We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were even serenaded!”
Review of Melford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melford House
Ranked #2 of 9 Farnborough B&B and Inns
West Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“We were even serenaded!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

A really nice couple of days in Farnborough for our niece's 18th. The owner Will was friendly and helpful and the rooms were light and airy. There is a residents' lounge with an honesty bar. We used it to watch England pulverise the aussies at cricket. There is a code for the front door so we were able to come and go as we pleased, arriving back late on Saturday night after the party. Breakfast is varied and cooked freshly as required. Soda bread with ham and brie made a nice alternative for me. Willem is also a guitarist and on the Sunday night we went to bed early and listened to him playing gentle songs in the garden as we drifted to sleep. A really great B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrighousePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
27
14
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I can only echo the contents of the previous positive reviews on here.

I arrived to be welcomed by Willem and was shown around the very pleasant house and to my lovely double en suite room. It was clean, tidy, modern, well presented and contained nice touches like good toiletries in the bathroom, linen and towels.

Willem gave me good advice for my evening's entertainment and food. Upon arrival for breakfast in the morning In I was presented with an excellent selection of all that is expected and the cooked options were lovely.

He even took the time to e-mail in advance with key details about my stay and the wifi code.

I would definitely recommend this B&B and will stay here again, if in the area soon.

Graham

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bahrain
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights last minute & loved this quaint B&B. We were at the top of the house and the rooms were spacious with ample wardrobe/drawer space. The bathrooms were clean & roomy. There was a selection of books in the room for your perusal and a flat screen television and free wifi.
Will was a charming host & extremely helpful, his breakfasts were tasty, especially the scrambled eggs with chives & nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast variety was excellent and the dining area was light & welcoming.
There was even a fridge of beer/wine & honesty box if you fancied a cheeky tipple on your return!
Highly recommend staying in this beautiful relaxing house!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enalsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We had a lovely one night stay at Melford House over the bank holiday weekend. Will gave us some great local recommendations - things to see, places to eat & drink - and was very accommodating, especially given the last minute booking. Breakfast was delicious, particularly the scrambled egg on toast. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShwetaandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Melford House is so relaxing Will Hanlin is an execllent host and as i am a previous resident whilst working in farnborough 3 years, i was please when there was rooms available for long term accomodation, there is a good atmosphere and everyone who stops are so friendly. I wuld reccomend to anyone that is looking accomodation to take the opportunity and get booked up with Will.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent t stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I usually stay in large hotels, but thought I'd try a B&B for a change and was very pleased that I did. An immaculately clean room and bathroom, excellent breakfast and a friendly and accommodating host - what more could you ask for?

It's changed my perception of B&B for business use (oh, did I mention the free - fast - WiFi !) and I've already booked a return visit. Give it a try...

Room Tip: I suspect they're all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarlonBowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Stayed on business. Great location and much more personal service than hotels. Easy to find from Train Station, although not clearly marked as a Guest House or B&B so you need to look out for the Melford House sign. Clean room and nice and quiet. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DivisionalManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brackenglen, Owner at Melford House, responded to this review, 20 January 2013
Thank you for your kind review. I have a dilemma with the sign in that I don't think the customary names for accommodation (b&b guesthouse hotel etc) really reflect the nature of the offering at Melford House. But I take the point, perhaps anonymity is not the best marketing strategy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Farnborough hotels
0.8 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,874 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre
0.5 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 7 in Farnborough
1,390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
630 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Farnborough Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melford House

Property: Melford House
Address: 17-19 Church Avenue, Farnborough GU14 7AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Melford House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, Guesthouse, B&B in Farnborough Hampshire ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melford House Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing