We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The potential to be a great hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Village Hotel Farnborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Village Hotel Farnborough
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Farnborough
Bognor Regis
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The potential to be a great hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I have mixed opinion of my stay. I stayed2 nights for a leisure break. The first impression was great. Great looking modern hotel. Fab room ( dim lighting) massive bed and really comfortable. Reception staff great. Friendly. Knowledgable and welcoming.

The room was more form over function. Could only plug the kettle in under the wall lights steam went into the electrics. The shower screen didn't reach the bath causing water all over the bathroom floor. And the room was massively noisy! I jumped every time someone along the corridor shut their door. They really need to invest In soft closing doors. I also enjoyed listening to the guy next door showering for8 minutes both mornings.the bedroom turned into a water feature with the noise of the running water.

Breakfast was a bunfight.completely chaotic.no room numbers were recorded and because it's relatively cheap lots of locals eat breakfast here. ( or free for locals as they aren't asked for room numbers) had to queue both mornings. Unable to use the toaster that only toasted one side and caused huge queues. Table not set and was handed a mug with knife, fork and spoon in it! Proper self service I guess.

Spa spotlessly clean. Pool fabulous. Unfortunately very un relaxing as the spa police make you get out of the jacquzi every 6 minutes when the bubbles stop. A maximum time is allowed (15 minutes)
The room wasn't cleaned until 3 o'clock which was the only time that we occupied the room. This seemed to upset the domestic when I asked her to give us five minutes to get our stuff together.

Would I stay again? Only if it was really cheap.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nicholamullan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    406
    279
    138
    78
See reviews for
219
395
57
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
60 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Village hotel. The hotel is pleasantly decorated and the standard room I was good and well appointed. The only thing it was lacking was more lighting.
Breakfast was good and the service by staff excellent.

Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mogli43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights for my fiancés birthday and couldn't find fault at all!
Stayed in the "Upper Deck" and the rooms have modern decoration and the bed was very comfortable with a quilt cover that felt like sleeping in clouds! My only negative would be that the pillows are that soft that it felt like you sank down to nothing.
The bathroom was lush with a wet room / walk in shower and a nifty steam free mirror!
The breakfast in the Chop House was a self serve full English and was fresh and hot. It got quite busy in thier but the staff were very friendly and competent.
The hotel has a very cosy, homely feel with an open fire and leather sofas in the lobby. The sports bar was very lively. There's also the added bonus of a Starbucks in the lobby too!
Overall I really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to
anyone who wants a really nice cosy nights sleep!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keyz_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed just the one night which was enough, nice and clean as befits a devere, in fact I have never seen someone spend so long cleaning just one table, however we had to wait over an hour for dinner - they lost our order - and we had to queue 10 minutes to get into breakfast. There are too many others out there so why bother. Leisure centre vast and used by locals so the pool was rammed. Floor to ceiling windows look nice but they allow for a lot of noise ingress from the car park below, even on the third floor. Beds were only double in a standrad room. Meals and wine expensive.

Room Tip: your choice is at the front overlooking the noisy carpark or at the back with only a view of a mutli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisBReading_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farnborough hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and myself have just had a two night stay at this hotel.Its our second time there.The first time we stayed in the Upper Deck and this time in a standard room.The Upper Deck had a few extras such as shower gel,tissues,separate shampoo and conditioner.As much as it was nice we couldn't justify the extra £30 a night.The staff are all friendly we will definitely go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharonniamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Being leisure club members of our local Village hotel we occasionally make use of other Village hotels when they are convenient to our needs. In August we decided to treat a friend in need and took her away to Farnborough for a weekend, booking 2 Upper Deck rooms having had these before in Swindon. However, Farnborough is not Swindon and the rooms were much smaller without the same style or quality. We arrived on Saturday afternoon and our first challenge was to park, as there was obviously a large wedding party in attendance. This accomplished we made our way in and identified ourselves at reception, making known our status as members. On reaching our room we were surprised to discover that there was no bath, which my wife prefers, only a shower. We had supposed that, having paid for the upgraded quality of "Upper Deck" that would be a given, but apparently not - there are few Upper Deck rooms with baths in Farnborough and they were all taken, as I quickly ascertained with reception. We unpacked and visited the leisure club for a swim before dinner - which was fine, though quite busy with families and children as is only to be expected. With a large wedding party underway we expected dinner to be a little slow but were pleasantly surprised by the service and staff attendance - however, the level of noise in the restaurant both from Musack and other party's conversations (loud to overcome the background music) was indescribable, especially as I wear hearing aids which makes it difficult to converse at the best of times.
Breakfast the following day was the usual self-service, and we managed it before the majority of the wedding party - fortunately!
After a hard day's visiting NT places and the previous night's dinner experience we decided to eat out and found a nice, local Nepalese restaurant only a 5 minute taxi ride away (though the wait for the taxi, booked through reception, was getting on for half an hour!)
Breakfast on the second morning (Monday) was much the same as before, though several things ran out including fruit juice which I saw someone attempt to fill up twice before they gave up and decided that there was no more.
Our significant disappointment came when we checked out and found that we could not obtain our discount, due to club members. Apparently I should have shown my card when charging to my room account. We were later able to get this rectified remotely.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

First I got a room on the second floor with a high number and it was extremely noisy from the bathroom ventilation, even with the bathroom door closed, and the air-condition sounded like an old refrigerator, even if I turned it off. Since there was an extreme suction of air in the bathroom the vent was totally clogged up with dust that had started to mould due to the moist, see picture. The shower temperature controller and the iPhone dock was broken and the drain in the sink was clogged. That was however was cleaned, but the noise forced me to change room anyway. I then got a room on the fourth floor with a low number, and the vent in the bathroom was quiet, and the air-condition was quiet when turned off. However the hotel's main air-condition is placed on the roof so the room vibrates and it sounds like there is and engine running somewhere close by (and most likely it is).
The staff is very friendly and service minded, the food in the restaurant is good and it's nice with a pub and a Starbucks in-house, but I am sorry to say that it doesn't help at all when you can't sleep due to the "infra noise".

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flight100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 8 in Farnborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#7 of 8 in Farnborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
5.3 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Farnborough

Property: Village Hotel Farnborough
Address: Village Hotel Pinehurst Road | Pinehurst Road, Farnborough GU14 7BF, England (Formerly De Vere Village Farnborough)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Farnborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Farnborough is located just off the M3 motorway, only 1 mile from Farnborough Airport and Rail Station and just 38 minutes to London Waterloo by train. It is also close to the M25 and M4. Nearby attractions include Windsor Castle, Legoland and Thorpe Park. Village Hotel Farnborough has 123 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Village Hotel Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Farnborough Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing