We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Nearby Hotels
Red Lion Hotel(Fareham)(Great Value!)
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TravelRest Solent Gateway(Fareham)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
B+B Wickham(Wickham)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Gosport Hotel(Gosport)(Great Value!)
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel(Portsmouth)(Great Value!)
US$97
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
New Place Hotel(Shirrell Heath)
US$109
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (800)
Filter reviews
800 results
Traveller rating
274
280
151
46
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
280
151
46
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeppa pig worldmars baron arrivalhealth clubexecutive roomleisure facilitiestravel cotswimming poolbuffet breakfastreception staffkids eat freepaultons parkbar areabiscuitssofa bedthe ground floorwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
446 - 451 of 800 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here a few weeks ago. We had been in a rush to book and stupidly thought the price (somewhere in the vicinity €250) was for two nights - completely our mistake but to be honest, we would never have booked if we had known. We travel a lot, we know what to expect within any given price range and we would have chosen to stay somewhere a bit more upmarket than a Holiday Inn for that sort of money. However, that was completely and totally our mistake. And - lucky for us - as it turned out, we couldn't have stayed two nights in any case as the hotel was fully booked.

So - initial hassle at reception over and done with (and no complaints about how the staff handled our predicament - they were totally professional on the front desk), we went to our room. The usual basic Holiday Inn - nothing special. Mould on the bathroom tiles was a bit of a let down but we tried to overlook it and see the good side. A swim was what we needed. I swim long distances two or three times a week and a pool is a must wherever we are; we'd had a long day in the car and I was really looking forward to the pool. I had to get out after a measly 150 metre swim - I couldn't bear it. The pool tiles were absolutely filthy, I counted two Band-Aids and a weird lump of what looked like hair and cotton wool (???) on the bottom of the pool. I had to get out. The pool side facility is run down and nothing short of dirty - mouldy shower tiles, hair in the plug holes - really? For the amount of money they're charging every night, you'd think they might buy a bottle of Exit Mould and a scrubbing brush. Once again, the poolside staff were so nice - trying their best but please Holiday Inn people, your facility needs a desperate upgrade.

So back to our room - starting to see the funny side of things now. At least we could look forward to a decent sleep. Our room seemed to be in a quiet part of the hotel - a little bit of noise from the corridor but nothing overwhelming, people coming and going, doors banging etc but the noise settled just after midnight so we kept our optimism and settled down to sleep. We had huge wooden screens to black out our windows - even better, a ray of hope that something was going to be 'right' about this hotel. The screens LOOK good - but - and this is the worst disappointment of all - they didn't actually do much. Mid-summer in England and the sun is up not long after 0400 - and in it came. Streaming past every single gap in the heavy-looking wooden screens (which must have cost the hotel a fortune to install, what a dreadful waste of money). By 0430 we had enough daylight in our room to be able to get up and dressed without turning on a light. That's how bad it was. The least we expect when we stay at any hotel, anywhere in the world, is a decent sleep; that's the bare minimum. So - Holiday Inn Fareham, we paid you a grossly overpriced amount of money for what? Four hours sleep at best? A mouldy shower and a really, really disgusting pool experience. Your staff are your greatest asset - you really need to do them justice and bring your facility up to speed with their service and the prices you charge. I rarely give a 'terrible' review but this one is deserved.

Room Tip: Don't.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonkeyBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Please be assured that your comments are very important to us. We have asked our Spirit health club team to ensure procedures are being followed accurately, we aim to ensure that we consistently have a clean pool area. I am very sorry that on this occasion you did not have the best experience. Our maintenance team are working towards re-grouting all bathrooms. We are extremely sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occasion. We thank you for your feedback and shall be following up on all points to ensure that these problems do not occur in the future, Kind Regards, Sonya Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Good clean hotel with very friendly staff. Room was nice with a comfortable bed, surprisingly quiet as well. Food in the restaurant was very good and well priced. Sadly Peppa Pig was otherwise engaged and didn't show up as the restaurant chalkboard suggested. Slightly consoled by the Curly Wurly I got when checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FullFonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share such kind comments. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and managed to enjoy our restaurant facilities. I am very sorry to read that Peppa Pig did not make an appearance during your stay, she often show's up during peak breakfast and peak family dining times over the weekends. We hope that you will visit again. Kind Regards, Sonya Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed here for one night for a friends birthday. Hotel seems about 20 years old, so rooms are a little dated but clean and functional.
The spa/fitness area was good and our toddler enjoyed the pool which was nice and warm.
The buffet breakfast was standard fare but nicely done.
A lot of families were staying here whilst going to Peppa Pig World so there were lots of excited children running around - not a porblem, but something to bear in mind.
The staff were very helpful throughout.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyAMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. We hope that you and your family had an enjoyable stay. Our team pride themselves on delivering great service to all our guests, it is great to read that you found the team very helpful throughout the hotel. The hotel often has families staying with us due to popular local attractions, we do hope that this did not affect your stay. Kind Regards, Sonya Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

I often stay at this hotel. The quality and service is consistently good backed up by excellent staff. My room was clean, comfortable and provided a good night's sleep. The breakfast offered is also very good with plenty of choice of hot and cold options. I will undoubtedly stay here again and would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share such great comments. It's very important to us to read feedback from guests that choose to stay at the hotel often. The team here pride themselves on great service and I am delighted to read that you find that this is being delivered consistently across the hotel. We thank you for your recommendation to others and look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed here for a friends party nearby. On arrival was offered a nice welcome drink which was a nice touch and on departure a small chocolate bar and coffee to take away - its the little things that make an impression with me!

Room - comfortable and clean, slept very well
Pool area - could do with a little update but on the whole very nice- was lovely having a swim and a spa bath the next morning.

Didn't sample breakfast - but had a sandwich the night before in the bar/restaurant area which wasn't too overpriced and tasty

if i needed to stay in fareham again I would definitely make this my first choice!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraMUR1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share such a great review. We know how the little extra's can really make our guests stay even more great, so we are delighted that you enjoyed the arrival drink and chocolate bar on check out. We hope that you enjoyed the party that you were attending and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future. Kind Regards, Sonya Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews