We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and very friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable and very friendly”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I recently stayed for three nights here and concur with many other reviewers - this is a hotel where staff clearly care about their guests. I was initially allocated a room overlooking a main road, and I'm a very light sleeper, but reception did everything they could to help despite the hotel being very busy and they found me a quiet room. I had a great stay as a result. I did try a couple of restaurants in Fareham but also had dinner at the hotel one evening, again attentive service, no complaints. One slight downside is that the hotel is some distance from the town and station and the buses don't run late into the evening, so although I would definitely stay here again I'd probably make sure I came by car.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road when booking, the hotel will be glad to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deltic55022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review on your recent stay with us. I am very happy to read that our reception team did everything that they could to help recover your problem and as a result you had a comfortable stay. Our team aim to deliver consistent great service so it's great to read comments regarding both the reception team and restaurant. We hope that you will visit again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    251
    135
    41
    37
See reviews for
206
180
30
191
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I stay a lot in the IHG hotel chain and would like to single this Holiday Inn as the friendliest and accommodating hotel of the last several years. I would also like to single out some specific members of staff that just can not do enough to help enjoy your stay. Emily, Caitlyn and Chantelle are a particular breath of fresh air, managing to make you feel practically as if your at a home away from home which as someone who spends his life mostly on the road is priceless.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoryDaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. It is a true delight to read our team referred to as the friendliest and most accommodating that you have come across within IHG. I have shared your great review with our team who shall be just as pleased as me to read your comments as I am. Great service is very important to all of the team here, we know how much of a credit Emily, Caitlin and Chantelle are to our team but shall be sure to reward them for their stand out approach. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Having stayed at this location previously , when I had reason to visit the area again on business it was the obvious place to stay.
A popular well positioned establishment with everything you need
On site Gym and Pool , friendly open bar area which served a great choice of food or there is the Restaurant that provided an even greater choice of menu
It was only a short stay and I chose to eat in the Hotel on my first night , Chantelle Foster Hall was on duty behind the bar , and was very friendly and efficient , dealing with my slightly not as menu order without any fuss
The breakfast choice and quality certainly set me up for the days ahead at work
When it came to check out , Phil looked after the details very well , he mentioned he had worked there for many years ,
There are no bad points about this establishment , and it is so convenient for me when I have to visit this area
any return visit will see me booking here again

Thank you to ALL the staff who made my stay so good

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments. I am delighted to read great feedback about 2 people in particular, both Chantelle and Phil are a credit to our team and I shall share your comments with both of them. It is great to read that you enjoyed the food service both at the bar and for breakfast, we know how important breakfast is when you have a busy day ahead. We look forward to you returning in the future. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

It's the staff that make this hotel special. Always found them friendly and helpful whatever the request. Reception as the face of the hotel is first class.
Rooms are acceptable for what you pay for. My only gripe would be Wifi in the rooms in my opinion should be free. Will be coming Back again soon.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Marke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. It is great to read such kind comments from guests who continue to return to stay with us again and again. You'll be pleased to hear that WiFi shall son be complimentary for all IHG Rewards members from 1st July. The whole team here strive to deliver excellent service so it's great to read that you continually receive this. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel 2 to 3 nights week for nearly a year. I have always found the staff to be fantastic. The rooms are a little tired and the beds are not the most comfortable I have slept in. But all this is acceptable in general. The very few issues I have had in all my stays have always been dealt with very promptly. The thing I find REALLY disappointing is that, despite the fact I stay here as often as I have, the week when I forget to book my room in advance, they try to charge me nearly £60 more for the room when I ring to book the day before! I would have hoped that my loyalty to the hotel would not have been ignored in this way. I have switched hotels as a result.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. I am very sorry to read that you feel the hotel does not recognise you loyalty. Be be assured that our regular guests who chose to stay with us frequently are extremely important to our team and our hotel. It is great to read such kind comments about our team who I know strive to deliver great service to everyone that stays with us. I am very sorry that you have chose to seek alternative accommodation as a result of pricing, if you would like to discuss the matter further please do not hesitate to contact us fareham@ihg.com as we would love to see you return to the hotel soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Very friendly staff across the board who seem to be all on a mission to make you comfortable. Best hunters chicken I've tasted in a long time and as for the apple chimichanga you must try it ! Very spacious and comfortable room only down side us no internet in room unless you are a gold member or willing to pay, but this didn't spoil the stay at all, when needed internet available in lounge area

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to read that the team here made such an effort to ensure you had a comfortable stay, comfort and great service for all of our guests is highly important to us. We are very much looking forward to offering complimentary WiFi to all IHG Rewards members from 1st July, news that I am sure you'll also be pleased to hear. We hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

On arrival at the Holiday Inn in Fareham we were greeted by a very pleasant and efficient receptionist, Charlene, who checked us in and even offered us a glass of wine or orange during the process. She also rang our rooms after a few minutes to check that everything was ok.
The rooms were clean, bright and very comfortable. Shower was hot and powerful. Choice of pillows and tea/coffee making facilities. Nice big LCD TV.
We had a meal on our first night in the bar which was excellent.
Breakfast was brilliant, good selection of food, friendly and effcient waiting staff. Couldn't fault it.
On our return to the hotel on Saturday teatime it was like a scene from St Trinians! There were hundreds of kids running riot in the foyer and in the corridors and external areas. They were from a rugby club in Birmingham and it seemed the parents were in the bar or restuarant and were just not bothered what there offsprings were doing. It really did spoil our visit. Complaints to reception didn't really do any good but notices did appear in the corridors requesting quiet.
It wasn't really the hotel's fault but I think more could have been done by management.
We had a great meal in the restuarant on Saturday night but this was continually interrupted by the kids until the waitresses put up a barricade of chairs to keep them out!
Apartfrom the mayhem it is an excellent comfortable hotel and we would definately return, as long as there were no rugby clubs booked in.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastYorkshireTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your review, I am very pleased to read you title of "First Class Hotel", what a lovely accreditation. We know that first impressions are very important so it's always nice to read that our guests received a warm welcome, I shall personally ensure that your comments get shared with Charlene. Good service, a comfortable room and good food are all aspects where we aim to deliver high standards, it's a delight to read your great comments. I can only apologise for any mayhem that you encountered on your second night with us, please be assured that the team were regularly patrolling the public areas and corridors to ensure that there was minimum disturbance to guests who were not part of the mentioned group. We are very pleased to read that despite any disturbance you would return to stay, we look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards, Sonya Young
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
1.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,012 reviews
2.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 7 in Fareham
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Meon Valley Marriott Hotel & Country Club
3.0 mi away
Lysses House Hotel
Lysses House Hotel
#5 of 7 in Fareham
211 reviews
5.5 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Property: Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing