We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Aviator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aviator Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
West Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Stayed for 1 night recently, loved the decor, cocktails and room. Shower was amazing and the breakfast was one of the best ever eaten. Clean, well presented staff, food, rooms and bar. Will be back for weekend.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minemaryo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,204
    408
    128
    44
    35
See reviews for
158
902
32
447
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

The Aviator is a very stylishly designed hotel, with the grand hall and stairway stretching upward in a style reminiscent of the Guggenheim in New York.
The hotel is smartly decorated, as are the rooms with all the mod-cons you would expect. Staff were very good- helpful, patient and professional.
We ate in the restaurant which proved to be very pleasant and fairly reasonable for the standard of food. Unfortunately the cocktail bar isn't open at the weekend but it didn't really detract from our stay and we 'made do' with a glass of wine instead.
Overall, very good and we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

I have stayed here frequently over the past year and enjoyed each stay. The hotel has a nice atmosphere. The food is nice but can be a little pricey and the portions quite small.
The gym is small and doesn't have a tv which makes it a little boring.

Room Tip: Airside rooms cost more but not sure why, they are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mnccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Stayed at the Aviator for one night, our forst night away since our daughter was born in November! I had been in touch with the reservation manager about an all inclusive deal and we managed to get a great rate for an Aviator room, airside, dinner bed and breakfast, champagne in the room, late checkout. THe reservatios manager was a delight to be in touch with and very helpful.
We arrived, sadly a horrible horrible day weatherwise so I fear not many planes taking off and after and excellent welcome, very professional and polite as well as friendly, we were shown to our room. The room was excellent but sadly i noticed did not have a bath - somrehing I had assumed the mid-range room would have and whils not terribly important to most was essential for the relaxation I had longed for. Reception were not able to offer a room with a bath when I called them to ask, I was very disappointed. However, a this point guests relations, Monica, arrived with our champagne and strawberries and when she realised how disappointed I was she managed to find us a suite, not airside sadly, but with the bath I had so longed for! We were extremely pleased and she was kind enough to offer the upgrade for free which was really kind of her. Later on, she delivered a bottle of complementary bath oil from her and the management - what a lovely thoughtful touch.
Free current movies in the room, oodles of space, tv in lounge and bedroom, it was just brilliant. The styling in the hotel is very cool, masculine and smart, loved it.
We had dinner at the lovely busy, buzzy restaurant (not what I expected in Farmborough but clearly it has a good reputation) we could choose from the a la carte menu which was excellent and the service was great too.

Late check out with breakfast in bed (mmmm) finished a great stay at the Aviator.

I would strongly recommend this hotel for a night or two away of chilling, the rooms are a great place to relax and the restaurant (I would recommend an inclusive rate as it's pretty pricey) exceptional. I think the surrounding area is not that fab but for us that didn't matter, who wants to leave luxury on a wet, dreary April day!

Room Tip: If you want a bath, specify on booking as not all have them
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank livery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I’ve been wanting to stay at the Aviator since I read a great review back in 2009, even with this amount of anticipation it did not disappoint…from the modern design of the building to the decadent feel of the interior, it ticked all the boxes for a seductive night away. The staff were polite and friendly (pitched at the right level) and accommodating. Our airside room was roomy and well decorated/maintained. We had the tasting menu with matching wines and spent a luxurious 3.5hrs over dinner (service again excellent) before going to the SkyBar for a night cap. The sound proofing is excellent so it’s not a consideration to worry about. Breakfast was equally good and we enjoyed the 1pm check out time.

It’s not a country hotel, it is a opulent modern hotel ideal for leaving the kids behind for an fabulous night away.

Room Tip: We stayed airside, pleased I did as it was great to see the planes take off and land. The runway is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissOutdoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

We booked this hotel as it was on offer and also looked out over Farnborough Airport (sponsored by Tag Heuer). I am an aircraft nut so it was a perfect location for me but perhaps not so interesting for my wife! Don't be put off by this though as the hotel is pretty new and very well sound proofed. It caters for senior aircraft/airline staff who attend the bi-annual Farnborough Airshow so it is upmarket and very comfortable. I suspect these guys are used to decent hotels and service. The hotel does not disappoint.

Check in was swift and slick and we were taken to our room by a member of staff which was a nice touch. The room overlooking the main (only) runway was very well appointed with all mod-cons but no bath-only a shower. Also no flannels-very wierd not to provide flannels. Free wifi is a real bonus and this is throughout the hotel.

We had booked dinner and although it was a good menu and well cooked and served the prices are about 20% too high. I know this is a matter for the management but we do eat out a lot and the prices are unacceptable. This said the place was packed and we enjoyed our meal. It was a Saturday night and there were clearly a load of hen and stag nights in progress so perhaps they don't notice the prices.

The breakfast was good and very well presented with plenty of fresh fruit and a wide choice of pastries and breads.

Overall a very pleasant stay and the staff without exception were excellent. We'd go back-especially if there were the world's greatest airliners parked under our noses!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the runway if you like planes and even if you don't it's a far better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twickers11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Spent saturday night at the aviator on an excellent travelzoo deal. Everything about this hotel is 5 star. The staff, the food and the rooms. Beds a little hard for my liking but a this is a very minor gripe. Try the cocktails in the sky lounge they are great. Overall a very enjoyable short break would do it again in a flash if there are more offers. The food in the Brasserie was delicious and the choice from the table de hote menu more that adequate with loads of choice.

Room Tip: Ask for airside room much better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 7 in Farnborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel

Property: Aviator Hotel
Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut paneling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. The lobby and atrium of the hotel present the Deli, Brasserie and Sky Bar which overlooks the TAG owned private airport. Within the Brasserie sit two of the hotel's private dining rooms, exemplifying the intimacy and allure of the dining experience. The variety of fresh and classical dishes are accompanied by carefully selected boutique wines from producers around the world. Located on the first floor is Sky Bar, a cocktail bar designed with intention. Secluded black leather Rocket chairs and relaxing lounge areas create the ultimate place to sip our signature cocktails. The design of event spaces at Aviator are well considered. The private entrance to the events wing and dedicated relaxing lounge areas provide direct access to the versatile meeting rooms. Used exclusively for tailored events and celebrations, the Sky Lounge overlooks awesome views of the airport and combines with the atrium to create a venue that promises to leave a lasting impression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing