We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brasserie at Aviator Hotel Farnborough”
Review of Aviator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aviator Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brasserie at Aviator Hotel Farnborough”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

After a long time, decided to have a drink and a meal at The Brasserie in the Hotel. What a great evening it turned out to be. All the staff were attentive, and so pleasant. We were welcomed with a great selection of cocktails in the bar, all of which came with a smile and a "chat".
The restaurant wasn't too busy, so service was excellent, as was the choice of food and wine. Overall the meal was as good as we expected, and we thoroughly enjoyed the quality items on the menu, and all cooked to perfection. The meal was accompanied by the excellent wines. Finally, we had coffee and drinks in the Bar after the meal which, was a superb end to a great evening. This is one place that we will visit again, so thanks to all the staff for making this such an enjoyable evening.

Room Tip: Only visited the Brasserie, so cannot comment on the rooms. The bar is a fantastic place to start yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank metmancern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Metmancem,

Thank you for your positive feedback and I'm glad to read that you've enjoyed your Aviator experience with us.
We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future and please feel free to contact myself directly.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    421
    130
    46
    35
See reviews for
160
920
33
454
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey England
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Went for cocktails in Skybar. It was appalling. Hard to spend any money because the service was such rubbish. It wasn't busy even though it was a Friday night.

Such a shame as the place is lovely but will go and spend our money more successfully elsewhere in future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CassieSurreyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Surrey,
I would like to thank you for your feedback and also apologies for my delayed response.
I'm the new Hotel Manager here at Aviator and take the quality of our guest experiences very seriously. We are currently putting a lot of focus into our Food and Beverage outlets and have noted your comments but I do hope you will give us another chance in the near future. I can guarantee improvements are in process and I'm looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

The highlight of this hotel is the view if you are facing the runway. The room is also lovely and spacious. However, the staff and service are such a disappointment. Rude, unfriendly and expectant of a tip. Attended a function at the hotel during the evening at which the wine was vinegar and food was late, cold and over cooked. I overlooked this as took into account that the kitchen would have been very busy that night and Ordered breakfast in bed - total let down - no toast, bakery basket was not fresh, no milk with coffee and breakfast was swimming in water etc etc. and to top it off despite adding service I was called during breakfast and asked to come down to reception to pay for the breakfast as no credit had been added to the room. She graciously agreed that she would allow me to finish my breakfast first!

This hotel may have the best view of the runway, however, I doubt any of the jet owners would put up with the service standards.

Room Tip: Ask for a runway view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmjgordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Hmjgordon,

Thank you for your comments. We take all feedback from our guests very seriously and in response to this we've invested training and development with our employees which is ongoing.

We appreciate that service might not be of the standards of my expectations however this is something that I am working on to improve and we hope to have turned over a new leave in the coming months.

Please feel free to contact myself directly if you like to visit Aviator again.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
147 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Had a recent stay at The Aviator booked through an online travel site. Upon arrival our reservation was not on their system but the receptionist resolved the situation swiftly.
Having stayed before we knew what to expect at the hotel; the rooms are large and spacious and comfortably furnished. Free wifi was appreciated and offered a good service.

Hot drink making facilities, biscuits and top notch bathroom toiletries were all welcome and showed the hotel doesn’t skimp on quality. Even better are the free movies on the flat screen TV- we stayed in bed for hours watching different movies. It’s a great idea and perfect for a lazy weekend break.

Breakfast the next morning was excellent. Great cheese (creamy brie) and fresh baked rolls, mini smoked salmon bagels with cream cheese and fabulous fruit and yoghurts. Superb pain au chocolat and croissants as well. They also offered a hot buffet which my partner enjoyed with the usual full English items and plentiful hot drinks and juices. It really was a first class breakfast.

On the Saturday afternoon we enjoyed afternoon tea in the Sky Lounge which was phenomenal. The quality of the sweets surpassed many served in 5 star hotels in London and we have already booked to go back and have tea again. Its highly recommended if you stay. Plus we had a really lovely server who was over from the Netherlands and working in the hotel for 6 months and he made our tea- chatty friendly and very efficient- he was a real treasure.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Gslade,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience with us at Aviator. We recognise that we still have some work to do but have made some significant improvements where Afternoon Tea is concerned.
Please feel free to contact myself directly if you decide to return in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Always a pleasure to stay here. Nice room designs. Good service. SkyBar is awesome. The hotel location and architecture live up to the name. The premium for airside rooms isn't worth it since there isn't normally not much activity to look at. Good Nepali food in walking distance.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sunil-DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Sunil-DC

Thank you for taking the time to write to us as your observations are of paramount importance to Aviator. I trust that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future when perhaps we can meet personally.

Kindest Regards

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were tempted by the two night with dinner package, which represents excellent value in a stunning hotel. We arrive in the early evening and the atrium entrance has real wow factor. Check in was painless and our bags were in our room waiting for us. I customarily ask for a bucket of ice to be sent to the room, and the Aviator response to this was the quickest ever, with the ice arriving in under a minute! (The worst FYI was The Laneborough - £600 a night and the ice asked for at check in took nearly an hour...)

We love the style of the decor, lizard/croc skin, chrome and oak, with great contemporary furnishings throughout, the Aviator has a real boutique feel. In the room, all the usual boxes were ticked, with a few exceptions. There was no fridge, not enough flannels, no HD on the TV (you really notice it if it's what you are used to) and the mattress was surprisingly cheap, given the excellent quality of the linen. Nice bathroom with a truly epic shower, as I good as I've had anywhere. Now this may have been because being on the top floor, our ceilings are higher - brilliant for a rain shower. Free wireless broadband was really quick. All hotels should be doing this now.

We liked the layout of the hotel. The comp dinner had an understanbly limited menu, but two beef mains and no chicken? Odd. That said, our dinner was really very good. Comp breakfasts were even better. In fact I'm struggling to remember a better quality breakfast given the price/package on offer. Outstanding.

Downside: We ordered a bucket of ice and glasses which never appeared, and that afternoon - a saturday - room service was for a while permanently engaged. Manager at least rang to apologise. We understood there had been a few problems with young staff - common in all hotels at this level, in our experience. Other than that, service was friendly, attentive and unobtrusive.

The only real problem with the Aviator, and all it has to offer, is the lack of a pool or even a decent spa, sauna, steam etc. There is a gym and treatment facility of sorts, but this sort of hotel, especially one by TAG, really should offer this as does, say, that other airport/aviation themed 4-star hotel, the Verta. If they had such a facility, we would visit a lot more.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have the view, but if it's raining, the water noise from the guttering can keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonBG48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Meursault48

We glad that you enjoyed your overall stayed with Aviator. As to your comment with regards to a Spa and pool we've often wondered ourselves why it wasn't designed into the hotel back in 2008 when it opened. We are constantly receiving feedback from our guests who say they would also like a Spa and other leisure facilities.

We are aware of this and please continue to watch the space.

Thank you,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I recently stayed
At this hotel for 1 night
Due to it being nearby to a conference I had to attend. The view over the airfield was fantastic and caught my eye the minute I turned up. As I arrived late It was too late
To make any reservations in the what seemed fine dinning restaurant. I decided to order room service the food was average and there was a problem with my order meaning I was given extremely fat chips even though the menu stated "skinny fries"
, Although the girl that bought it up was very sweet! and went out of her way to quickly sort this for me Hayley I think her name was. As I imagine it was probably irritating having to run up and down each floor but she was more than happy to do so. My room was very clean and had a fantastic View of the airfield which I was very pleased about. the appearance of the overall hotel is modern and very unique and all within an excellent location!! Food the following morning for Breakfast was much better and had a great variety, it was open early making it convenient as other places iv stayed this has not been the case.Although my stay was short and sweet I would recommend it! The staff were all pleasant and the hotel was spotless!
Hopefully will stay again soon

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yhhhjjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Dear Yhhhjjj,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and we're looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Have a great weekend.

Kindest Regards

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 7 in Farnborough
1,354 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
623 reviews
19.4 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
1,110 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel

Property: Aviator Hotel
Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut paneling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. The lobby and atrium of the hotel present the Deli, Brasserie and Sky Bar which overlooks the TAG owned private airport. Within the Brasserie sit two of the hotel's private dining rooms, exemplifying the intimacy and allure of the dining experience. The variety of fresh and classical dishes are accompanied by carefully selected boutique wines from producers around the world. Located on the first floor is Sky Bar, a cocktail bar designed with intention. Secluded black leather Rocket chairs and relaxing lounge areas create the ultimate place to sip our signature cocktails. The design of event spaces at Aviator are well considered. The private entrance to the events wing and dedicated relaxing lounge areas provide direct access to the versatile meeting rooms. Used exclusively for tailored events and celebrations, the Sky Lounge overlooks awesome views of the airport and combines with the atrium to create a venue that promises to leave a lasting impression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing