We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aviator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aviator Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

I had arranged a surprise stay at the Aviator as my boyfriend had a triple car racing day at Longcross. Monica at Concierge made sure that everything I had requested was fulfilled - and more! She was brilliant and made our stay! From our arrival with pre-arranged cocktails in the room, to dinner with champagne to a late checkout, she made sure that everything was perfect and kept checking in on us to make sure we wanted for nothing!
We stayed in Air side which has great views of the airfield. They are spacious and very comfortable but unfortunately no fridge or minibar. However, free wifi and movies in the room are a plus. The Skybar is enjoyable for a nightcap or starter cocktail or the terrace to soak up the views of the airfield beyond, where we enjoyed the selection of bar food and drinks. We noticed a group had ordered afternoon tea with cakes and scones which also looked divine. Even though the hotel had a wedding in the Sky Lounge and the rooms were fully booked it did not feel overcrowded and busy. We had booked the 241 deal which includes one night free, breakfast on both nights and 3 course dinner - which was fantastic, lots of choice for a set menu. This deal is a bargain and well worth every penny.
The only small thing I'd say needs work on is the room service. Salt, pepper and condiments were not brought up with room service breakfast and when requested took 20mins to arrive by which time our breakfast had gone cold. The same thing happened the next morning even though we had previously requested them but this time it was quickly rectified. This is new hotel and they have done very well as all other boxes are ticked so we can forgive the slight mishap. It is well deserving of all its stars! We will be returning!!

Room Tip: Air side rooms give great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebi_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,187
    405
    128
    44
    35
See reviews for
156
892
32
443
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

I booked a surprise weekend break for my husbands birthday and our first wedding anniversary. We also took our three month baby with us (this was the first time we had taken him away). The staff were very accommodating and helpful with everything and made us feel very welcome.We stayed in the studio rooms which were very spacious and included a free non alcoholic minibar. The tv had many new films which were also free. The food was amazing! We enjoyed ourselves so much that we extended our stay for another night. I would never normally go back to the same hotel but will make an exception in this case.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurj1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

I was at the Aviator for an extended business trip (28 days). The spacious rooms (suite), staff, restaurant, fitness center were all above my expectations. I travel frequently and this is one of the best stays i have had in years. The rooms are sound proof, amenities in the room include coffe maker, refridgerator, walk in closet, in room movies, etc.

Rooms are very clean, seem like new. Bathrooms are big with separate tub and double size shower. Robes are provided.

Only complaint was the quality of the shampoo in the room. No conditioner provided.

Suggestion would be to have front desk ask if turn down service is desired, as I had to make a request not to have it.

On the whole, it was wonderful and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, in spite of being work related.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

My husband and I have just stayed here to celebrate our birthdays and wedding anniversary. We were given a complimentary upgrade to a suite. The whole hotel is immaculate, clean and very modern. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are large and have everything you would need for a weekend away. The rain shower is amazing and the bath tub is huge! The sky bar is pricey but a champagne cocktail is a must!
The food is top class. We honestly could not find a fault in anything!
If you are used to 5 star then this hotel is for you. We will definitely stay again soon.

Room Tip: Ask for airside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G_Campbell09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2012

We have stayed several times over the last couple of years and loved it. The suites are lovely and spacious with gorgeous bathrooms and comfortable beds. We liked the fact that the latest films were free on the in-room tv and combined with the chocolate covered strawberries and champagne, made for a perfect weekend away from London. The design is great - very unexpected and glamorous in a 1930's way. We hope to go back!

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JAHS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

Been here three times on business. Trendy rooms, lounges with brown and purple themes, a slight nod to the 1930's and a great view of the airfield if you like Aeroplanes.
Food is ok, presented well, maybe a little "poncy" for some, others would consider it an artform.
Service is courteous and prompt. Clean lines, not really romantic but an efficient. Business Hotel.
don't expect too much from Farnborough - its not a great place but this is an ok hotel out of town and easy to get to everywhere else if you are just pasing through - especially if you are jetting in via private jet and onto London in your limo!
.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuildfordTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

Aviator hotel, a must stay in the area

I usually  use the aviator a couple  of time per year for my business trip in the area.
The building from the outside it is quite nice, almost remind of the hangar of the near by airport, and all the building it is a reminder of the aviation industry. 
From the circle lcd screen that look like an airplane window with clouds flying by in side the elevators  to the various pictures and paints inside each room who remind of the aviation heritage.
The entry it is quite fabulous, with a huge chandelier coming  down from the ceiling, and a nice round stair who can take u to the main lobby at the first floor. Rooms are spacy and confy, and depending on the season when you walk inside you can always find a small box of candy or chocolate  depending on the season and a bootle of sparkling water.But no fridge in the room??? beds are comfortable. Bathroom are enough big depending on the room size, a word also have to be spent for the shower gel and all the amenities the hotel provide, so far for me are the best I found and when I have to lodge there I never take with me any spare pair of shampoo or shower gel. 
Rooms a/c and heater are working properly and no need to change the setting.
Cleaning also it is up to the standard you can expect from an hotel like this. 
Also the restaurant it is a nice surprise. Morning breakfast is just like 
A good traditional english style, with a lot of choice, but the best it is at dinner, where the menu and the wine list it is at a higher standard, specially if you choose the meat entree, well done  cook. The only things you might find, after you are using this hotel after a wile it is that the menu really does not change that much, but as long they cook it in a superlative way, well may be at the end you really do not care!
Finally to my personal opinion, if you really want to find some thing that really bother  you  in a almost perfect hotel, it is how the light up the building it self.all the building need a bit of more light, because it is always dim and feel like you are perennially during dusk time.  So long!!! 
 

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Starbuck-italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 8 in Farnborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,256 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 8 in Farnborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel

Property: Aviator Hotel
Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut paneling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. The lobby and atrium of the hotel present the Deli, Brasserie and Sky Bar which overlooks the TAG owned private airport. Within the Brasserie sit two of the hotel's private dining rooms, exemplifying the intimacy and allure of the dining experience. The variety of fresh and classical dishes are accompanied by carefully selected boutique wines from producers around the world. Located on the first floor is Sky Bar, a cocktail bar designed with intention. Secluded black leather Rocket chairs and relaxing lounge areas create the ultimate place to sip our signature cocktails. The design of event spaces at Aviator are well considered. The private entrance to the events wing and dedicated relaxing lounge areas provide direct access to the versatile meeting rooms. Used exclusively for tailored events and celebrations, the Sky Lounge overlooks awesome views of the airport and combines with the atrium to create a venue that promises to leave a lasting impression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing