We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky and chic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aviator Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aviator Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Farnborough
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Funky and chic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night, arrived too late to explore the restaurant, loved the room so well equipped including Bose Media System and iPhone docking station, neither of which I had chance to use due to arrival and departure time. Funky decor, cool mood lighting in public areas at night, different in a good way. Looking forward to returning and getting more leisure time there! Breakfast was superb, tea-lights burning in room on arrival made for a tranquil sleep also. Well done.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JustinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Justindubai

Thank you for taking the time and effort advising me of your positive experience at Aviator.

Here at Aviator we strive to deliver 100% guest satisfaction and should you choose to revisit our hotel feel free to contact me directly

Have a great weekend.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,158
    395
    126
    43
    34
See reviews for
153
868
32
433
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is very good indeed and would have five stars if not for the poor breakfast.
The hotel gave us an upgrade to a Sky Suite as our original room was near to a wedding function.
The hotel organised this before our arrival which was impressive. The sky suites are tremendous rooms at fifty plus square meters and the stay was very enjoyable.
The breakfast was very poor. The staff seemed to be overwhelmed and did not explain the system but it was the usual lukewarm buffet of sausage bacon etc left to fester on a warming range. There were no serving spoons for most of the items. The receptionist said other guests had said the breakfast was poor so perhaps the management will do something about it as it is spoiling an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: If affordable go for a sky suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janner37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Janner37

I would like to thank you for your comments and do agree that our breakfast experience should improve. Our F&B Team is currently working very hard to ensure we have a whole new breakfast selection and presentation even experience by the end of June.

I would be very delighted if you can get in touch with me in person so I can invite you to try our new breakfast first hand.

Have a great evening and hope to see you soon at Aviator.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Aviator for 2 nights and I was impressed from start to finish. The staff are extremely attentive and we were treated like individuals, they were on hand to assist every time we turned around. At one point we had to wait in the Brasserie for approx 1 minute to be seated (not an issue for us) but the staff were so apologetic insisting on getting us a table outside (it was warm)! for while they got our table sorted out, bringing us drinks and showing that genuine good customer service does still exist. We had an airside Sky Suite which was wonderful, lots of little touches that just made the weekend very memorable indeed. The BEST place I have ever stayed and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Tracey B,

I would like to thank you in person for your review and hope we get to welcome you back in the near future.

Have a great weekend.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

A review from somebody who works in the travel industry.

Just returned from a two night stay at the Aviator. We chose the two for one package which included two nights bed and breakfast and a meal in the brassiere on the first nigtht.

On arrival at the hotel we were immediately met by concierge who advised us that reception was located on the first floor. Check in was smooth and extremely easy. Our room unfortunately was not ready when we arrived but we checked in as usual and was asked to enjoy the hotel facilites whilst the room was being prepared. We went into the skybar for a few cocktails with some friends that we met and enjoyed the afternoon. The skybar is brilliant. Cocktails expertly made and not to badly priced in my opinion. Whilst enjoying our cocktails in the bar we were presented with our room key and advised that our luggage had been taken to the room.

After a few cocktails we decided to go and check the room out. We had gone for an airside sky suite which are located on the 4th floor of the hotel. Our immediate reaction to the room was fantastic and we were not disappointed during our stay either. The room is huge with a lounge area with a corner sofa, TV with Bose surround sound with a huge amount of films to watch. The walk in wardrobe is a great added bonus especially as we were attending a wedding, it was great to have the extra space to store suits and dresses. The bed in the room is huge and extremely comfortable. The bathroom within the room is probably one of the biggest I have experienced whilst staying within the UK. A huge bath, walk in shower with a rain dance shower head.

Dinner on the first night was brilliant. A set menu included with the package. A choice of 4 starters, mains and desserts. All very well made and we were impressed with the service received in the restaurant. Food delivered in a quick time and all at a good temperature. We have been fortunate enough to dine at some top restaurants in London and would say that the meal at the brassier is on par with these. Breakfast also a very good experience. Plenty of choice wether it be continental or cooked and all very good quality.

To sum up our experience. Our weekend was extremely good and would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear William M

Thank you for taking the time to write to us as your observations are of paramount importance to Aviator. I trust that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future when perhaps we can meet personally or I can treat you to cocktail from our new list.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

After a what can only be described as dreadful Afternoon Tea visit before Christmas last year, we we're encourage to return and give them another try, so we did. We booked in to sample new look afternoon tea in the sky bar.

We were greeted and sat down, we started with some bubbly, which was really nice, we then picked our teas and so it begin.

The food was presented really well, and served with a good description of each item. Throughout the experience service was polite and friendly. The food quality was really good far better then our previous visit and the service has come on leaps and bounds.

Our overall experience was so much better then previous, working in the industry for a number of years myself I looked at it from a different side to my friend who I was with, but on this visit, nothing to forgive, truly we can't fault them on this visit. Everyone around us seemed to be enjoying it just as much as we were.

Truly well done too the team, you really have good a great job and we had already decided to return for dinner in a few weeks for a milestone birthday celebration. Well done, would now happily recommend to anyone.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear James W

Thank you for taking the time to write to us as your observations are of paramount importance to Aviator. I trust that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future when perhaps we can meet personally.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole
Level Contributor
132 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

We had the privilege of staying at this beautiful hotel to attend a wedding. We stayed two nights, including breakfast. Our room, which faced away from the airport, was immaculate, large and spacious with everything you needed (though there was no bath, if you prefer a bath). As we arrived a little later, we ordered room service. The food was beautifully presented, and of high quality. There is complimentary wifi in the hotel (which is just as well, as we had poor mobile signal).

The finishes in the hotel are perfect, without a blemish in sight. The little touches are notable, and generate a sense of elegance. The staff are attentive, and aided us with what we needed for the wedding. The Sky Lounge venue is beautiful, on the fourth floor overlooking the airport.

Our breakfast each morning was lovely with a wide selection of choice (including different styles of egg available). The cooker breakfast was clean and free of too much grease, with hot plates available. There is a more continental side as well, including pastries, fruits, hams, cereals and many other bits.

Though the room price is expensive, for the treat you don't often give yourself, or that special occasion, it is definitely worth considering. We will stay again!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mbs1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear MBS1973,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us at Aviator.

Please feel free to contact myself directly if you decide to return in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have visited the Aviator several times where we dined in the Brasserie. After trying the Brasserie a few times and loving it, we decided to try the new One Eleven restaurant. We were welcomed with smiles all round even though the small restaurant was very busy. As it was busy, we decided to go to sky bar for a while where we had some excellent cocktails (even though we had to wait a while for them) we later went back to one eleven which had quietened dawn a bit. We were greeted by a male and female waiters who appeared to be very happy being at work. (One eleven staff have different uniform to brasserie which I think gives a great casual look for this hotel) They welcomed us and allowed us to chooses where we wanted to sit which was nice as you have the option of normal tables, sitting at the bar or there are some high tables. After a few moments the girl waitress was over taking our drink order while we looked at the menu and quickly returned with our drinks. The menu is excellent! A large range of food with further options! However there was no vegan options. Once we were able to place our order ( the lady was busy answering room service, I think I heard her say her name was Tamera?) once she had finished, she came to take our order where she apologised for the wait and I informed her that I am vegan with several allergies to which she was more than happy to go see what the chefs could do for me. She returned with several dish options for me which weren't on the menu! The chefs made me a special vegan noodle stir fry which has to be one of the best I've had. Had a good laugh and chat with the waitress while waiting for deserts which were lovely!

We haven't actually stayed over night at the Hotel but we love going for dinner there! Both the Brasserie and One Eleven are lovely places to eat however I heard that One Eleven does get crazy on football nights. And the Skybar has a very nice, relaxing atmosphere to enjoy cocktails in.

The only downfall is that it would appear the room service phone is in one eleven which we noticed sometimes puts a strain on the staff. It's also not very nice hearing the phone every couple of minuets. But other than that, We thoroughly enjoyed our night at the Aviator and would like to thank Sky bar, Tamera and the Chefs for catering for my needs in a very happy and friendly manner. We would recommend this hotel to any of our friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AviatorbyTAG, Manager at Aviator Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Annie M,

I would like to thank you for your positive comments. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your One Eleven experience with us at Aviator. We recognise that we still have some work to do but have made some significant improvements where One Eleven is concerned and all I can say is .. watch out for the new and improve One Eleven in the near future.

Please feel free to contact myself directly if you decide to return in the near future.


Kindest Regards,

Albert van der Westhuizen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 8 in Farnborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
6.3 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
9.9 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 8 in Farnborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
19.4 mi away
Oakley Hall Hotel
Oakley Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oakley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
5.7 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aviator Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aviator Hotel

Property: Aviator Hotel
Address: 55 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Aviator Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aviator was created by TAG Group as a hotel for elite travellers moving between London and the world's leading destinations. Located near London in Farnborough, Hampshire, Aviator opened in 2008 as one of the most striking design hotels in recent times. Innately stylish, Aviator binds the timeless glamour of aviation with seductive interiors and ultimate comfort. The bedroom interiors are contemporary yet rich and comfortable with walnut paneling, leather accented furniture and bathrooms with black glass walls, granite vanity tops and chrome finishing. Sky Suites amplify the indulgent personality of the hotel with walk in wardrobes, generous bath tubs, Missoni blankets and space to lounge surrounded by dark wood Venetian blinds. Guests can discreetly access the fitness studio from their rooms using a guest only stairwell at the north end of the building. The lobby and atrium of the hotel present the Deli, Brasserie and Sky Bar which overlooks the TAG owned private airport. Within the Brasserie sit two of the hotel's private dining rooms, exemplifying the intimacy and allure of the dining experience. The variety of fresh and classical dishes are accompanied by carefully selected boutique wines from producers around the world. Located on the first floor is Sky Bar, a cocktail bar designed with intention. Secluded black leather Rocket chairs and relaxing lounge areas create the ultimate place to sip our signature cocktails. The design of event spaces at Aviator are well considered. The private entrance to the events wing and dedicated relaxing lounge areas provide direct access to the versatile meeting rooms. Used exclusively for tailored events and celebrations, the Sky Lounge overlooks awesome views of the airport and combines with the atrium to create a venue that promises to leave a lasting impression. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Aviator Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aviator Hotel Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing