We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family run Italian!!”
Review of Il Colosseo

Il Colosseo
Ranked #10 of 94 Restaurants in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family run Italian!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great friendly restaurant to go to.It is a little bit more expensive than the usual but u definately get what u pay for!!
The steak is a must but the fish selection is always great to try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Candyandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    70
    30
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“nothing special unfortunately”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I've been a few times over the last 12 months & some meals have been better than others but nothing special really. A shame as another local Italian shut down over a year ago & they could have done very well here but the food is just not that good, not bad either but not enough to make you really want to go there. Had a lamb special that should have tasted divine & it was tender meat but just tasteless. I don't know if it's the ingredients or the cooking but it just doesn't hit the spot. Have also seen the same waitress a couple of times over several months who is very friendly but doesn't have a clue what is on the menu let alone the specials board which again just doesn't inspire you.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank stephbean2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great evening spoiled by mediocre food and indifferent staff”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We went to Il Coloseo with high expectations after being told how great the food was. The staff were unsure of the booking at first but then realised who we were and showed us to the table, There were 14 of us celebrating a 50th birthday; the waiters took 15 minutes to take our drinks order and a further 10 to bring them to us. We ordered our starters and had another long wait before they came. The garlic bread was under cooked and doughy, the bruchetta not toasted and a mushroom starter tasted of fish! After our complaints were sullenly listened to our main courses were brought. I'd ordered veal with Parma ham; the veal was like cardboard and the ham far too salty! There was a long wait for the vegetables to come and they ran out before we all had them. A friend had ordered steak, medium rare and it was well done! Orders were wrong and,service slow. The birthday girl had pre-arranged to have some music played so we could dance but was told that she couldn't have it on because it was too loud! We left feeling disappointed with the whole experience and unfortunately we will not go back or recommend the place to anyone!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice evening but not amazing”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

The place was friendly, staff nice but the food isn't up to scratch really. Having to add salt and pepper to a £21 steak to give it some flavor is ideal. The evening was good and the atmosphere was OK. I probably wouldn't go back here and wouldn't recommend it personally. Just a pritty average Italian.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brightonrob32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Sussex
Level Contributor
163 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Real Italian food”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Really tasty food, excellent (chatty) service & a brill atmosphere. It seemed like a family owned place (probably was) where they take pride in the food & service provided.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GandTRuralSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Colosseo also viewed

Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 
Farnborough, Hampshire
Farnborough, Hampshire
 

Been to Il Colosseo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing