We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good reasonably priced hotel, great breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good reasonably priced hotel, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here on a weekend in Portsmouth which is only a short drive away. Nice pool, nice welcome glass of Pimms and friendly staff. Great breakfast only niggle was very expensive Internet. ..........

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim-Neil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay. It is a delight to hear that you found our team friendly and had a good stay. I'd like to share with you the news that IHG is introducing complimentary wifi for all rewards members by 2014. We hope that you will look to stay with us here at Fareham again. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    250
    132
    38
    36
See reviews for
203
175
30
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Greeted with a glass of Pimms on arrival by very friendly staff. Booking in was easy. Hotel spotless and facilities great. Swimming pool on site which was a bonus. Only grumble would be that the window in our room faced a brick wall and I'm sure the hotel wasn't full so would have been nice to get a room with at least a bit of a view! Didn't complain as we were only there for one night. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JF1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments on your recent stay at the hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the complimentary Pimms on arrival, well needed on a warm summers day. It's great to read that you made use of of facilities including the pool. We hope that you shall stay with us again if you're visiting the area. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

My wife and I travelled 80 miles to attend a important reunion only to be told on arrival that we did not have a room. This is after we had booked and paid for the room months earlier, and had received a confirmation e-mail three days before we travelled welcoming us to HI Fareham.

On arrival we were lied to by the reception staff telling us that they had telephoned that morning and then thought up another story of plumbing problems. The staff and management were condescending and inadequate and I would advise anyone booking a room at this hotel, that until you have a key in your hand you cannot be sure you have a room. As for being a Priority Club member forget it! The only priority you get is your booked room is given to someone else.
My weekend was ruined because we had to return home that evening. We will never stay in a Holiday Inn again, and I advise others to do the same. You have been warned !!!

Room Tip: Don't stay in a Holiday Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments. I am very disheartened to hear that you felt you did not receive the level of service expected at our hotel. Please be assured that the team here do their up most best to ensure all of our guests leave the hotel happy. I have been informed that our front desk team did try to call you prior to your arrival but could only locate a home phone number. I am extremely sorry that we could not reach you. I am disappointed to hear that you travelled home despite the team here arranging alternative accommodation. Thank you again for your comments. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Four of us decided to take a short break in the area of Fareham, Hampshire, and chose the Holiday-inn as our base for 3 nights, on a dinner, bed and breakfast basis. Our rooms were comfortable - it had been the hottest day of the year when we arrived, and the air conditioning was most welcome. We thought the dinners were excellent, and the breakfasts could not be criticised. The one niggle we had was that the DBB deal did not allow us much variety for dinner over the three nights. However, on pointing this out to the restaurant manager, he took our point and allowed us a wider choice without paying a supplement.
All the staff, from reception to restaurant and housekeeping were very friendly, and we were made most welcome. I would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for sharing such pleasant comments. It is always lovely to hear that our guests enjoyed such a welcoming and comfortable stay. Our team will be extremely happy to read your kind review and comments and I shall ensure that this gets shared with all of them. We hope that you will choose to stay with us here at Fareham again in the near future. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

£200 per person per night for a 3 star hotel! I guess because its "Goodwood weekend" means that prices are doubled! Plus £15 per day for internet (should be included)! Rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was a self service buffet - food was fresh and tasty. The steaks at dinner were cooked absolutely perfectly.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veritas59915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope that you had a great time at Goodwood. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your steaks and breakfast so much, I shall share your kind comments with our kitchen team. You will be pleased to hear that complimentary wifi is something that will be offered to all IHG Rewards members within the next year, we are looking forward to the launch of this. We hope that you will chose to stay with us if returning to the event at Goodwood next year. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Stayed here a couple of Saturdays ago as my wife and I were going to a party in the area. There was a wedding taking place in the hotel and reception had a table all set up with drinks for the wedding party when we arrived. At check-in the staff were very pleasant and we were given a pimms which I guess was a kind of sorry, there is a wedding but please have a drink. I have stayed in many hotels where there have been weddings and never been offered a drink so that was nice. We decided to dump our stuff in our room, typical Holiday Inn, clean and tidy,etc., and went and sat in the small courtyard garden to wait for friends, they joined us and then the wedding party came out for photos. At one stage they asked if we wouldnt mind moving for a few minutes to accomodate, no problem, all very polite.

When we returned from our party, the bar area was very busy but service was quick and polite and had a pleasant hour in the bar. Hangover precluded breakfast so cant comment on that as made an early start. Hotel is very conveniently situated just off the M27. All in all a perfectly good stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponytailpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the arrival drinks of pimms & made use of our courtyard whilst the sun was shining. It's great to read that you felt your stay was perfectly suitable for your needs. We hope that you will look to visit us again when next in the area. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Spent one night here after holidaying in France. We were made very welcome and were given a very comfortable and quiet room. Breakfast the next morning was superb, just about anything you would want. Staff were very friendly and helpful would return if in the area again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 18 July 2013
Thank you for sharing your kind comments on your recent stay with us. It's always great to hear our guests refer to the team as friendly & helpful, the team shall be delighted to read your lovely review. I am very pleased that you had a peaceful nights sleep & enjoyed the breakfast offerings. We do hope that you will visit us again soon. Kind regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
1.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
2.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
4.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Property: Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing