We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Village Hotel Farnborough
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

This is not a 5 star hotel but then again it doesn't advertise itself as one and it isn't priced at 5 star quality

I thought the location, the staff, the room, and the facilities were very good and offered fantastic value for money

There will always be little areas for improvement but I really do feel that it would be unfair given the price


I would definitely recommend the hotel and I would definitely return

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank remery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    476
    332
    169
    103
See reviews for
272
489
64
384
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had the extreme displeasure of spending an evening at the de vere village in December after our company booked our Christmas party at the hotel. On arrival the hotel appeared great - good location, big open reception and a warm welcoming bar area. That's where the good side of things end. Considering we were there on a Saturday night a couple of weeks before Christmas the whole hotel was woefully understaffed. Starting at the bar, the two staff members worked hard, but serving 50plus people at the bar in addition to serving bar meals and trying to clear glasses was beyond their capabilities... Once you got to be served all of the ales, one of the two ciders and two of the on tap lagers had run out by 7pm...
Moving onto the room for the function - while it looked bright and sparkling, the hotel had obviously gone for the option of cramming people in. The seating was, at best, tight, whilst at its worse moving between the tables was impossible. Once again, there were woefully too few staff to cater for the number of diners and those who were present needed an injection of enthusiasm - a smile at some point in the evening would have been welcome!
The food, when it arrived 2.5hours after we had sat down was the proverbial icing on the cake. What arrived at the table was an overcooked, dry mess. I appreciate that the venue was catering for hundreds of people at the same time however I cannot recall ever having had a worse meal from a restaurant. Especially when I had paid more than £40 for 'the pleasure'. Complaints to the staff were met with comments about them not having enough staff and there being no manager available who could deal with the complaint.
Overall the evening would have been an absolute disaster had it not been for the camaraderie of the other diners who were having to put up with the same awful experience. Complaints to the hotel in the weeks since have been met with a 'really couldn't care' attitude and this has made an awful experience even worse.
There is nothing that will ever persuade me to return to the Hotel again and the evening has left me feeling so poorly treated that I will dissuade anyone I can from suffering the same experience

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smudger1806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Farnborough hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I chose this hotel as our favourite Hilton Newbury North was full. I booked the 2 nights B&B plus dinner package for £156.

Facilities - pool and steam room etc were great.

Rooms - great bed, a bit small but hotel does really need to address cleanliness. The side table and work table were dusty as if they had not been cleaned for months. When you have a baby with you, a clean room is really key

Staff - not very attentive nor friendly and some incompetent maybe because they were new. When we arrived on the first day, had asked to book a table at the restaurant for dinner but was given a 9pm slot by the front desk. Told them we have a baby so 9pm is too late. She said the restaurant was full and we could go to the bar. Fine enough, went to the bar but the staff was slow. She needed help in ordering from another member of staff so I think she might be new. Took us almost an hour just to order food at the bar! Saw the restaurant, a lot of empty tables so don't understand the fuss

Food - this is the worst bit. Food at the bar proved to be better value than in the restaurant. We had dinner on the second night at the hotel restaurant. Very limited choice for the set menu and not good value for money. Small portions, food not fresh and my husband's fishcake had a dead fly in it! We had given our baby the food and imagine our horror! Staff were apologetic and asked if we wanted a replacement. We said no because really we had lost our appetite. Didn't even finish our food. Breakfast was average, good thing pastries were nice.

We wont be returning to this hotel because of various reasons above but if you do, eat at the bar not the restaurant!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayaHafiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

the function post xmas party .the night a ABBA night. there were only 2 girls singing in ABBA there were also 2 boys in the band where were the two boys?? the food was pretty dreadful for a festive meal two courses no choice just chicken. the sweet was chocolate swiss roll with aerosal cream? and 1/2 bottle of wine for this type of hotel very poor .the charge £25.00 also the time to serve meal for look warm food not impressed.i have atteneded this type of function before at THE VILLAGE.this was not up to the value of christmas functions held at this hotel before

Room Tip: only visited for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gordon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Booked this hotel for a christmas party on one of the party nights. Checked into the twin room which I was sharing with a mate and separated the single beds which were pushed together in a double bed fashion?? Only to find about a years worth of grime, toe nails and hairs all over the manky carpet! Even the chamber maid I had to call in screwed her nose up at the state if it.
We had the party in the private function room where it was a real struggle to get through the isles round the tables as there seemed to be no space to manoeuvre. The food was diabolical. We waited approximately 3 to 4 hours for our meals and dessert was dumped on the table well after the dancing had started. The DJ was a miserable idiot so it went downhill from there.
Very poor standard of service
The kitchen should be ashamed of themselves...the only positive was the gym and its staff however the weights were keft all over the place so could do better.
We will not be returning and urge ithers to steer well clear.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawlo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We recently had a Christmas party at this establishment which I can only describe as dreadful. On booking into our room it was filthy and we're had to get the maid back to Hoover. After being seated for diner in a room were the hotel had clearly packed you in like sardines we have waited 3 hours for our meal to be served which was disgraceful and several meal having to be sent back to the kitchen due to being cold and potatoes being hard and over cooked. The venue had door security on the venue who were very over the top and would suit a nightclub door at 3 am on a Saturday night not a posh hotel Christmas party. After the event hotel residents requested to enter the bar for further drinks and we're abruptly told no further drinks would be served due to lack of staff! This is not a cheap event and it would appear this hotel are happy to charge lots of money for these event but provide limited staff to save money giving the customer a dreadful, expensive evening. I would not recommend this hotel or party nights to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Car park is just not big enough for the hotel, when car park is full, which happens frequently, and you park outside of a bay you get a £100 parking fine and very rude reception staff who say nothing to do with them. Food was awful and very bad service. Will not be going back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Loav2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,909 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
637 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Farnborough Central
3.9 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#7 of 7 in Farnborough
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Farnborough

Property: Village Hotel Farnborough
Address: Village Hotel Pinehurst Road | Pinehurst Road, Farnborough GU14 7BF, England (Formerly De Vere Village Farnborough)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Farnborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Farnborough is located just off the M3 motorway, only 1 mile from Farnborough Airport and Rail Station and just 38 minutes to London Waterloo by train. It is also close to the M25 and M4. Nearby attractions include Windsor Castle, Legoland and Thorpe Park. Village Hotel Farnborough has 123 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Farnborough Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing