We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a bit special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Farnborough - a strange place to find such a gem! Beautiful modern design building in keeping with the aerospace industry so close to hand. We went there for a lunch in the brasserie and the food was superb with friendly efficient service. The interior design matches the stunning exterior wirth some marvellous design touches. the hotel is owned by TAG who also own Mercedes McLaren so that explains the attention to detail. We did not stay in a room but I can safely assume they are to the same high standard - a must visit if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,713 - 1,719 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2013

Ended up here by chance: we had arranged to meet for a meal with some friends, who suggested the Aviator. We don't like driving after a boozy dinner, and the Aviator was offering a "Savour" package of 5-course tasting menu dinner, + room and breakfast, for £275 per couple.
First impression is of a post-modern office block, but the unusual design seems to work for rooms, restaurant and bar. On arrival, the room we were allocated smelt strongly of drains, but reception switched us to another room nearby with no trouble. (A request later for an ice-bucket and glasses was forgotten for half-an-hour, however.) The food was extremely good; however, we passed up the option of different wine with each course (for a hefty surcharge) and opted for a couple of bottles instead. The bar was nice, but when the publicity extols the skill of the "mixologists", you expect something special: we found all the cocktails a bit underwhelming (especially the weak caipirinha), particularly at £9.50 a glass. Finally, we had to wait half-an-hour to be served our final drink: admittedly it was a busy Saturday night, but how much simpler it would have been to order drinks ourselves at a walk-up bar.
Breakfast was good if not exceptional.

Room Tip: Ask for airport side: much nicer, and you can fantasise that it could be you taking off in one of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I've stayed in this hotel on a regular basis for the last two years. The rooms are quiet, comfortable, well maintained, and have excellent complimentary tv/movie entertainment.

The star of the show is the Brasserie which has continually improved to the point where my last meal was better than I've experienced at a couple of Michelen starred restaurants. Fantastic flavour and texture combinations, quality ingredients, reasonably priced. I think it's now my favourite hotel restaurant, a view obviously shared by lots of locals who pack the place out at the weekends.

Can't wait to get back there!

Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
Thank luckybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

The aviator is a diamond in an unexpected place. Myself and partner have been to the aviator quite a few times, just for drinks, for meals and a beautiful champagne taster evening and stayed in one of their suites. The food is always exceptional, the staff can't do enough for you and the room was of outstanding quality.

Fabulous and looking forward to the next time!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahCooper85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

This building is very modern and is based around the theme of an airport as it is basically in the grounds of farnborough airport. Our room looked out on stunning views of the airport and you could see the small planes taking off. Apparently the building is designed in the shape of a propellor and the centre of each floor is a venue to meet for occasions like wedding receptions, parties etc. the rooms are either side of this in clean fresh corridors We went for a friends wedding reception and the staircase down the centre made for beautiful photos and made an elegant entrance to the hotel. The hotel was beautifully clean and decor up to date and all looked new. When enter the lifts they have leather effect walls and what appears to be an aeroplane window showing clouds passing by on a tv screen giving you a great effect. Rooms were well provided with gown, slippers, hairdryer, towels, soaps etc. bed was very large and faced a large screen tv mounted on the wall which had a fantastic range of free channels that I have not experienced before. Staff were helpful and I would recommend. The only down side was the breakfast. There was only a small pat of butter for four of us and people were borrowing from each others tables. No knifes to spread butter. Took ages to get toast, coffees and teas when requested and was not automatically offered when arrived for breakfast. The breakfast itself was self service and the continental spread was good but the full English did not offer a lot of choice and lots had run out and we had not arrived late by any means. The black pudding was served in the same container as the tomatoes which was horrid as meat juices were smothering the tomatoes and vice versa. The eggs were extremely fatty as was the bacon. New bacon was put in whilst I waited and it was cold. Whole breakfast was not very warm at all. Friends had stayed a couple of nights and said breakfast was poor each morning. Shame as it really let the place down.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fordingbridgelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We very occaionally go here as the price is very high. The food is always good and very well presented but on this occaision the servies was poor. Took 15 mins to get a drink, and they had no procescco only very expensive champagne. There were long gaps between the courses and the pudding options were fairly uninspiring so much so that we came home and had something else. To top it off there seemed to be some issue with actually letting us pay and we sat for ages with them saying they had to have a manager approve taking the money! We had lots of sorrys said as we left. On the way out they asked us for our coat tickets. Umm you didnt give us any! so we had to tell them which were our coats. Its such a shame seemed so disorganised.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freckles22Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We weren't actually staying at the hotel but going to the restaurant, I was taking my husband for a surprise birthday meal - it was actually for Sunday lunch. It was cold outside but lovely and warm and inviting inside. We had a drink in the bar by the fire before we were shown to our table. The three course lunch was excellent and very reasonably priced, the staff were very nice, professional and attentive. We don't live to far from the Aviator so it is quite convenient to get there - we will definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineFarnham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
1,571 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#5 of 7 in Farnborough
665 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,456 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre
19.4 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviator Hotel Hampshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel Hampshire

Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range: £100 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel Hampshire 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut panelling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Aviator Hotel Hampshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough
Aviator Hotel Hampshire Farnborough

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing