We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't ask for more”
Review of Melford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melford House
Ranked #2 of 9 Farnborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I usually stay in large hotels, but thought I'd try a B&B for a change and was very pleased that I did. An immaculately clean room and bathroom, excellent breakfast and a friendly and accommodating host - what more could you ask for?

It's changed my perception of B&B for business use (oh, did I mention the free - fast - WiFi !) and I've already booked a return visit. Give it a try...

Room Tip: I suspect they're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarlonBowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed on business. Great location and much more personal service than hotels. Easy to find from Train Station, although not clearly marked as a Guest House or B&B so you need to look out for the Melford House sign. Clean room and nice and quiet. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DivisionalManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackenglen, Owner at Melford House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I have a dilemma with the sign in that I don't think the customary names for accommodation (b&b guesthouse hotel etc) really reflect the nature of the offering at Melford House. But I take the point, perhaps anonymity is not the best marketing strategy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

stayed in this B&B day before yesterday; can be recommended for good location, comfortable room, great cooked breakfast; well done Will.
5 minute walk to very good pubs & restaurants; easy parking on site.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank will086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackenglen, Owner at Melford House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2012

Thank you for your kind words it so nice to get a good review from a Trip Advisor senior reviewer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

I have stayed at Melford House during business meeting over the last six months the only way to describe Melford House na d Will the owner is Excellant service, it is spotlessly clean and a very accommodation host. Would definatley recommend if you are in Farnborough or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GedNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Staying in Farnborough on business for a week looked to be a pricy undertaking if using the couple of good hotels in town, especially the fancy new Aviator overlooking the airfield. At a fraction of the cost, one is taking a bit of a gamble on a B&B stay with the usual line up of potential problems such as noise, cleanliness, food, convenience, etc. Given the exceptional ratings here on this ta.co site, I took a risk and having returned from several nights there, can report to not be disappointed.

Will is as described elsewhere, a very friendly and welcoming host. Running the place alone now, he provided a great and speedy hot breakfast to request with an extensive menu. Bright dining room with views into a garden yard.

Older house has a bit of charm in a nice quiet, older residential neighborhood. Seemed bit far to walk into the Main station or town (on nice sidewalks everywhere if you try), but taxi service is fast. Good parking if you have a car. Did see many people walking to work in the morning.

Free WiFi (wired and wireless) was excellent. Room and bedding clean. Modest furnishings and odd linens but functionally fine and home feeling. Smaller TV fine. Shared iron&board in the hallway. Shower and bathroom very clean and all is cleaned daily. As noted by others some of the walls are common, so could hear a neighbor when using bath on other side, but everyone seemed respectful and quiet. Wasn't awoken by noise. Seemed to be all professional folks from across Europe in this mid-week stay. I'd go back next time in town.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front appeared to be nicest with big windows and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ThatYankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I've been travelling from the North of England and staying in Farnborough on and off for 18 months now. In the early days I did stay at other Hotels in the area but I found Melford House the best. I had the misfortune to require emergency Hospital treatment while staying at Melford House . The owner (Will) could not have been more helpful, he actually came to visit me in hospital. He was most helpful with my family who stayed at weekends. I am sure I would not have received that service from any of the other Hotels in the area.

I've stayed in most rooms and they all all very nice and comfortable

Room Tip: They are all very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 50Macca50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2011

I stayed at the hotel MELFORD HOUSE the entire month of May for business. Rooms are property, and free WIFI is available in all hotel. Will is a very good guy, very helpful.
In addition, it is possible to have a taxi service or a dinner and also the breakfast is delicious.

A very nice hotel for holidays or business

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicolas1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Farnborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Farnborough Central
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#5 of 7 in Farnborough
666 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
1,574 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colebrook Guest House
Colebrook Guest House
#1 of 9 in Farnborough
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melford House

Address: 17-19 Church Avenue, Farnborough GU14 7AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Farnborough
Price Range: £83 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melford House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the affluent are of Farnborough Park Melford House is a fully licensed Boutique Hotel, Guesthouse, B&B in Farnborough Hampshire ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Melford House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melford House Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing