We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here a couple of Saturdays ago as my wife and I were going to a party in the area. There was a wedding taking place in the hotel and reception had a table all set up with drinks for the wedding party when we arrived. At check-in the staff were very pleasant and we were given a pimms which I guess was a kind of sorry, there is a wedding but please have a drink. I have stayed in many hotels where there have been weddings and never been offered a drink so that was nice. We decided to dump our stuff in our room, typical Holiday Inn, clean and tidy,etc., and went and sat in the small courtyard garden to wait for friends, they joined us and then the wedding party came out for photos. At one stage they asked if we wouldnt mind moving for a few minutes to accomodate, no problem, all very polite.

When we returned from our party, the bar area was very busy but service was quick and polite and had a pleasant hour in the bar. Hangover precluded breakfast so cant comment on that as made an early start. Hotel is very conveniently situated just off the M27. All in all a perfectly good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponytailpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the arrival drinks of pimms & made use of our courtyard whilst the sun was shining. It's great to read that you felt your stay was perfectly suitable for your needs. We hope that you will look to visit us again when next in the area. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    251
    135
    40
    37
See reviews for
206
180
30
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here after holidaying in France. We were made very welcome and were given a very comfortable and quiet room. Breakfast the next morning was superb, just about anything you would want. Staff were very friendly and helpful would return if in the area again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments on your recent stay with us. It's always great to hear our guests refer to the team as friendly & helpful, the team shall be delighted to read your lovely review. I am very pleased that you had a peaceful nights sleep & enjoyed the breakfast offerings. We do hope that you will visit us again soon. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
245 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It is a Holiday Inn and we found it to be very good for our overnight stay. The staff were very friendly and professional. The room was clean, smart and of a good size. The bed was very comfortable, and we had a lovely peaceful night's sleep. Airconditioning worked well and was very quiet, so all in all thank you very much we will certainly stay again when attending Goodwood.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very pleased that you found the team here so friendly and professional, I am very proud of hearing such nice comments. It's a pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable nights sleep, i'm sure well needed whilst attending Goodwood. We hope to see you next year. King Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

After a booking mix up by a TV-advertised hotel finder, my son and I were redirected to this Holiday Inn, hotels with twin bedded rooms being in short supply because Portmouth Uni open day co-incided with the Goodwood Festival of Speed, so this was as near to Portsmouth as we could get. Hence by 8am, we had the breakfast room to ourselves because the petrol-heads all left early. (Holiday Inn arranged a 5:30 breakfast service specially for them.)
The hotel is a fairly typical Holiday Inn, 3 miles out of town, red-brick low-rise complex, a little characterless but excellent for an overnight stay.
Plus: Beds extremely comportable, staff very friendly and welcoming. Room aircon quiet and efficient. Unlimited breakfast. Ample car parking. All the usual amenities available. We didn't use the excercise/spa facilities.
Minus: Buffet breakfast a little dried out. (This might have been better if most of the guests hadn't left early.) Evening dinner a bit expensive (fish & chips £12.95), but the hotel was rather remote and it was a bit late to explore for other restauants. It was good food though. Wi-Fi access extortionate. Sink waste mechinism in the room tended to get stuck down.
Also in the morning I found that the Corby Trouser Press timer had not shut off after the preset 30 minutes, so I had really toasty trousers to put on!!!
These were all minor points, and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as a stop-over for Portsmouth or Southampton. The car journey to Portsmouth City Centre took just 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Obviously I only saw the one room, on level 2, which offered a quiet and undisturbed night's sle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the hotel. We hope that you enjoyed viewing Portsmouth University. I am glad to hear that your stay at our hotel was as expected. I shall pass on your comments regarding the sink & trouser press to our maintenance team who shall look into these problems. We are happy to hear that you would recommend the hotel and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in conjunction with a visit to Goodwood festival of Speed. Lovely clean room, comfortable bed, fast efficient check in and out and 2 bottles of water and a Mars bar were a nice additional touch in the room. Email confirmations including directions were spot on. Although the hotel was full, parking was no problem at all and breakfast a very relaxed affair with plenty of good quality food to choose from and very friendly staff.
Nothing to do with the hotel at all but for those wishing to go to Goodwood bear in mind unfortunately it took us 3 hours to travel the short distance to the event due to horrendous traffic.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Matthew Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you found your room comfortable. We're glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and found the team friendly. We hope that you had a great time at Goodwood and return next year. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Drove nearly 200 miles and when arriving at the hotel with 3 children under 3 were informed that the hotel was fully booked! They lied to us saying that had tried contacting us beforehand by phone and email which had never happened. We were then told we had to to stay at their other hotel in Winchester, which was 30 mins from the hotel and we had passed on our way to Fareham. They also advised us that we would be 10 mins away from where would be going the following day. We were in fact over 30 mins away.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Liam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
I would like to thank you for taking the time to share you feedback. Please be assured that we fully understand your frustration of the situation incurred and we know that travelling to Winchester was not ideal for you and your family. Our operations manager has contacted you directly by email and is happy to call to discuss the situation if you wish. We hope that you enjoyed your weekend despite any occurrences. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Just returned home after celebrating our grand daughters christening at holiday inn sedgensworth.
As my son in law is from Leeds , some friends and family and ourselves stayed the night prior to the christening..Although there was a slight hiccup with the other grandparents booking ( due to it being booked through a second party) everything was sorted out efficiently.
We had a lovely evening ,starting with a swim and jacuzzi to unwind, followed by a few drinks and a nice meal in the restaurant . Phil and co behind the bar were very helpful as was our waitress..we found all staff to be very professional but also welcoming and friendly .
It was lovely to have pimms on our arrival , a very nice touch on such a hot day !
Although there was a wedding reception in full swing everything seemed to be quite relaxed .
We had the use of the function suite for the celebration . plenty of room to mingle and also a courtyard with tables and chairs .
Plenty of food nicelly presented.
Michelle and team did a great job once again ! Thank you holiday inn for another memorable family occassion .
We had our daughters wedding reception there in july 2010.
The pool area seemed in need of a re decoration and a fridge in the room would ve been nice.
Breakfasts are very good lots of choice ,although bacon was very salty for me .

Room Tip: If you are near the road it's not a problem if the window is shut ,air con works well .If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 8 July 2013
It is an absolute delight to read such a wonderful review. Thank you for sharing these kind comments about your recent event & family stay at the hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed all of our facilities including Spirit health club & the restaurant. Our Spirit health club is currently undergoing some essential maintenance work. It is great to hear that your event lived up to your exceptions. I shall personally ensure that Phil, Michelle & all mentioned get to read this fabulous review. We hope that you & your family plan to hold more family celebrations with us in the future. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
1.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,012 reviews
2.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
211 reviews
5.5 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Property: Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing