We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit old-worldly but very pleasant indeed”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Certificate of Excellence
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A little bit old-worldly but very pleasant indeed”
Reviewed 28 November 2012

The Red Lion Hotel is my hotel of choice when I have to travel to Fareham and the surrounding area on business. It is conveniently well located for quick access to the motorway and a 10-minute walk from Fareham Station. The hotel is quaint; clearly an old building so not surprisingly has a very rustic charm about it but with a modern application to hostelry. My room was on the main road but I didn't get disturbed at and slept soundly. The rooms themselves are absolutely fine given that the building is over 250 years old. I didn't eat there in the evening but enjoyed a decent couple of pints at the public bar on the ground floor. The traditional breakfast was great and certainly filled me up. I like the Red Lion in Fareham because for me it's comfortable and unassuming whilst I'm away from the family home. And you get free wi-fi too! I will be going back there next time I have to travel to the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickerty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    250
    95
    45
    30
See reviews for
125
242
37
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here for weekend away and were impressed. Excellent breakfast and very helpful dining room staff. We ate in the restaurant in the evenings and the food was good. Room was good with a very comfortable bed. Fareham itself an ideal place to do your christmas shopping with the Red Lion situated very close to the shopping centre. We would return. The only negative was we thought the bar a bit pricey but plenty of alternatives to eat and drink close by.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about our excellent breakfast …glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Powys
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Hotel is in a good location for central Fareham with a large carpark.

Rooms clean and tidy but a little worn around the edges . Evening meal in the restaurant really nice and good breakfast in the morning. Minor complaint is the room doors locks which are fiddly to use and you have to set from inside to lock the door prior to existing.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 596SteveC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We recently stayed here as a large family group to celebrate my son's graduation. We received a very warm welcome even though we did check in late. The rooms were clean, basic and comfortable. We were seated as a whole group at breakfast and the service and food was excellent. Parking was provided free of charge. In all, this hotel represented very good value for money- thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nb333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Thank you for your comments , really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Red Lion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Have stayed here a couple of times over the years and always been happy with the whole ambience of the hotel. The staff are always very welcoming, happy and helpful in every way. The rooms are always very clean, tidy and quite spacious, beds very comfortable and bathrooms ample, with very nice hot, fast running water. The bar/restaurant is always very comfortable, cosy and food is excellent value and always very good. All in all, a fine place to stay.
Thank you all at Red Lion Fareham. :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minks1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments which we will pass onto the Team , we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Red Lion because my usual hotel was full. Locating the hotel was really easy and, from the outside it is quite impressive. Parking is plentiful and free. Booking in was simple and the receptionist very pleasant. Being an older building, the rooms have keys on a fairly large key ring. Not ideal for carrying around, but not a major issue. The rooms are on two levels, with no lift; so be prepared to carry your bags up the stairs.

My room, 25, was rather tired looking. The decor is clearly 70/80s. However, it was clean and the bed was probably one of the more comfortable hotel beds I have slept in for a long time. The writing desk appears fairly low and I couldn't pull the chair in without hitting my knees.

I didn't try the restaurant for evening meal, but had a drink in the bar. The bar area is rather bland, but the barman was very pleasant. Breakfast was superb. There was a selection of cereal, juices, croissants, muffins, etc. in addition a selection of full breakfast menu is prepared to order. I had poached eggs on toast and it was excellent. Again, the staff could not be faulted and were very attentive.

The hotel is in the centre of Fareham, with lots of bars and restaurants in the immediate vicinity. There appeared to be something for everyone. Within two minutes walk is a 24/7 Tesco in case you need to make any purchases.

There was a wedding on the day I was there, Wednesday, and it was rather noisy outside of my window until nearly 1am. However, I guess that is a risk anywhere and it didn't overly bother me.

I have only given the hotel 3/5 because of the rather dated rooms and the lack of any atmosphere in the bar. However, having only used this because my usual hotel was full, I can say that, despite the decor, this will now become my regular hotel when in the Fareham area.

Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BD7447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your constructive review and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay …in particular your Breakfast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Stayed here the night before running the Great South Run, it's about 10-15 minutes drive to Portsmouth where the run was. The hotel was right in the centre of Fareham next to the shopping centre which was ideal. The hotel was lovely and cosy, rooms were great, clean and cosy with lovely soft beds and quiet! Slept like a log! Full English the next morning was lovely! On the evening we ate in the bar and took advantage of a 3 course set menu which was excellent value for money, really enjoyable.
Staff were really friendly throughout and very accommodating.
Would definitely recommend this hotel/restaurant to others!
Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Newtaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldEnglishInns, Owner at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments , we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your comments to the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fareham
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Fareham Solent
1.0 mi away
TravelRest Solent Gateway
3.8 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,217 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
4.7 mi away
New Place Hotel
New Place Hotel
#1 of 1 in Shirrell Heath
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Property: Red Lion Hotel
Address: East Street | Junction 11 off M27 motorway, Fareham PO16 0BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fareham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Fareham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Fareham, Hampshire
Red Lion Fareham
Fareham Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing