We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B+B Wickham(Wickham)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
New Place Hotel(Shirrell Heath)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
271
278
150
47
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
278
150
47
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeppa pig worldmars baron arrivalhealth clubexecutive roomleisure facilitiestravel cotswimming poolbuffet breakfastreception staffkids eat freepaultons parkbar areabiscuitssofa bedthe ground floorwould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
537 - 542 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2013

£200 per person per night for a 3 star hotel! I guess because its "Goodwood weekend" means that prices are doubled! Plus £15 per day for internet (should be included)! Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a self service buffet - food was fresh and tasty. The steaks at dinner were cooked absolutely perfectly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank veritas59915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope that you had a great time at Goodwood. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your steaks and breakfast so much, I shall share your kind comments with our kitchen team. You will be pleased to hear that complimentary wifi is something that will be offered to all IHG Rewards members within the next year, we are looking forward to the launch of this. We hope that you will chose to stay with us if returning to the event at Goodwood next year. Kind regards, Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here a couple of Saturdays ago as my wife and I were going to a party in the area. There was a wedding taking place in the hotel and reception had a table all set up with drinks for the wedding party when we arrived. At check-in the staff were very pleasant and we were given a pimms which I guess was a kind of sorry, there is a wedding but please have a drink. I have stayed in many hotels where there have been weddings and never been offered a drink so that was nice. We decided to dump our stuff in our room, typical Holiday Inn, clean and tidy,etc., and went and sat in the small courtyard garden to wait for friends, they joined us and then the wedding party came out for photos. At one stage they asked if we wouldnt mind moving for a few minutes to accomodate, no problem, all very polite.

When we returned from our party, the bar area was very busy but service was quick and polite and had a pleasant hour in the bar. Hangover precluded breakfast so cant comment on that as made an early start. Hotel is very conveniently situated just off the M27. All in all a perfectly good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ponytailpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the arrival drinks of pimms & made use of our courtyard whilst the sun was shining. It's great to read that you felt your stay was perfectly suitable for your needs. We hope that you will look to visit us again when next in the area. Kind regards, Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Spent one night here after holidaying in France. We were made very welcome and were given a very comfortable and quiet room. Breakfast the next morning was superb, just about anything you would want. Staff were very friendly and helpful would return if in the area again.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for sharing your kind comments on your recent stay with us. It's always great to hear our guests refer to the team as friendly & helpful, the team shall be delighted to read your lovely review. I am very pleased that you had a peaceful nights sleep & enjoyed the breakfast offerings. We do hope that you will visit us again soon. Kind regards, Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

It is a Holiday Inn and we found it to be very good for our overnight stay. The staff were very friendly and professional. The room was clean, smart and of a good size. The bed was very comfortable, and we had a lovely peaceful night's sleep. Airconditioning worked well and was very quiet, so all in all thank you very much we will certainly stay again when attending Goodwood.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skinsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am very pleased that you found the team here so friendly and professional, I am very proud of hearing such nice comments. It's a pleasure to hear that you had a comfortable nights sleep, i'm sure well needed whilst attending Goodwood. We hope to see you next year. King Regards, Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

After a booking mix up by a TV-advertised hotel finder, my son and I were redirected to this Holiday Inn, hotels with twin bedded rooms being in short supply because Portmouth Uni open day co-incided with the Goodwood Festival of Speed, so this was as near to Portsmouth as we could get. Hence by 8am, we had the breakfast room to ourselves because the petrol-heads all left early. (Holiday Inn arranged a 5:30 breakfast service specially for them.)
The hotel is a fairly typical Holiday Inn, 3 miles out of town, red-brick low-rise complex, a little characterless but excellent for an overnight stay.
Plus: Beds extremely comportable, staff very friendly and welcoming. Room aircon quiet and efficient. Unlimited breakfast. Ample car parking. All the usual amenities available. We didn't use the excercise/spa facilities.
Minus: Buffet breakfast a little dried out. (This might have been better if most of the guests hadn't left early.) Evening dinner a bit expensive (fish & chips £12.95), but the hotel was rather remote and it was a bit late to explore for other restauants. It was good food though. Wi-Fi access extortionate. Sink waste mechinism in the room tended to get stuck down.
Also in the morning I found that the Corby Trouser Press timer had not shut off after the preset 30 minutes, so I had really toasty trousers to put on!!!
These were all minor points, and I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as a stop-over for Portsmouth or Southampton. The car journey to Portsmouth City Centre took just 20 minutes.

Room Tip: Obviously I only saw the one room, on level 2, which offered a quiet and undisturbed night's sleep.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your review on your recent stay at the hotel. We hope that you enjoyed viewing Portsmouth University. I am glad to hear that your stay at our hotel was as expected. I shall pass on your comments regarding the sink & trouser press to our maintenance team who shall look into these problems. We are happy to hear that you would recommend the hotel and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews