We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING HOTEL !”
Review of Aviator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aviator Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We booked this hotel fairly last minute as we could not get a room at our first choice hotel in London. I am so glad we did. Do not listen to reviews which say the service is dreadful. From the moment we arrived ( and we were upgraded to a suite on the 4th floor without prompting), the service was impeccable. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble from the staff from the cleaners to the chef !
The suite was beautifully clean and very spacious and all the little extra touches made it so special.
We ate in the restaurant both nights ( the chateaubriand is well worth the money), the service there was unobtrusive but very attentive. The wine was good and very reasonably priced. We never waited for too long between courses as some reviewers have said, even though the restaurant was full both nights. Usually if food comes straight out it means a microwave has been in use, that is definitely not the case here. All the waiting staff were well trained and friendly.The bread, which is made on site is delicious and varied, don't eat too much as it would spoil your appetite for the delicious food.
Breakfast in the morning was equally good with lovely good quality yogurts and homemade pastries. There is also a cooked breakfast selection. Tea and coffee were offered as soon as we sat down and more offered constantly. There was also lovely chilled freshly squeezed orange juice.
I could go on for ages as we really enjoyed our weekend there, we relaxed, watched several films( which are free ), ate well, were pampered and made to feel special.
We will definitely be back

Room Tip: Our rooms were very quiet. Maybe because we were on the 4th floor?
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scary58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,982)
There are newer reviews for Aviator Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,500 - 1,506 of 1,982 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

Gorgeous! This was our third stay and each time has been wonderful. The room was stylish, clean, comfortable and well appointed. The staff friendly, helpful and professional. The hotel gives a feeling of privacy and we have never been disturbed by corridor noise which is so commonplace in most hotels. The food and service in the restaurant is also second to none for dinner and breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pandora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We live fairly local but went for a nights stay in march for our wedding anniversary after a few problems, I'd complained and they said to come back for another stay and they would make it a better experience. A friend was having a wedding at another hotel in farnborough so decided to make a weekend of it and stay in the aviator. We didn't seem to get any of the little details like cocktail on arrival but hoped that the experience would be better this time. We got the 2 for 1 experience which includes an evening meal on one of the night and breakfast on both mornings. I also booked afternoon tea. The afternoon tea was good but felt very uncomfortable as the waitress hived around us constantly clearing plates from the cake stand instead of leaving us to enjoy it.

We had been introduced to the member of staff that I'd emailed my complaint to and we were told if there was any problems to get in touch with us, he'd also left a little letter in the room to confirm his contact details and a few chocolates, apart from that nothing was any different.

We had our evening meal which was lovely and when we returned to the hotel room and tried to get some sleep there was extremely loud one beat music coming from the sky lounge as there was a function on which is fine but sad we weren't attending the function we thought we would of been put in a room fair enough a way not to hear it. The bed was extremely lumpy, uncomfortable and rock hard.

I tried for over an hour to sleep, but gave in and luckily we live close enough to go home. Knowing we had a wedding the next day I knew I needed sleep so jumped in the car and went home returning the next morning.

I emailed the same contact in the early hours of the morning at the hotel telling them the problems and that we would be checking out before the wedding at 1pm and not returning.

We went for breakfast in the morning and there was constantly waiting staff hovering around us trying to clear away before we'd finished. We would of liked to relax and eat breakfast in peace instead I'd had enough and walked out.

We were not approached at all by any of the management staff the following day and we got ready for the wedding and went to check out to which the hotel receptionist wasn't surprised and stated the email had been forwarded to them. They only charged us for the evening meal and drinks that we'd had and waived the room rates.

When the receptionist discussed the problem, she tried to deny the music was coming from the sky lounge and said it was coming from one of the rooms which to be honest wasn't true and we didn't really care about at that point.

We feel it spoilt our a weekend and made us very tired and put the dampeners on us enjoying our friends wedding too. Having a young son we don't get much time to ourselves and we really wanted to make the most of gran visiting to take care of our son. Instead we didn't ge that chance.

Morel of the story we will never ever return to the aviator to stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PaulaChillery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Went to the Aviator this evening and having read previous reviews was dreading it. Well what can I say we were seated quickly, attentive waitress, water brought to the table immediately, meal chosen and sat back and waited. The starter was quick in arriving as was the bread and wine, a short but much needed rest between starter and mains, which was quickly followed by the dessert. Throughout the meal, our wine and water glasses were filled, table kept clean, and staff making sure all was ok. The restaurant Manager also ensured we were being attended to. Not at all overpowering. The food was exceptional, the starter the best I have had in along time, mains delicious and more importantly hot. Dessert out of this world. The restaurant was full and everyone was receiving their food in good time. Have no hesitation in recomending them. We'll done

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We booked a family get together at the hotel including rooms and a meal at the restaurant. Though the rooms were nice the restaurant was awful. The maître d was extremely rude when I asked for a different main as I did not enjoy my original choice. We waited over an hour between starter and main course and even then they didn't get it right. When the bill arrived they had added on a number of drinks that we hadn't ordered. We went to the bar upstairs, where it took 30 minutes for our drinks to arrive, then we were told quite rudely to get out as the bar was closing. The hotel is quite nice and the breakfast good but due to the appalling service I would not stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuggywoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Celebrating a friends birthday party we stayed in a double with agreed discounted rate of £95 B&B, which was very clean and sparkled. There was a hand held and rain shower that was very good in a wet room layout. The large double was firm but really comfortable. There was free Wireless and a good selection of free films available.
We utilised the spa and had the couples massage which was nice and relaxing , although this couldn't be done in the same room at the time.
The cocktail bar on the 1st floor was utilised extensively and the staff were very friendly, offering some fantastic party cocktails.
The only disappointment was the food served in the restaurant, for a short lunch menu with 4 starters 4 main and 4 desserts the quality of the food and service was poor , a real disappointment for such a fantastically turned out hotel , the restaurant could be a real attraction and was a real disappointment . The breakfast was redeeming and offered a fantastic spread , however my poached eggs were rock hard , how difficult is it to cook a poached egg.

Room Tip: At the rear of the hotel is the run way , although the planes are very infrequent, we stayed at the...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bunngee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Got a two night deal here and it was amazing. Paid to upgrade to an airside suite on the top floor. The room was huge,two tabs,Bose sound system and complimentary mini bar, the bed was massive and very comfortable and the bathroom huge with double bath and double walk in rain shower separate. We were celebrating our anniversary and had an excellent meal in the restaurant on both nights. Had cocktails in the sky bar which had a nice ambience. My only minor criticism was that whilst the choice at breakfast was extensive I thought some of the hot choices could have been hotter, but don't let that put you off coming here as we had a wonderful romantic break. It was fun watching the private jets taking off from our room and imagining what celebs may be on them.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an airside suite it is well worth the money.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rio35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#5 of 7 in Farnborough
1,482 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
648 reviews
19.4 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,172 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel

Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range: £93 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut paneling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. The lobby and atrium of the hotel present the Deli, Brasserie and Sky Bar which overlooks the TAG owned private airport. Within the Brasserie sit two of the hotel's private dining rooms, exemplifying the intimacy and allure of the dining experience. The variety of fresh and classical dishes are accompanied by carefully selected boutique wines from producers around the world. Located on the first floor is Sky Bar, a cocktail bar designed with intention. Secluded black leather Rocket chairs and relaxing lounge areas create the ultimate place to sip our signature cocktails. The design of event spaces at Aviator are well considered. The private entrance to the events wing and dedicated relaxing lounge areas provide direct access to the versatile meeting rooms. Used exclusively for tailored events and celebrations, the Sky Lounge overlooks awesome views of the airport and combines with the atrium to create a venue that promises to leave a lasting impression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing