We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not really in Fareham”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Diss
Level Contributor
852 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“It's not really in Fareham”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Located near Titchfield almost three miles from Fareham town centre on the A27 is the Holiday Inn. It has a nice staff, clean rooms and a filling breakfast buffet. There is also a swimming pool. The hotel is a decent enough place to stay but you'd need a car or taxis to get to and from it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swedishtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am sorry to read that you did not find the location of our hotel unsuitable for your requirements. It is very nice to read that despite being further away from the town centre than expected, you still had a nice stay including good service, a clean room and a great breakfast selection. We hope that you will visit again if needing to stay near the Titchfield area. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    251
    136
    41
    37
See reviews for
207
180
30
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We have used this hotel on two occasions now and both times were extremely pleasuable to say the least.
It is in a quiet location with plenty of parking available.
The reception staff on both occasions were very good indeed and the offer of a glass of wine at check-in was a lovely, thoughtful touch which was well appreciated, especially after a long drive.
The rooms we had on each occasion were spotless, spacious and well equipped.
We regularly visit this area and will use this hotel again without hesitation.
Once again, a special mention to the reception staff who were very good!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickcoxwold46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such great feedback. I am delighted to read that on both occasions that you have stayed with us you enjoyed such a pleasant and comfortable stay in spotless and peaceful bedrooms. We know that the little touches such as a complimentary glass of wine can make our guests stay even more enjoyable, so I'm very pleased to read that you liked this touch. I shall share your great comments to our reception team who always try to offer great service to all our guests. We look forward to seeing you next time that you are in the area. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great welcome by very friendly staff. Evening meal one of the best we have had at this type of establishment and good value. We didn't bother with the £16 ph breakfast opting for an alternative in Gosport.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such great comments. I am delighted that you received such a friendly welcome from our front desk team. I shall be sure to share your feedback regarding the great food to our kitchen team, such a lovely comment to read stating that it's the best food you have received in our type of establishment. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had five nights stay this time around, I stayed in room 125 which was a big room with a large seating area with coffee table and all the normal bits.
I had a warming welcome by the reception staff with all the booking in process done quickly so I could get to my room and rest after my 3.5 hour drive. The room was clean (and cleaned well every day) however these was no biscuits (is that a saving for the business? ) with the tea and coffee boo! The gym and pool was open from 0630 to 2100ish if thats your thing.
The first night I had a meal in the bar which was great and the service very good, the rest of the week I was in the restaurant; booking a table at the reception each night on my return to the hotel, the food was very nice ever night, just one small issue in the restaurant was at some tables it can get very cold from the draft from the air conditioning- sit around the edges to avoid the draft.
Breakfast was great with a wide choice at a self service counter. All the public area were clean and well presented. Igave a 10 out of 10 for this stay when asked on checking out.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments. I am very pleased that you rated your stay with us a great 10 out of 10 on checkout, a score that the team here always strive for. Although we do not offer biscuits in guests bedrooms we always have some available on request, please do not hesitate to ask on future stays with us. I am very pleased that your stay was seamless from a smooth check in followed by enjoyable evenings meals and great breakfast. I shall ask our maintenance team to look further into the draft within the restaurant, I can understand that this may cause our guests to feel cold and uncomfortable. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you again, Sonya Young.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed here on a business trip on Monday 4th March.

Firstly, I would like to say how lovely all the staff that I met were. In particular Caroline on the front desk who was smiley, helpful and efficient. All of the other ladies who were part of the team were also polite and welcoming.

I would also like to point out that the breakfast was pretty tasty - a wide selection - toast/pastries/continental/fruit/cereal/full english/pancakes - all of the things I had were good. My evening meal here was also basic pub grub, but tasty. Plus with the voucher 3 courses and 2 glass of wine for £25 it felt good.

My room however, was not good. (Room 218). Whilst a bit tired (scuffed/chipped woodwork on the furniture, and scuffed paintwork) it would have sufficed bar the other problems....

There was small dark brown/black hair over most of the bathroom floor, and in the bath tub. The plug from the bath was not attached, instead that was on the bathroom floor (disguarded underneath the sink). I was grossed out - but in my PJS by the time I noticed this.

The bed, was even worse. I ordered down for some feather pillows (which is a nice option as I don't like synthetic very nice. The feather ones arrived quickly - a very smiley lady brought them up) - I was SO glad I had ordered new ones. I was getting into bed (with new pillows) and noticed the pillows that I was not using had hair on the pillow case and small black marks - possibly mascara?!

The duvet also had black marks on it. The duvet cover was also inside out so the seam was on the outside. When I lifted back the duvet there was an unattractive stain visible through the sheet on the mattress.

Needless to say I was super unimpressed by all of this. It was, however, 11pm at night, and I was in my PJS. I did not fancy traipsing through the entire hotel to find a new room as I had to be up at 6 the next morning for work. I was so grossed out by the whole bed fiasco that had I not been up since 4am due to work commitments I might not have slept - it was hard to relax!

The next morning I was desperate for a shower to wash off the grossness of the bed from the night before. I didn't feel much cleaner as the first towel off the rack had a huge foundation mark on it. The shower curtain had large yellow stains. Then I noticed that the towel rail in the bathroom had an electric wire sticking out of it. Not great generally, really not good in a bathroom...

I have never had a more disappointing stay in a hotel.


The colleague I was travelling with said her room was perfectly fine - so I guess I had rotten luck, however, having a clean room in a hotel should not be down to luck...

On leaving the hotel we were given Curly Wurly bars - which is a really cutesy touch. It would have been well received, but I was already quite disappointed by the whole fiasco so it was lost on me.


I've heard so many good things about Holiday Inn, so I don't know how I feel about going back to one.

I would really appreciate it if the management could provide me with an email address to contact them. Thanks.


I have uploaded some photos that I took on my phone but they really don't do it justice.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LILLY B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am very sorry that many aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and would like to offer my sincere apologies for the standard of your bedroom. Please be assured that we take cleanliness and maintenance issues very seriously. Your feedback and pictures have been shared with our management team who shall be investigating further, we aim to offer clean and well maintained bedrooms to all of our guests, all of the time. I completely understand that stains, hair and visible wires are unacceptable.

I am very pleased that you found our team here "lovely" and will pass on your comments to Caroline in particular. It is also very nice to read that you enjoyed breakfast.

Our team do try their best to deal with any issues raised at the time of the guest stay so I am sorry to read that we could not resolve your issues throughout your stay, should you wish to contact us to discuss further please email fareham@ihg.com. Please accept my apologies for your disappointing stay. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards, Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WEST YORKS
Level Contributor
957 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed here recently for one night and were very pleasantly surprised.
If all Holiday Inns were like this one then we would use the chain more often.
From start to finish we had a lovely stay.
The receptionist was a lovely lady and was on from when we checked in at 5 p.m to when we left the next day at 10 and she never stopped smiling. I would recommend other hotels sending their staff here to see how to look after your customers.
She found us a lovely quiet room overlooking the gardens as we were travelling alone.
We were given a glass of wine on arrival and a choice of cake/biscuits.
The room was comfortable and clean.
We later enjoyed the Macaroni Cheese and Sweet Potato chips and both were very good and excellent value.
There is good parking facilities and we used the sauna/steam room for relaxation which were both a pleasant break.
The only downside was that our room was very hot and the air-conditioning did not seem to work too well but it still did not spoil our stay.
We look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: one overlooking the gardens on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDY K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such kind comments. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay right from the smiley check in with a complimentary drink, through to the good value and enjoyable food and the relaxation in our health club. I am very sorry to read that you found the bedroom warm, I shall report this to our maintenance team who shall investigate the hotels bedroom temperature settings, we hope that this did not spoil your stay in anyway. We very much look forward to seeing you again next time. Many Thanks, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed in this hotel 25th Feb and every aspect of my stay was amazing. Extremely nice staff, lovely room, even the pillows were marked 'firm' and 'soft' another good thing was that I was able to control the heating in my room as I enjoy a cool room at night.
Breakfast was very good as well. Can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cornelia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share such a great review. I shall share your review with the whole team here who shall all be delighted to read that you had such a brilliant and amazing stay with us. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the comfortable pillows, heat controls and breakfast. Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel. We very much hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
1.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,013 reviews
2.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
5.5 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
3.0 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Property: Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing