We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Stay at Melford House”
Review of Melford House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Melford House
Ranked #2 of 9 Farnborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I am stopping at Melfprd House every week on work buasiness and have been there since August. The people that own the accomodation are super and really friendly and I would definitely recommend this accomodation and its the best accomodation that I have stopped in.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iain1378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2010

The proprietors produce a very relaxed atmosphere, because they work very hard and quietly to do so. (I wish I had Will's work ethic.) This couple are quintessentially english: discrete, intelligent and sensitive. Go and try out Melford House for yourself, you will be charmed and beguiled.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_Leake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2010

I have been traveling a lot in my recent years, and never felt the urge need to review any hotel where I have been. After staying at Melford House, I had to change my mind.

It really does not feel to be in an hotel. You are at home.

The area is nice and quiet, the atmosphere brings you back a few decades, the "squeaky" wooden floors... really really nice and comfy. The rooms are cosy and have more than enough amenities (tv, coffee/tea machine, free wifi) to keep you entertained.

Service is just great. Will is a very very nice guy and does an amazing job over there (on top of that he really know his way around the kitchen).

I will definitely go back there at the next trip.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fabbione76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2010

Melford House provides excellent Guest House facilities for the business traveller. It does not provide gym facilities or an evening restaurant, but these can only be expected from the larger hotel chains such as Holiday Inn and Marriott.
However, Melford House does provide excellent rooms, free wireless internet, and excellent cooked breakfast. It is a family run business, and the care and attention to detail shines through. Sleep quality is excellent, due to its quiet location, relatively small number of rooms, and responsible visitors. You won't find any slamming of doors at 3am occuring here!
Melford House is situated in a quiet road, which again promotes good sleep quality. It is also conveniently located for Farnborough train station and airport.
Melford House is a fine Guest House of excellent standard. If you are expecting Hilton or Holiday Inn facilities, such as a gym on-site and a restaurant, then look elsewhere. But if you are looking for good rooms, great sleep quality, and friendly and efficient service, then this is certainly a good place to stay. Finally, it should be noted that there are several gyms, and many excellent restaurants, within easy walking distance of Melford House.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hslenn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

If you are wanting to work in or around the Farnborough area, this is the place for you!!!!
The service is top notch and the rooms are a home from home, all this, plus the rates are very competitive too.
All in all, a throughly welcoming atmosphere and couldn't come more highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mattjwoodford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

The owners (Will & Deb) do their best to make you feel at home at their place, this includes a nice chat, home-cooked breakfast and free broadband internet.
Located centrally between the businesspark and the trainstation I would highly recommend Melford House to anyone who has to stay in Farnborough.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wander_Mule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

I was expecting a budget hotel, but the Melford House is a beautiful house in a really nice area, where you feel welcome and like you're on vacation.
The house is convenient for the train station and the town centre - as well as walking distance from the many corporate office buildings.
I had a very pleasant room overlooking the garden.
'Will' the owner is a great host, very entertaining and personable.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorisSanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Farnborough hotels
0.4 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#5 of 7 in Farnborough
1,627 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colebrook Guest House
Colebrook Guest House
#1 of 9 in Farnborough
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Park Lodge Guest House
Park Lodge Guest House
#3 of 9 in Farnborough
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,079 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melford House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melford House

Address: 17-19 Church Avenue, Farnborough GU14 7AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Farnborough
Price Range: £80 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melford House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the affluent are of Farnborough Park Melford House is a fully licensed Boutique Hotel, Guesthouse, B&B in Farnborough Hampshire ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Melford House Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing