We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fire alarms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fire alarms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

I am a regular at this holiday inn and have always found the staff to polite and helpful. In particular last night the hotel had a problem with someone smoking in the bedroom setting of the alarm. Twice!! I have to say that the staff were excellent in dealing with the situation and trying to ensure that everyone was informed and that the elderly and those with kids were looked after. There were even personalised letters under the door of our rooms this morning apologising and offering a free meal with wine and a late check out if required. WELL DONE to all the staff!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback in regards to the situation that occurred throughout your stay. I am delighted that you found the team here recovered the unfortunate situation well. I will definitely be sharing your kind comments with the whole team. We very much look forward to seeing you back in the hotel again very soon. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    250
    132
    38
    36
See reviews for
203
175
30
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights for a business trip with a colleague and I was very pleased with the service received and the facilities. My only slight negative is regarding the furniture in the room which had seen much better days and was looking very tired and dated.

We both had breakfasts and evening meals at the hotel. Breakfast choices were vast: cereal, fruit juices, yogurts, toast and help yourself full-English too. The meals in the evening were the best I've ever had at a hotel chain such as this. I can very highly recommend the lamb steak in red wine and cockle sauce from the 'specials' menu and also the lemon curd bread and butter pudding with ice cream for dessert. Absolutely delicious!!!!

Special mention must go to Peter who works so hard in the restaurant during breakfast and evening meals. What a very friendly, happy and helpful young man. Even when the restaurant was very busy due to a German touring group, he was still willing to help other customers too.

I would have given this a rating of 5 if it wasn't for the fact that the rooms are in need of some updating.

No doubt I will be staying here again on future trips to Fareham and I look forward to it.

PS: My husband appreciated the complimentary Curly-Wurly that I was given when checking out. What a nice touch. Thank you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rowdy_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely comments. I am delighted to read such wonderful feedback about Peter- one of our newest members of the team who is clearly making a very good impression on our guests. I shall ensure his achievements get recognised. Our chefs will be thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed the specially selected specials menu, again I shall ensure your comments the shared with the kitchen team. I am sorry to read that you found the bedroom furniture slightly tired, this is something that we are looking to improve in the future. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My family stayed at the Holiday Inn Fareham for 2 nights while visiting Peppa Pig World, I have to say the welcome from the receptionist is exactly what we needed after our 4 & 1/2 hour car journey she was warm, friendly and welcoming and was eager to help, even the little touches by the staff of making a real fuss of the children by surprising them with a balloon and a chocolate bar.

The rooms were comfortable and had everything we need the only downside was the road outside was a little noisy.

The Breakfast was great and our daughter loved the variety, again the staff were welcoming and attentive.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_Spencer_uk75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your great comments. I am delighted to read such a wonderful review and I am very pleased to hear that all of your family were well looked after and had such a great stay whilst visiting Peppa Pig World. I shall personally ensure that your feedback get's shared with our team. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel recently for a couple of weeks whilst working in the area.

( + ) Location about 15 minutes from S'ton airport, S'ton, Portsmouth and Port Solent so ideally placed if you are after one or more of these places.

( + ) Reception staff seemed pleasant enough when I had to speak to them.

( - )I must say I was a little bit disappointed with the standard of this Holiday Inn. Both the public areas and the rooms were dated and were in dire need of revamp!

( - ) Had a drink in the bar one night and the wine was not very pleasant at all. Perhaps because the white wine was luke warm!

( - ) Staff at breakfast each morning looked miserable and when asking for tea/coffee etc, everything looked like a mammoth effort!

( - ) I disagree with hotels in this day and age charging £8 for 4 hours of Internet- it wasn't even a decent speed! Ridiculous for an average hotel which charges over £100 b + b!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarrajw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am sorry to read that you felt our hotel standards did not meet your expectations. I will ensure the temperature of our bar fridges get checked with the maintenance team and any problems fixed. Please be assured that free WI-FI is something that is being introduced for all IHG Rewards members in 2014. Your comments are fully taken on board and will passed onto the relevant department managers. We hope that you will visit the hotel again one day. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

The rooms would benefit from a refurbish and the pool from a good clean.
The staff are really very friendly and helpful.
For a night away on business it does what it needs to and the choice of pillow hardness on the bed is a nice touch.
My room was spacious but not so well equipped and a long walk from reception, this is an issue when you're late for dinner and the door key card doesn't work (I'm guessing its not something that happens to everyone).
There was quite a queue for checkout with just two receptionists.
The shower in the room of my colleague didn't work, apparently.
Now for the good stuff. The shower in my room was like a fire hose, some would argue too powerful and to be fair it would have knocked my kids over and thrown them out of the bath but for me it was great. Needless to say the floor was flooded when is finished.
The beer in the bar was just ok but, as is sadly more often the case these days, the soft drink selection was second rate and for me just not an option. Sorry but it's just not the real thing.
Breakfast was very good though and again the service great.
All in all good but would advise o check out on your way to breakfast to avoid queuing and make sure the shower curtain is held firm.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for sharing your review on your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel as you would expect it to be, enjoyed a great shower and breakfast expereince plus found the team here friendly and helpful. I am sorry to read that your room key did not work, please be assured that this is not a regular occurrence and I apologise for this inconvenience. In reference to our swimming pool- our pool area is undergoing essential maintenance next month so we fully take on board your comments. We hope that you would stay with us again when next in the area. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

The Holiday In at Fareham is well placed for the M27 but not much else. A typical business hotel ok if someone else is footing the bill but not worth it if you are spending your own money. Clean well decorated but the bar area is soulless. The staff were tired and showed no interest in us. Needs a personality makeover and the bar staff need to look like they are please to see you.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisso_moore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share you comments. I am extremely sorry to read that you found that the team seemed tired. This is something that I shall feedback to our restaurant and bars manager and ensure get's addressed. We very much hope that you will give the hotel another chance to prove that we always try our absolute best to deliver great service throughout the hotel. We hope to see you again one day. Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Easy hotel to locate and plenty of available parking.
The first impression most people get in a hotel is from the reception staff and in my experience it was first rate and she was very cheerful and helpful.
The room was clean and the bed was comfortable.
I only stayed for the one night and again upon checking out the following morning a different receptionist was again very courteous.
I stay in this area several times each year visiting family and have used another hotel in the IHG chain previously but had a bad expereince last time so tried out this hotel and will definately use it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickcoxwold46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Thank you for leaving such kind feedback on your recent stay with us. It is a delight to read that you found our reception team terrific, they will be very proud of such great comments and I shall ensure they receive the great feedback. It is also great to read that you found your room comfortable and clean. We hope that you will visit us again soon. Many Thanks, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
1.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Fareham Hotel
2.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
4.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.9 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Property: Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing