We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close, but not quite”
Review of Falcon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Falcon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
farnborough
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Close, but not quite”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

I'll start with the good, of which there is plenty: 1pm is an unusually early check-in in my experience and was really useful on this occasion. The room I was allocated had just been refurbished and is absolutely beautiful, to the exent where I took pictures of the paint colours to try and recreate at home! I like the sheet/bedspread combination rather than a duvet which doesn't let you regulate the temperature so well. Bathroom only had a shower, but an excellent shower, and despite being a solo traveller, unlike many hotels they left me 2 sets of lovely towels. The TV is good. The room temperature was fine. I ordered a good bar snack in the evening and was able to take it to my room. Hairdryer in the bedside drawer. Really good lighting.

Now for the not so good, and some of this is my personal preference rather than where the hotel may be going wrong: The staff are efficient, but not necessarily very warm or welcoming, with the exception of the receptionist on Sunday morning. My 2 particular bugbears, though firstly, lack of information in the room (one laminated card with breakfast times on and local information is all it would take, and means I don't have to play Dan the Memory Man once I get to my room having had a brisk rundown on timings from the receptionist). Secondly, no iron in the room. If you ask, they bring one, but it always seems to be when I've just got out of the shower I realise there isn't one. Breakfast - well, I don't think I've ever seen anything like it. There is cereal and various fruit juices to help yourself to, and table service for coffee (only one coffee, no pot or refill). I opted for the continental - 2 slices of ham, a cheese slice cut into two, some tinned fruit salad and a yoghurt. Oh and a pot of Philadelphia cheese, although where you are supposed to spread that is tricky when only one slice of toast is provided. I assume this is portion control and budgeting, good if you are on low carb diets, but surely they could stretch to 2 slices at least?! The noise at weekends from the aircraft is there, but minimal. The noise from other guests can be obtrusive in an old building, but the hotel has no control over that.

One word of warning - the sash windows. They are held up by little bolts, but are incredibly heavy, if you need to shut the window take great care and hold onto it securely or get your fingers out of the way! Another tip - it looks as if the parking is only on the narrow road spaces, but there is a carpark further along which is easier to get out of.

For the room I had, 3 stars seems a bit mean, but I hope the constructive comments are taken on board. It could go from average to really good with a little effort.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farnboroughtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    52
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
14
40
22
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2012 via mobile

I booked hotel via a groupon deal. Hotel package stated sounded really good- one night stay with bottle of Louis Dornier champagne, 20% off food at the Ham and Blackbird pub nearby and breakfast.

I have stayed at a few hotels recently via Groupon so was hoping for a good stay. The location unfortunately wasn't great opposite Farnborough airport, so constant plane noise and hotel is on the main road. There was car parking we parked to the side of the hotel however when departing it was tricky exiting with cars parked on other side of the road.
We were offered a deluxe room with en suite. Room was of good size and bed was comfortable. Unfortunately room was very warm, radiator was off, we opened both windows and still very warm.
Bathroom was very small, if we were large you would have difficulty moving around at ease.
There was tea and coffee in room with a good size LCD tv, and the champagnewas in our room when we arrived. The room was nicely decorated. I commented on the nice touch of chandelier though my boyfriend commented it was actually broken with parts missing, large cobweb in corner of the room!
The bathroom was decorated to a high standard and I loved the mirror, there was a brownish stain in bath so wasn't sure if it had been cleaned. Good toiletries provided however one bottle made me laugh has it had no label stating what the liquid actually was in it.
Breakfast was of a good standard we went with falcon breakfast you were either allowed sausage or bacon. Butter was not on table so that was the oy thing you had to get up and get.
Only saw two staff members at hotel the next morning who were smartly dressed but very quiet. We met I believe the French manager at arrival who seemed very nice. Though she was chatting so much she nearly forgot til I prompted her for the room key!!
All in all for the price we paid via groupon it was a good night stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verdie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Upon check-in I was given a sparsely furnished room that was freezing cold as the heating wasn’t working. I was then moved to another room where the heating couldn’t be turned off!

Next day I returned form a meeting at 12.30 in the afternoon to be greeted by an angry manager who was personally offended that I hadn’t check out on time. They had cleared my belongings out of my room and she basically flung my bag and clothes over the counter at me. Rude, aggressive and extremely unprofessional.

To be fair the receptionist was very friendly and seemed embarrassed by the treatment I received.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnCork O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012 via mobile

Good value for what we paid for the standard double room, well decorated good service, only thing that let down was shower was too strong, and when the housekeeper cleaned dirty cups were put into the wardrobe, and new ones were replaced onto the dressing table. parking wasn't brilliant but found place in the end. all in all happy :).

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elisey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We got a last minute deal on this hotel for a 'deluxe room' (this means it has been refurbished). The room is fairly small due to the new bathroom, but it is adequate. Modern wallpaper with rustic furniture makes a nice change. I was surprised not to have a duvet- just quilt and sheet but it was fine.
The only problem with our stay was that it was quite noisy but this is not the hotels fault. Maybe the walls are a little thin but more that the other guests were noisy! We were in room 16 by the stairs so heard a lot of doors banging.
Breakfast was lovely with full english and continental available. I dont think I would pay full price for the room but was very pleased with the deal we got.

Room Tip: Go for 2nd floor to avoid noise from above
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessawhatever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadstairs
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We have recently stayed at the hotel, we have one complaint, that the sound proofing is non existant, we were sited in the front of the hotel on the first floor, we could hear the noise from the bar as if we were still in there, also the rooms above and adjacent, we could hear the creaking floor in the corridor and the closing of the fire doors, very noisy, shame as it was a lovely hotel apart from this.

Room Tip: try a room at the back on the top floor then you will only hear the people below
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradstow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I stayed here on 14th April with my husband & have got to say we were very impressed ,from walking throught front door we had a welcome reception & our room was very clean & comfortable.The staff were very pleasent & helpful breakfast was good to like other reveiws shame the resturant is not open.we would reccomend this hotel to our friends & family & would go back ourselves.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lolly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,923 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#5 of 7 in Farnborough
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Farnborough Central
4.2 mi away
Macdonald Frimley Hall Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falcon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falcon Hotel

Property: Falcon Hotel
Address: 68 Farnborough Road, Farnborough GU14 6TH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Falcon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Falcon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Falcon Hotel Farnborough, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing