson7735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Ok, it's well priced, the owners and staff are lovely and the breakfast outstanding. Unfortunately the room was very dated - green bathroom suite and portable heaters, really ?
It's also off the track a bit so driving to find somewhere to eat is a challenge.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Zebroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight in a large ensuite double room on our way to an event on the Solent.
While decor was too chintzy for my taste the room had everything and the breakfast (served at a big table adjacent to a lovely walk in fireplace) was hearty.
Location (5 mins off M27) and near Gosport yet in a secluded and quiet spot makes this a great stop off / base for exploring the historic docks and The Solent.
Only real disappointment the nearby pub (Seagull) whose food was the sort of budget all you can eat for a fiver that substantiates European claims that us Brits only each fish / burger and chips.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pyecombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Good:
Staff, large room, comfy bed, wifi, tv, peaceful location, country kitchen breakfast

Not so good:
Weak shower, toliet very slow to refill, quality of produce used for cooked breakfast

Top tip:
A little isolated so plan to drive to pub/restaurant or BYO.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a one night stay at this Hotel, the room was large a bit outdated and needed updating but comfortable, it was very quiet could here the motorway in the distance, but not enough to bother you. Staff were very welcoming.

Could hear television in next room, but that's not the hotels fault, it's just inconsiderate people, which you get in 99 per cent of hotels. Had a good night sleep. I don't. Think the breakfast is worth £8, there is no choice of fruit just cereals, the lady asked us what we wanted but we didn't know what we could have, so we just ordered a basic breakfast. Mayby a menu on the table would be better so you could see what they have.
But all I all one of the best B&B we have stayed in, in Portsmouth. Would return but would not have breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanleyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fareham hotels
1.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fareham
694 reviews
4.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,121 reviews
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
3.7 mi away
The Bugle Hotel
The Bugle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchfield
127 reviews
2 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellerslie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellerslie Hotel

Address: 72 Down End Road, Fareham PO16 8TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Fareham
Price Range: £77 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ellerslie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ellerslie Hotel Fareham, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing