We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Easter break”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This hotel has a great position close to Portsmouth and the Hamble Estuary. The room was basic but very clean and had a good sized TV. We had a nice quiet room at the back of the hotel, one side is on the road so you may want to request a quiet room when booking. The breakfast time was very busy with alot of familities and we had to wait on both mornings for a few moments before being allocated a table. I did not feel that we were made that welcome by the person who greeted us and although it was busy, I think they should have been better organised. It was more like a Holiday Inn Express as we had to make our own tea and coffee and they didn't even have teapots, just tea bags in a mug. The second morning it was a little better organised but I do think the breakfast was as good as other Holiday Inns I have stayed in. We had dinner at the hotel on the first night and this was a good standard, on the second night we found a couple of great pubs in Titchfield and this was about a 45 min walk away. It's well worth a visit to Gunwharf Quays over on the water bus and doing the boat trip around Portsmouth Harbour. Hearing about all the Naval ships was fascinating. We did a lovely walk along the Hamble River. There were alot of children in the hotel but our room was very quiet. The Swimming pool was a good size and they separated it for the serious swimmers.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel close to health club
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Many Thanks for your kind comments on your recent stay with us over Easter. I am glad that your stay overall was a success and look forwards to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    251
    135
    40
    37
See reviews for
206
180
30
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a meeting stay for business. Good and rich breakfast in the mornings. Nice and clean rooms.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poseidon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Many thanks for your comments on your recent stay at the Hotel. I do hope that we see you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here for a weekend break, that included a friends birthday party (held at the hotel).
The hotel is OK if a bit pricey for the location.
The breakfast on the first morning was excellant, with very few people there, but on the second morning it was not quite as good and very busy due to the "Peppa Pig" guests. The hotel is included in an offer to stay and visit Peppa Pig world.
The hotel is located on its own so you will need to drive and the restaurant is expensive and seems to be aimed at the business traveller (arrive, eat, sleep, leave).
We drove five minutes towards Fareham and ate at The Titchfield Mill, it was cheaper (but the food was very good) and had a better atmosphere for the leisure traveller.
However, I would mark the hotel as a 3.5 if I could, as it was clean and for the free use of the health club for guests.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaz-n-Dave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thanks your for your recent comments on your stay with us at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you at the hotel in the near future. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here for a week whilst working in the area rooms and corridors are of the standard you expect from a holiday inn. Rooms clean and sizeable desk. Food in the restaurant of high quality with a large menu though service can be slow. Two mornings we came down at 8am for breakfast and there was a sizeable queue and some of the items where unavailable though coming down 15 minutes either side solved this.

Large comfortable bar/foyer. Swimming pool was very shallow (even by hotel standards) perhaps only a metre deep.

Would certainly stay next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul-H8465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Many Thanks for your comments on your recent stay with us at the hotel. I am very sorry that during your stay you had to wait to be seated for breakfast. The hotel was very busy over the week of your stay and there were busy period of breakfast service. The hotel in future will now be advising guests that certain times for breakfast will be busy so we can avoid guests having to queue. I hope to see you back in the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
70 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed two nights as part of a work trip. Would definitely recommend if you aren't bothered about being close to any other shops, pubs, restaurants (apart from a Shell garage opposite). Nice pool and bar restaurant. Rooms a decent size.

Worth a special mention to the amazing service from Amanda in the main reception. She attended to our group superbly on both nights. One person had to take a call, so she took his food back to the kitchens to keep it warm, and was genuinely keen to make sure we had a wonderful stay. She was brilliant and an asset to Holiday Inn - everyone in our group commented on how good she was.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Many Thanks for your kind comments on your recent stay and your specific comments on the individual staff performances. I am delighted that you have had a great visit to the hotel and look forward to seeing you back again in the near future. Safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times. Location is great being only 15 minutes along the motorway to Portsmouth and all its leisure attractions. Hotel is well maintained, reception and adjoining lounge/bar area are attractive and relaxing, bedrooms are well appointed and comforatble. All staff we dealt with were helpful and friendly. The leisure club is excellent with a good size pool, jacuzzi and sauna/steam room. As well as the buffet breakfast you can also order individual breakfast items from the bar which is useful. Our only issue was noise late into the night from an adjoining room although the hotel cannot be blamed for inconsiderate guests and reception did say they would have dealt with it if we had rung them. Would highly recommend this hotel whether for business or leisure in Fareham or Portsmouth.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Numberoneguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. All your positive comments have been passed on to the team, who are delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay so much. Our guest service really is important to us all at the Hotel and we are thrilled to hear this left a lasting impression with you. We do hope to see you again in the near future at Holiday Inn Fareham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Stayed here on a visit to Peppa Pig World and booked through Paulton Parks.

Room, hotel, facilities all excellent. Staff very good too although one poor waitress in the restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review and share your thoughts. All your positive comments have been passed on to the team, who are delighted to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay so much. Our guest service really is important to us and appreciate your feedback. We do hope to see you again in the near future at Holiday Inn Fareham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
1.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,012 reviews
2.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
211 reviews
5.5 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Property: Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing