We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No service at all. Gym is the only good thing here.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Village Hotel Farnborough
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
267 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“No service at all. Gym is the only good thing here.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had business in the area and had to stay here for several days. During that time, the room was not always vacuumed and the trash can was not always emptied. One day, we returned to find bed pillows still on the floor. The room was very, very small. The only drawer was a small one in the closet. The bathroom was so minimal that there wasn't even a hook to hang my nightgown on and there was only one small bar to use for all towels. We often did not receive two towels (even thought there were two of us in the room). The desk personnel were extremely rude and difficult. They claimed ignorance when I asked questions about the area. They called cabs for me, but nothing else. The fitness center is excellent: large pool with lap lanes, large aerobic area, free weight area, nice locker room facilities and fitness classes (if your schedule permits). Lots of locals seemed to like the place for parties and gatherings. If you are here for local business and intend to only sleep here (eat somewhere else), it may be practical for you. It is only a 4-5 pound taxi ride to the train station that will take you into London.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms are the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquelinerose5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Farnborough, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.
Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards, and for that I sincerely apologize. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our housekeeping and reception manager.

I hope we have the opportunity in the future to show you our usual standards.

Best Wishes, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    321
    438
    304
    151
    92
See reviews for
239
442
59
363
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I booked this hotel as my family and I were going to a 25 year wedding anniversary celebration in Farnham. I chose this as it was the best value. It cost £85 for a family room including breakfast, use of gym, swimming pool, steam room and sauna. I also booked my mother in law a double room which cost £65. I booked through laterooms.com.

The hotel was clean, very modern and the staff were lovely especially with the children.

Our room was a king room with 2 pull out beds for our children. They were proper beds but low to the floor as these belong underneath the king bed. The beds were comfy.

The coffee/tea in the room was great and the bathroom was great.

The breakfast was lovely as there was plenty of choice. There were cereals, pastries, toast, yoghurt, fruit and a hot selection.

The surrounding area was also great as there was an ASDA, bowling alley and Wizzy World Soft Play Area all within a short walk.

The only negative thing I can think about was our view as through our window it was just a concrete wall but we were not bothered as we were only there a night.

Room Tip: If you don't want to look at a wall as your view then maybe room 103 not for you but my family d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petals1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M, General Manager at Village Hotel Farnborough, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Wishes, Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights on this hotel, but when we were doing the check in, the front desk took 2 years of life. My reservation was with breakfast included and she was argue with me saying that did not, after 10 times saying that I did the reservation with breakfast included and she saying the opposite, I opened the reservation on the mobile phone and send one email to her with that detail... Very rude and stubborn lady.
The breakfast was OK, but one 4 star hotel that charge a big money for the breakfast... shouldn't have packed fruit, and have cheese for example, different type of bread...
The hotel accommodations are great, very good room and clean no complainings... Nice swimming pool, gym, and restaurant and pub.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a fantastic weekend at this hotel, I cannot believe it is only a 3 star. The rooms are lovely, the staff are friendly. The bars are very welcoming and the breakfast was delicious. The leisure facilities were fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nichola13201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel twice during May 2014 using a Travelzoo lunch and swim voucher.

Both visits were lovely. Amazing lunches from a specific Travelzoo menu and the leisure facilities are excellent. The gym is huge.

Excellent value for money. Hope the offer comes up again soon.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank SAZZA442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Had a work management evening here recently and stayed in an upper deck room. Really impressed with the room, it was large, the bed very comfortable, great bathroom and loved the Starbucks station! The food in the chop house was pretty decent and surroundings pleasant. Only downside was the bar closed very early forcing you to pay the higher room service rates - not ideal especially as we were a group of 10 plus wanting to have a drink together, not in our rooms. All in all though, excellent value.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cheska82h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paralimni, Cyprus
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This was a good hotel with good facilities for the disabled and a much better room than many higher rated hotels. If you use this hotel you might want to take a topper as the bed felt good but perhaps a little firm. The only shock was late one evening when my wife went to get some bottled water from the bar and was charged £6 for it. After that we ate and drank at a nearby local which offered much better value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.6 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,818 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre
0.5 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#7 of 7 in Farnborough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
3.9 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Village Hotel Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Village Hotel Farnborough

Property: Village Hotel Farnborough
Address: Village Hotel Pinehurst Road | Pinehurst Road, Farnborough GU14 7BF, England (Formerly De Vere Village Farnborough)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Village Hotel Farnborough 3.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Village Hotel Farnborough is located just off the M3 motorway, only 1 mile from Farnborough Airport and Rail Station and just 38 minutes to London Waterloo by train. It is also close to the M25 and M4. Nearby attractions include Windsor Castle, Legoland and Thorpe Park. Village Hotel Farnborough has 123 bright and modern bedrooms, a choice of stylish dining or a traditional pub, Starbucks Coffee Shop, state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, free wi-fi throughout the hotel and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Village Hotel Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Village Farnborough Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing