We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New hotel servicing the Farnborough Business Park Area”
Review of Aviator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aviator Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“New hotel servicing the Farnborough Business Park Area”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this new facility adjacent to Farnborough airport. It's a great location if you are in the area on business or attending the air show. The rooms are large and well appointed. Slight disappointment that my room did not have a bath tub - but the wet room was ample. Decor is smart and fresh and bed was huge - probably had the best night's sleep for a while. Sound proofing against aircraft traffic is adequate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spmmik53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Spmmik53,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us at Aviator.
Please feel free to contact myself directly if you decide to return in the near future.


Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,912 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,265
    430
    134
    47
    36
See reviews for
168
950
34
466
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (485)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I live just four miles form this lovely modern hotel and use it often just to come for a beer and soak up the ambiance of the Sky bar! ( Its not always open so ring first just to avoid disappointment!) There is another bar in the restaurant area but the sky bar is much better because of is sumptuous comfortable seating!

I love this hotel it so much that once in a while my wife and I will stay the night just to over indulge in all its luxury! This we did last weekend and enjoyed the the 'Greed Package' that included staying in one of the sky suites that are all absolutely stunning. We had the most wonderful six course meal and fine wine to go with each course!
Our weekend was such a fabulous experience as we were treated like VIPs by the staff from check in to check out! There wasn't a thing that I could possibly fault with any of the staff or the hotel.
We must say a huge thank you to Joss who was our waiter for dinner on Saturday evening. He made the whole dining experience a night to remember. I cant see him staying in the roll of a waiter for too long. I'm sure he will go go far in the hotel industry!

Our stay at the Aviator was amazing! Thank you so much for looking after us so well. Of course we shall do it all again soon!

Room Tip: 415 Air side sky suite.........Stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Phil1957,

I would like to thank you for your comments and forwarded your feedback to Joss. I'm always very please to read any positive feedback with regards any Team members.
I trust that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future when perhaps we can meet in person.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My boyfriend took me here for a belated valentines weekend. We booked on a package weekend as it worked our much cheaper and got us 2 nights for the price of one.
Everything was fine on our first night, we had a couple of drinks in the bar & the staff were very good. There was a wedding on the next day so the bar was very busy.
Our second night we were booked to eat in the Brasserie. As we were on a package weekend we had a set menu but asked the waitress who greeted us if we could pay the difference for the full menu, she assured us there was only one dish missing on our menu so we took the menu and sat down. After ordering our meals we became aware that everyone around us was given a much larger menu but we let this go as we had ordered. We then waited 15 minutes for our drinks to arrive and when my starter arrived it was cold and I had to send it back. We then ordered a second drink and after 15 minutes it still had not arrived, when we queried with the waitress where our drinks were she informed us she had forgotten. Although she apologised this meal ruined the weekend.
We felt as if the staff were too young and could not handle a wedding and a busy Saturday night. We also felt we were treated differently because we were on a package deal, even though we wanted to pay more for the whole menu.
When we complained the next day as we checked out the manger was not available. When she did eventually arrive she dealt with other guests that we're checking out rather then dealing with our complaint. We were instead given a card to email our complaint.
We were considering this hotel as a wedding venue, not only would I never get married here. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank laurajade112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Laurajade112,

Thank you for your review. We recognise that service has been challenging over the past few months however I can assure you that we've spend a lot of time training our employees and this will be on going. We understand that we won't be able to change service overnight but we are definitely working hard to improve our Food and Beverage outlets.

Please contact me directly if you do consider to visit us again.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

First time actually staying in the hotel, from the moment you walk in the door you are treated like a person entering a luxury experience, and it makes you feel really good. The staff are friendly and see to you right away. the room was AMAZING, big well laid out and clean.
We went for a meal in the brasserie, Sadly the experience here did not quite reflect the high price, Whilst I cannot fault the food, being served by a total of about 5 different members of staff throughout the evening, each one seemingly forgetting what they were meant to be doing as soon as they asked us they would disappear and take a stupidly long amount of time to return.
After this we went to the Sky Bar where the staff really did seem more interested in chatting than serving, my partner came back to the table after 15 minutes after telling me no one was paying attention, this resulted in me complaining to reception, we did finally get a drink but then retired to the room.
I would recommend the hotel if you want a bit of luxury for the night but if its a romantic personal experience then save your money, there are plenty of other places just as nice and for half the price!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shorty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Shorty

Thank you for taking the time to write to us as your observations are of paramount importance to Aviator. We are currently focusing on all our Food and Beverage outlets to ensure all our guests experience true hospitality moving forward. I trust that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future when perhaps we can meet personally.

Kindest Regards

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ash, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We booked a meal for my husbands birthday, which happens to coincide with valentines day! Fabulous meal with some nice extras - glass of champagne and truffles. Great service and we had a table in a romantic corner

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank zephron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Zephron,

I'm glad to read that you enjoyed your Valentines experience at Aviator and do hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea,Essex,UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

Attended the restaurant for friends birthday..ordered lamb roast,was given beef & when queried,the server advised it was lamb..15 mins later correct dinner was served...ordered another bottle of wine which took 2 more attempts of ordering with different members of staff..outcome..bottle arrived as we'd finished the meal!! Food was tasteful but service appalling!! Nobody around to take control once shift change @ 3..can't comment on rooms as would not stay there..very business like ambience & little atmosphere

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Nelly1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Nelly1966,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review and apologies for my delayed response. Over the past few months we've spend a lot of time training our employees to ensure that the service they provide to our guests is always of the highest standards.

I apologise for the poor experience you've faced during your visit to our Brasserie and we would like to welcome you back so that we can demonstrate our improvements.

Please feel free to contact myself directly if you would like to visit us in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saumur, France
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Attended a conference here. I was impressed by the slick booking in process, outstanding coffee and cookies and free newspapers when we arrived. The conference room was well equipped, the gummi aeroplanes were a nice touch at each place, and the whole atmosphere was one of understated opulence. We lunched in the brasserie restaurant on delicious chicken or prawn kebabs with various salads. All beautifully presented and with very good service. Sadly my company can't afford the room rate so I am unable to comment on the rooms, but if they are anything like the rest of the place I am sure they will not disappoint!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoupeColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Walnutcrumble,

I would like to thank you for your comments. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us at Aviator.
Please feel free to contact myself directly if you decide to return in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westthuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 7 in Farnborough
1,426 reviews
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,322 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
639 reviews
19.4 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,148 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel

Property: Aviator Hotel
Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut paneling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. The lobby and atrium of the hotel present the Deli, Brasserie and Sky Bar which overlooks the TAG owned private airport. Within the Brasserie sit two of the hotel's private dining rooms, exemplifying the intimacy and allure of the dining experience. The variety of fresh and classical dishes are accompanied by carefully selected boutique wines from producers around the world. Located on the first floor is Sky Bar, a cocktail bar designed with intention. Secluded black leather Rocket chairs and relaxing lounge areas create the ultimate place to sip our signature cocktails. The design of event spaces at Aviator are well considered. The private entrance to the events wing and dedicated relaxing lounge areas provide direct access to the versatile meeting rooms. Used exclusively for tailored events and celebrations, the Sky Lounge overlooks awesome views of the airport and combines with the atrium to create a venue that promises to leave a lasting impression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing