We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mum and Daughters' Get-away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I chose this hotel for a surprise special weekend with my teenage girls mainly because it had a swimming pool. I chose the area because I thought they would like to go to BirdWorld which is nearby. (I was wrong!)

The hotel is comfortable - I booked a family room which had a large super kingsize bed and a sofa bed. The sofa bed is fine for a child but was really too short for an adult. I shared the big bed with one of my daughters (aka duvet-stealer) and the other one slept on the sofa bed but did find she couldn't stretch out straight.

It was great having the choice of pillows although I couldn't see a massive difference between the firm and soft hollow-fibre ones. We asked for the soft feather pillows which arrived very quickly even though it was late (about 10pm) when we called down as we hadn't noticed the list of pillow choices until then. They were better but still not as squishy as my ones at home.

We spent a few hours the first afternoon in the pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi which were all nice. My girls do love swimming so it was a big hit with them. The showers in the changing rooms were lovely; hot and powerful. We didn't want to leave them! An all-in-one shower gel/shampoo was available in the shower stalls. The area for getting dressed is quite small and got cramped when another group came in at the same time as us.

We didn't go for the breakfast as we felt £11.50 each was far too expensive. My youngest wanted a bag of crisps from the bar - it was £1.20 for one, regular-sized bag!!! We were pleased with the free Mars Bar with the tea and coffee making facilities although I did phone down to reception to check it was free before we ate it!

All the staff we met were very polite and happy to help.

Over all, I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E-mailAddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Email Addict,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review further to your recent stay with us.

I was delighted to learn that you and your daughters enjoyed your visit and that you would recommend the hotel. Thank you for your constructive comments regarding the sofa bed and pillows which I will follow up with my Head Housekeeper.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2014

Nice comfortable place to stay. Staff is great,especially the outstanding service from Gattis, the bartender in the lounge. Gattis was very personable and provided very good service. It was a fun place to relax after work. The only downside was that the food was expensive, and we tended to go to restaurants in the surrounding area for dinner.

Room Tip: Some rooms seemed to have "thin walls". Make sure you ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert-Head, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear M W

The team and I were very pleased with your review and especially Gatis after you singled him out for being very personable and providing outstanding service.

Reviews on Tripadvisor are not only helpful for future travellers looking to stay in the future but also a great way for our staff to be recognised for the great service they provide.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Robert Head
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for work. The room was good but at more than 100GBP a night it should have been.

Breakfast is a whopping £17 (discounted to 11.50 if you buy at reception) I took it on one day and it was good. Other days when i was less hungry I made use of of the complimentary fruit and coffee in reception :)

This HI is well located for the aerospace centre - just a few minutes walk. For a lighter breakfast there are good value options near by.

Wireless access was not included in the room rate and it was pricey (£30 for 3 days) but fast.

Room service on the one night I took it was definitely above average... But there are some excellent restaurants nearby so no excuses really!


Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank iksloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert-Head, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear iksloc

Thank you for the time taken to review us on Tripadvisor. Feedback of all kinds is incredibly important to us as we strive to constantly improve.

I was glad to read that overall you had a good stay with us and found the breakfast and room service to be of a high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Robert Head
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights commencing New Years Eve. Excellent food, bed extremely comfortable, power shower great. The furniture in the room requires updating. We paid a good rate with Booking.com. Staff excellent, nothing is too much trouble for this lovely bunch. I will definitely try another Holiday Inn in the future.

Room Tip: I would have preferred a room at the front of the hotel.... the one we stayed in meant going outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mc03172014f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert-Head, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear joannetridgell

Thank you for your review "Great Hotel". It was a great review and one we all enjoyed reading.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Robert Head
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The building is very grand and the hotel is very homely and welcoming as a result, staff were very courteous and helpful and when I ordered room service it was a great price and came very quickly and food was good. Lovely touches like free filter coffee to take away with you when you leave by the door....

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorisandthehoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert-Head, Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2014

Dear Dorisandthehoff

Thank you for the time taken to review your recent stay with us. We are all pleased that you found the hotel to be warm and welcoming and the staff friendly and courteous. We're also pleased you enjoyed the takeway coffee and found room service to be of a good standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Robert Head
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed at the Hotel this weekend, overall pleasant stay, room clean and everything worked ok. Got a good rate for the stay over so no complaints at all, except the cost of breakfast which I didn't take up.

Room Tip: Have breakfast elsewhere unless included in rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank petrol1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear petrol1967,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and for staying with us. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Weekend away in September , overall experience very average , pool was bland , staff very quiet and uncommunicative , rooms clean but unexciting , breakfast good. overall lost the class of the previous Queens Hotel which is a shame!

Stayed: September 2013
Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Jeremy H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you liked our breakfast menu and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,997 reviews
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
1,509 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Farnborough Central
3.6 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
0.6 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#7 of 7 in Farnborough
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Farnborough

Address: Lynchford Road, Farnborough GU14 6AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range: £70 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Farnborough 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Hampshire/Surrey border with easy access to the M3/M25, the Holiday Inn Farnborough is a great choice for a weekend break for visiting Birdworld, Legoland, Thorpe Park, Chessington World of Adventures, Wisley Gardens and Aldershot Military Museum.The hotel is within walking distance of FIVE, the South of England's new premier conference venue, the Farnborough Air Show and the Aldershot Army Show, and is two miles from Rushmoor Arena, which hosts the annual South of England Tempest Rally among other events.This Farnborough hotel offers guests comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms, with high-speed Internet access and full use of the Spirit Health Club with its pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and well-equipped gym. Our newly refurbished restaurant offers varied menus with daily specials and themed menus once a week, and light bites are served in the lounge. Kids stay & eat free.*We take pride in delivering an efficient, friendly service for conferences, private parties and weddings. Our 10 meeting rooms offer scope for flexible programmes and events for up to 180 delegates/guests.See the hotel's package page for special overnight packages, hotel offers and our monthly theme/tribute nights.*Terms & conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Farnborough Hotel Farnborough
Farnborough Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Farnborough Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing