We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Aviator Hotel" Excellent place to stay outside of London”
Review of Aviator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aviator Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Aviator Hotel" Excellent place to stay outside of London”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Recently had the pleasure of staying in this fine hotel on a business trip, I will tell you the place is very nice. Rooms are large and modern. Very clean and well arranged. The breakfast buffet offered daily is superb and well stocked. The staff are super friendly and accommodating at every request. They know the town well and can recommend good eating establishments as well as directions and maps for places within walking distance.
If you have the time to hop London the train system is a short ride in a taxi and for 20 pounds you can ride all the trains and tubes or buses you want to see London and then hop back on the train and come back to this fine Hotel. Highly recommend the Aviator for business or pleasure stay.

Room Tip: I don't think it would matter which room you take. I was the third floor and my Boss was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OG58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    408
    128
    44
    35
See reviews for
158
902
32
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I have stayed at this hotel before 2 years ago for the night and the accommodation and food was good. Our friends also stayed this time and we both had suites. On arrival one suite didn't have the Bose surround sound system as advertised and the hotel compensated by sending a bottle of champagne to the room. The suites are fantastic with all amenties and a free mini bar.

What lets this hotel down is the restaurant.

There were 12 of us eating and once we had sat down noticed that we were given a smaller menu. Because we were a group of more than 8 we were told that we could not have the full a la carte menu. When the reservation was made this was not communicated and given two of the group (including myself) were pregnant the new shortened menu was rather limiting. We were told that we could not have the full menu and this was the best they could do. After further complaining, the restaurant manager then arranged for 2 additional mains to be added including the venison but we were told that only 5 portions of venison would be available to the table.

I ordered the baked scallops with chorizo for starters having been told the chorizo was cooked through and requested that the scallops be well cooked. Another waitress came back and said that this was not possible as the chef couldn't guarantee they would be well cooked as they were cooked separately then put in a shell and covered in pastry - at no point was pastry mentioned on the menu! I cancelled my order and was glad I did as my husband ordered them and what arrived was one scallop in the shell that was sliced in half and the world's smallest pieces of chorizo (he counted 4 very small cubes) all for the price of £10. The table had ordered 4 venison 3 of which were to be well cooked (again well cooked for the pregnant ones) yet only 2 came out well cooked and mine had to be sent back.

Overall it was thoroughly dissappointing in terms of service, food quality and not even attempting to cater for individual customer needs. We would have been more than happy to have the full a la carte and for the service to take longer as told to the head waiter. We will not be going back again and would prefer to spend the money that this night cost at the four seasons in Dogmersfield or Pennyhill Park all which are less than 10 miles from here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becks74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South east England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

The Aviator – Farnborough Surrey

The hotel is located on the south east side of Farnborough Airport, easy to get to by road, rail and executive jet if you have such a luxury.

Referrring to a new glass and concrete hotel as a boutique hotel, in our mind, is something of an anomoly. However, this hotel ticked all the right boxes for us and our verdict, it truly is a boutique hotel.

We arrived early on Friday evening and check-in was a breeze, pleasant staff and many offers of assistance with luggage. The foyer and reception is a delight with a sweeping staircase form ground to first floor. Upper floors are accessed by one of three lifts. The landings all have a central round ballustrade and look down over the stairs; the appearance is that of the air intake of a very large turbo-fan jet engine. The quality of the furnishings and finishes is something to behold, the interior dsigner deserves an award for this hotel.

Our room was large and equally well furnished with large sofa, leather-topped desk, supremely comfortable bed, FS TV and more. The bed was turned down at night and candles lit for a “romantic” feel.

Breakfasts are served in the Brasserie and were superb, with plenty of choice for cold and hot options and excellent attentive staff. The Sky Bar for cocktails was a poular choice with guests and visitors, the choice was superb and the cost very reasonable.

Our only disappointment was that we were unable to sample the Brasserie restaurant for dinner, it was so popular that we were unable to make a reservation for either the Friday or Saturday. Totally our fault, the hotel had rung us early that week and advised that an early booking was essential. How is that for service?

Unfortunately, our weekend all came to an end rather too quickly with a return trip home after breakfast on Sunday.

Thoroughly recommended, we hope to stay again.

Room Tip: If you are an aviation fan, then the side of the hotel facing the airport may suit, but away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentishTraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I went away for his 50th birthday and stayed in air side suite. The hotel was beautiful, spotlessly clean and luxurious. The staff were so helpful and friendly and could not do enough for us. Martini's in the Sky Bar were delicious and had to try as many as I could before the weekend came to an end. Spent early evening on first night watching one of the 500 movies on offer in the room and then watching the private planes landing on the twinkling landing strip.

The bed was so comfortable that my husband and I fell asleep on Saturday late afternoon and didn't wake up till 12am !!! We missed our beautiful second night dinner, but had the first night dining experience to keep us going..food was well presented and tasty.

Farnborough is a bit boring, but the local pub served good beer and wines.

Just can't wait to go back...

Room Tip: Airside Suites are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Beautiful modern hotel. Facilities are great and its a good base for exploring Hampshire. Currently doing a 2 for 1 deal including breakfast which makes it a great value weekend option.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This was a treat for my wife's parents, brother and his wife. And of course we had to go too! We went for the package stay in the suite and five course champagne taster menu - pricey but worth it. The room itself had views over the airfield which were interesting even though we aren't plane spotters. The room though was superb, with separate lounge and dressing room. There was even a TV in the bath! The package also included a complimentary mini bar and whilst it wasn't overflowing there was enough to start us on our merry journey through the night.

For the evening meal we had reserved one of the private dining rooms. It was worth doing this as it made a special night even better. The food was fab and we had a different champagne with every course. the only exceptions to this being the beef which came with a red wine and the the dessert which came with a dessert wine.

Slightly sozzled by the end of the night we finished up in the Sky Bar for coffees which was lively and again with great service.

Would we go again - definitely! Once we've saved up the money though!!!

Room Tip: Suites 414 and 415 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterAndCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I watched this lovely hotel being built and have regularly visited it for drinks and meals over the last few years. I have always wanted to actually stay there and last weekend we did, for two nights. It was brilliant! We checked in early on Friday 17th February and booked the Sky suite 410. The room was amazing, very clean and so comfortable. The bath room and shower room were lovely and spotless too. The room had everything in it that the hotel claims it to have on its website. There was not one thing that we could have faulted with regards to the room. This is a very beautiful hotel both inside and out. The moment you walk in you feel really comfortable. The staff are all so smart,courteous and very friendly. I would like to thank Rochelle and Curtis who worked in the bar on the ground floor, they are for sure an absolute credit to the hotel. Also a big thank you to Charlotte who was in charge of the restaurant. She was so kind and made sure that we had a great table on both nights of our stay, she also gave us a glass of complementary champagne to welcome us in! The food was amazing! I can't recommend it enough. If you ever wanted to spoil someone, this hotel is the place to take them, even if it's just for a drink! The staff I came in contact with said that the manager there is very popular fantastic at his job and that's why they are very happy to be working there. This all shows by the way that the staff greet and deal with you, they are happy to be at work making sure that you are having a great time!
There is just one thing that I found didn't work too well and that was in the Sky bar. When you walk in you were greeted by the very lovely and polite staff who would always say "please take a seat and we will be right with you to take your order" this actually didn't always happen the first night we waited 15 mins or so for someone to take the order for drinks. I saw several other couples giving up with the wait to get served and go to the bar them selves to get a drink! The very same thing happened on the second night too. I had to go to the bar get my order in as did three other couples! Something is not quite working there I don't know if it's because its a very long room with the bar at the very end of it. There seemed to be enough staff to deal with the numbers but it just didn't not happen. Please trust this review and go to this brilliant hotel!!

Room Tip: Our room was Sky Suite 410 with the most amazing airside view of the airport!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 7 in Farnborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel

Property: Aviator Hotel
Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut paneling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. The lobby and atrium of the hotel present the Deli, Brasserie and Sky Bar which overlooks the TAG owned private airport. Within the Brasserie sit two of the hotel's private dining rooms, exemplifying the intimacy and allure of the dining experience. The variety of fresh and classical dishes are accompanied by carefully selected boutique wines from producers around the world. Located on the first floor is Sky Bar, a cocktail bar designed with intention. Secluded black leather Rocket chairs and relaxing lounge areas create the ultimate place to sip our signature cocktails. The design of event spaces at Aviator are well considered. The private entrance to the events wing and dedicated relaxing lounge areas provide direct access to the versatile meeting rooms. Used exclusively for tailored events and celebrations, the Sky Lounge overlooks awesome views of the airport and combines with the atrium to create a venue that promises to leave a lasting impression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing