We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so very nice restaurant and great buffet for corp functions”
Review of Aviator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aviator Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
cheshire
Level Contributor
171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“So so very nice restaurant and great buffet for corp functions”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

I booked an event here and the event planner I used on a freelance basis was given a gift by the hotel but nothing for the client that booked the event, hence very disappointing.
The room was quite nice but the leather base of the bed was all stained and made me uncomfortable as they were white stains. You also had to pull the bedding out so this was a little unpleasant. the carpet was marked in places and I think they need to give any worn decor an overhall.
Lift buttons and lift were dirty.
The food is very good here though and the buffet was excellent!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxuryliker28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    408
    128
    44
    35
See reviews for
158
902
32
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed here just over a week ago for 1 night while away on business. Reception and check was efficient extremely welcoming (lovely little drink on arrival). I found a lack of signs giving directions to the rooms a little odd and it took me a while to find mine but I got there in the end.

The room (I had a residential view room, rather than overlooking the airport) was really spacious and right up my street with the mix of contemporary and old artwork. Excellent complimentary internet connection which is very welcome these days, rather than having to pay silly money for it. Overall the room was lovely and clean, with bathrobes and super comfy slippers. However, the shower head in the bathroom was very clogged with lime-scale and all but a trickle came out. There was no complimentary water in the room that I'd read about, not the end of the world, if I'd really wanted it I'm sure a call to reception would have had it sorted quickly.

My colleague and I ate in the restaurant and the service was slow and painful to be honest. It wasn't particularly busy and sometimes that means staff lose focus and we just seemed to be forgotten about. Not to mention the lack of a smile from anyone. The food was average, nothing bad, nothing to shout about.

The nights sleep was just great - after a long and tiring day the bed was huge and very comfortable (and I'm a real fusspot when it comes to hotel beds).

I checked out and took my bags to the car before having breakfast, very quick and efficient check out which is always great when you're limited for time. There was a large selection for breakfast, everything you can think of and all very fresh and plenty of it... however, what was lacking again was the merest hint of a smile or friendliness. The restaurant staff could take a few tips from the reception and concierge, they were very nice

The restaurant service certainly wouldn't put me off staying there again, just perhaps won't eat there.

Room Tip: Air-side rooms would be great if you're interested in watching the planes, but I wouldn't bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katielaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012 via mobile

Good value, great hotel. Excellent service. Loved the airport idea.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neilbick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough,Berks
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Myself,family and friends (10 in total) had a great Mother's Day lunch in the Brasserie at the Aviator Hotel on March 18th.It was my second time visiting as had previously had a meal there to celebrate my nephew's 18th birthday in Oct 2011.Can't obvs comment on the rooms as have never stayed there,but both meals I've had there have been very good IMO.On Mother's Day as you can imagine,it was very busy,but we were seated as soon as we arrived to our reserved table(had previously booked)and was handed menus straight away and offered drinks.My sister wanted a cocktail (£9.50 each,pricey but blooming moorish)and that had to be mixed upstairs in the Sky Bar and then bought downstairs to us,but was very quick and not a problem.The rest of us had wine and water.The cost for a 3 course set menu (4 choices for each course) was £22.00 and £19.00 for 2 courses which I think is a very good price for a chic,classy,beautiful hotel.
The food was served promptly and the only 2 probs we had was that my brother in law's starter was forgotten,so we all had ours and we had to remind waitress about his starter and that was sorted out very quickly.The other little gripe is some of the food was served luke warm (not a prob to me,but my Mum likes her food piping hot),but again not a major prob as the food was so tasty and well presented.The gravy that was served with the roast beef was to die for.I didn't have a dessert but opted for an Irish Coffee (£7.50 again pricey!!!),but hey it was a special day.Another nice touch was that all the Mum's received a free glass of champers also.Very nice!!!They catered very well for my 5 yr old son.Either a meal of the kids menu or a small roast dinner which is what he wanted.
Overall we all had a lovely time and the hotel's in a great location being right next to Farnborough airfield with a good view to it from the restaurant.The staff are nice and attentive and food is good.We like it so much that we are having lunch here on Christmas Day this year and we are looking forward to that very much.A few little complaints,but nothing that would make me not come here again.A wonderful day out and can't wait for Christmas now......

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesseche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012

My husband & I booked a last minute weekend break and we had the most relaxing time, we didn't want to leave!

A very chic hotel, in great condition with a very large suite!

Look forward to returning!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ParadiseSeeker80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I arrived at the Aviator Hotel on the 20th April for a 2 night break as it was my birthday, we decided to go for the 2 for 1 deal and stayed in one of the sky suites. On arrival the staff were more than helpful and very friendly making us feel welcome, the suite was lovely and spacious with strawberries and a card, only criticism being that a note was left in the room explaining how the tv at the end of the bed wasn't working. We had dinner in the Brasserie restaurant both nights, however the menu was quite restrictive on the 1st night due to the 2 for 1 offer which includes 1 nights dinner, also the service was very slow on the 1st night 3 courses taking over 2 hours. Dinner on the next night was much better as service was a lot quicker and we had access to the full menu. The food in the restaurant is very nice though and portions were filling. Breakfast both mornings was quite slow and we had to grab the attention of someone to order our food, other from that there was a good selection with us going for the full English. The sky bar was nice with a relaxing feel to it of which we enjoyed both nights. Overall it was an enjoyable stay but the service/speed in the restaurant could do with looking at.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonboy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We needed a break and to our utter amazement we only traveled a few miles to Farnborough. That does not sound special in itself however we went to the Aviator and what a break we had.

Plus points

Early check in and late checkout made the whole experience very relaxed and very enjoyable.

The room was the right size, tidy, clean and perfect for the time we spent in it.

Believe me that these are the basics because from here it got so much better.

We had booked in to have the 5 course taster menu. We were treated to our own room and were treated very well by our waitress who gets a special mention, Ashima if you are reading this you should be very happy with how you conducted yourself and you should get a raise!.

All of the food was very well presented and delicious. However my partner and I both agree that the standout memory that we take away from the Aviator is the staff.
I have had many experiences where the location and the food were great, however the staff were inept and this is what makes you not come back.
This is not the case with the Aviator. We met many members of staff due to our table being in the wine room and we have nothing but praise for their motivation, knowledge and enthusiasm.

In short, nothing but praise and we will be back very soon.

Minus points, errrr, our rhubarb jelly had no taste. That's all I have.

Room Tip: We had the basic and it was more than good enough. Enough space, clean tidy. What more do you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 7 in Farnborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel

Property: Aviator Hotel
Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut paneling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. The lobby and atrium of the hotel present the Deli, Brasserie and Sky Bar which overlooks the TAG owned private airport. Within the Brasserie sit two of the hotel's private dining rooms, exemplifying the intimacy and allure of the dining experience. The variety of fresh and classical dishes are accompanied by carefully selected boutique wines from producers around the world. Located on the first floor is Sky Bar, a cocktail bar designed with intention. Secluded black leather Rocket chairs and relaxing lounge areas create the ultimate place to sip our signature cocktails. The design of event spaces at Aviator are well considered. The private entrance to the events wing and dedicated relaxing lounge areas provide direct access to the versatile meeting rooms. Used exclusively for tailored events and celebrations, the Sky Lounge overlooks awesome views of the airport and combines with the atrium to create a venue that promises to leave a lasting impression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing