We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big name let down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Reviewed 18 August 2014

First off I use a lot of hotels and am not a "clean freak"

Good
Reception staff friendly and helpful, nice bar and restaurant plenty of parking.

Bad
The room was old and very tired, basically overdue a refit, this in turn was further let down by very poor house keeping.
When was it ever acceptable to have mould growing in a bathroom and stains on the furniture?

Worse
Even after the bathroom had been cleaned I've seen cleaner public toilets in France.... I think the staff need some training and or supervision.

If I hadn't been staying with the family I would have asked for my money back and left- premier inn would have been better and cheaper. But as we wanted to put the kids to bed that wasn't an option.

We did get a free evening meal, but I won't be coming back Holiday inn in a rush.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeepmadmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. I am very sorry to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. The housekeeping team work very hard to ensure that the rooms are cleaned to the highest standard, we are very sorry that this was not the case on this occasion. Please be assured that your comments shall be passed onto our housekeeping manager who shall fully investigate and can ensure that future guests do not have any such problems. We are very happy to read that you found the reception team friendly and managed to enjoy our bar facility. We very much hope that you will visit us again one day. Many thanks, Sonya Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 396 of 754 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

A weekend away seeing two of our best friends get married was ruined from the moment we set foot in the hotel.

Many bad points:
- "greeted" by a rude, obnoxious and condescending staff member at check-in. We were provided with plenty of backchat, a raised voice and flippant remarks.

- Was told on booking that we could check-in early due to the midday wedding. However (rudely and unprofessionally again), we were told this wasn't possible. He shrugged off the mis-information because he "wasn't the one to tell [us]" in the first place.

- Therefore we had to get ready in the toilets! (And there were tens of other guests who also had to do this).

- He was very unhelpful and unsympathetic

- Had to take big heavy bags to the wedding with us - could not trust the rude member of staff to keep our bags somewhere safe

- Was forced to check-in at midnight (due being at the wedding all day)

- Booked a double room on the website, was given a twin room.

- Uncomfortable beds and pillows.

- Signed up to the H.I loyalty scheme when booking this room, and was not given/made aware of complimentary wifi.

- Lunch the next day was very slow service.

- Bought a "breakfast burrito", however 3 out of the 7 ingredients were missing, and it was not brought to our attention beforehand.

- Condiments not up to standard. When asking for a replacement of salt, sugar was provided instead, consequently ruining an adequate meal.

TWO plus points:
- The night manager and lunch manager did provide a few complimentary items and a discount on the room to make up for the disappointment (but the damage had already been done.)

- Breakfast the next morning was lovely, with lots of choice

It really is such a shame that we had so much of a terrible time, as it really tainted the whole of what was meant to be a very special weekend.

I would not stay at a Holiday Inn again, and most definitely not here!

Room Tip: Make sure you double check with the hotel directly BEFORE your stay, which kind of room you have bee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rosiedee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear rosiedee85,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy your overall experience with us. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to Fareham Solent.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stopped by here tonight as we travel accross the country. The staff were very welcoming, the food was good and the front of house, and bar staff all lovely. Will stop here again happily. They answered every single question I had with ease

Rooms are spacious, and the bath fills so fast! <4 minutes!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback. Myself and the team are delighted to read such positive comments. The team here all go out of their way to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable stay. We;re very pleased that you enjoyed everything from the nice food to the fast filling bath, both very important whilst being away from home and travelling. We hope to see you again one day soon. Kind Regards, Sonya Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We have just come back from a weekend at Peppa Pig World with a hotel stay on the Saturday night.

The hotel was nothing short of fantastic, a welcome drink on arrival, large clean room, lovely evening meal with a visit from Peppa herself for the kids, lovely quiet night sleep, yummy breakfast for us all included, great morning in the pool/sauna/steam room and overall a fantastic stay!

The staff couldnt have been more friendly, the bar and restaurant staff espcially always had smiles on their faces and nothing was too much trouble!

With our two young children with us we were tired after a long day at the park and this great stop over made the weekend a huge success and I would recommend to any family this is a great hotel to stop at!

The room was clean, fresh looking, nice bed linen, great large TV for my son to watch when he woke in the morning, the bathroom was clean and all linen nice and white and fresh!

The pool was great, clean changing rooms and a nice hot jacuzzi to relax in, I really cannot say a bad word!
Would definately go back, huge thanks to all at the hotel :) Much appreciated!!!

Room Tip: Our triple room at the back of the hotel overlooked lawns and was quiet :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay with us. We're very pleased to read that you and your family has a "fantastic" experience and the service revived was more than you expected. The team here are all passionate about delivering great service to all our guests. It's also lovely to rad that you managed to enjoy our Spirit health club facilities, just what you need after a busy day at Paulton's Park. We hope that you and your family will return to us one day. Kind Regards, Sonya Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and spend 2 days at Peppa Pig land. The hotel and room was clean. The staff could not do enough for us. Including the receptionist the people behind the bar and in the resturant. The food was lovely and reasonably priced. Kids eat free which was was a bonus. Peppa pig even made a an appearance prior to us checking out which was a nice touch. Very good hotel would definitely recommend. Once again the staff were brilliant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. The team here at the hotel are delighted to read that you and your family had such an enjoyable stay whilst visiting Peppa Pig World. We're glad that you all enjoyed the special appearance from Peppa herself too. We thank you very much for you recommendation and hope that you will visit us here again. Kind Regards, Sonya Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We looked around many places for a venue for our wedding breakfast and reception and the offer from Holiday Inn , coupled with the enthusiasm from Michelle (Wedding planner) was a winner for us. I would recommend any potential wedding couples to see what the Holiday Inn can offer for you on your special day
There were some minus's the inflexibility of offering discounted rooms for guests, some of guest paid a lot of money to stay overnight
Also I felt the evening buffet was a bit light in quantity, enough for everyone to get one serving but after that not a lot else

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richard1967a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Firstly may we congratulate you on your recent wedding, we hope that you had a fabulous day. Our wedding co-ordinator Michelle has great passion for her role and enjoys seeing all of our weddings through from the enquiry stage right through the first dance. I am sorry to read that some of your guests paid a higher rate than expected, demand for bedrooms if exceptionally high during this time of year. I shall pass your comments onto our new head chef in regards to your evening food so that we can learn for future events. We hope that this did not affect your day in anyway. We wish you both all the best for your future together. Many thanks for your feedback, Sonya Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here about 4 weeks ago. We were moving house and it was convenient. Thought that the general feeling of the place was a bit run down, could do with a refurbishment.
Offered a glass of wine on check-in which was a nice gesture.
Had breakfast the first morning at 0830, a bit early for a Saturday, the food bad been cooked for the 0700 start and was a bit congealed, we had a special offer which was half price, would have been a bit upset if we had paid the full price.
The room was a bit sad, no fridge, the hot water tap in the sink had a permanent drip no matter how hard you tried to stop it, the bath had to be filled from the shower as the hot water tap didn't work at all!
The bed had about a foot of empty quilt cover at the top of it and tucked in under the mattress at the bottom, most uncomfortable, as it only came up as far as your armpit. Decided to sort it out the next evening and found that the bed had only been covered up, the bottom sheet hadn't been smoothed out and tucked in! Remade the bed with the quilt up to the top of the cover which was much more comfortable.
Room service was quick and the food was good.
Children from a wedding party were running around the corridors on the Saturday night about 1100.
Would not stay there again, unfortunately there are not many hotels in the area to choose from.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor may not have the children running around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Julie-Hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonya Y, General Manager at Holiday Inn Fareham Solent, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay. We are very sorry to read that you did not receive the experience that you expected throughout your stay or the experience that our team aim to offer to all of our guests. Your comments regarding breakfast shall be shared with our kitchen team, we know that breakfast is a very important part of anyone's day and stride to deliver a great breakfast buffet at all times. We are also very sorry to read of the problems that you had within your bedroom. Our housekeeping and maintenance team regularly carry out checks to ensure that our rooms are to the best standard possible, your problems shall be passed on and investigated. I am disappointed to read that from this experience you would not chose to stay with us again, we are very sorry to hear this. Kind Regards, Sonya Young

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
1.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,095 reviews
2.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#3 of 7 in Fareham
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,434 reviews
5.5 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
6.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Fareham Solent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Fareham Solent

Address: Cartwright Drive, Fareham PO15 5RJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range: £67 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Fareham Solent 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Fareham-Solent in Titchfield is ideally situated for business and leisure guests on the edge of the Meon Valley in Hampshire between Portsmouth and Southampton, within easy access of the M27 J9 and the key business parks at Segensworth, Whiteley, Solent Business Park, Kites Croft, Cams Hall and Broadcut. Close proximity to Southampton International Airport and the Continental Ferry Port at PortsmouthFacilities include 124 air-conditioned bedrooms, high speed internet access and has recently completed a 1.5m refurbishment of the public areasThe hotel is close to Whiteley Outlet Shopping Village, Marwell Zoo, Paultons Park and the famous waters of the SolentOur facilities include a Restaurant offering tempting dishes from around the world, 24 hour Room Service, relaxing Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi, sauna and beauty treatmentsThe hotel has 7 conference and training suites which can accommodate from 2-140 delegates, an ideal venue for meetings, training, presentations, Weddings and other special occasions & events. All suites have natural daylight, air conditioning, wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Our external grounds are ideal for team building and outdoor activitiesAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Fareham Solent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hotel Fareham
Fareham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing