We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Farnborough

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Farnborough
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

we stayed hear april 19th 2014...really really nice..staff amazing did everything they could to make our stay as comftable as possible...the pool is brill n the room are lovely..u must stay hear...best hotel ive been to..so thank u

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leannekearney1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear leannekearney1986,

Thank you so much for your recent review. My team were so pleased to receive 5 stars from you!
I was delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and I do hope it will not be long before we are welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    174
    218
    129
    44
    27
See reviews for
179
103
26
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

If I book an executive room, I expect more than just a couple of fluffy dressing gowns! Tiny room, minute bathroom, booked a twin, got a double, we both fidget, before you ask! TV had a mind if its own! Wedding had taken over the place, staff rushed off their feet, public loos filthy, baby room bins full of soiled nappy 's - no management in evidence. Wi-fi charged for? Went out! Breakfast manic, small buffet stuffed in a corner, pancake machine broke, toaster ran on candle power, too many choices? Staff excellent but ran ragged, moved to the lounge for peace and quiet, discovered free Costa coffee thing! Never again ......

Room Tip: Find a room away from the front and function room! No lifts by the way....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank romeo017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear romoe017,

I was most concerned to read your review as we certainly failed to deliver exceptional service to you during your recent stay with us.

I am not sure how you were able to book an Executive Twin room as the hotel only has Executive Double rooms and I do hope the Receptionist on duty explained this to you. I will be sharing your feedback with my team to review your comments and to put procedures in place to prevent a similar experience for any future guest. I am very disappointed that you did not have a more positive experience and I would ask you to contact me directly on jane.standing@ihg.com so we can make amends.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed again recently after a disappointing previous stay and must say it has improved. The room was spotless and the staff were second to none. Very friendly and professional in a genuine way not the false corporate way you often see at chain hotels. The only let down is the quality of the food but I think this is down to the Holiday Inn group. Overall and good central hotel with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear SteveB,

Thank you so much for your recent review. I was delighted to see you have increased your rating from 2 to 3 stars since your review last September. I am so pleased you can see the improvements we have made.

I will talk to the Chef about the food but you are correct in as much as the menu design is carried out centrally. However I would value your specific feedback so we can improve further the current offering. Our menus are changing on the 6th May so do let me know your opinion should you stay with us after this date.

I am certainly hoping for a 4 star review on your next visit!

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

What a brilliant hotel! The staff could not do enough for us; they were courteous, thoughtful and very respectful of our 7 year old son. The food was fabulous (breakfast = heavenly and the Bombay Banquet = delightful), the room spacious and leisure wonderful. They treat children so well, including them with everything - even giving them a 'registration card' and a courtesy gift card for a glass of milk and a cookie at the bar. We really enjoyed our stay and will happily make a return visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 73Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear 73Veronica,

I was delighted to read your 5 star review! Thank you so much for your feedback and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves in ensuring our younger guests enjoy their stay as much as the parents!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rural Sussex
Level Contributor
162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We stayed overnight as part of an evening out, somewhere different, in a hotel with facilities.

The hotel was busy (a wedding taking place) but the staff were very good & helpful. Our room was spacious, clean & with a modern bathroom.

We used the leisure facilities & found the pool warm & clean with a really good steam room& sauna on hand.

Breakfast was very good with a good choice of the usual.

What was interesting was the range of nationalities staying there. It made a really nice change (without being in London).

All in all a very pleasant stay & we will return if & when in the area.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GandTRuralSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear GrandT,

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review further to your stay at the hotel. I was delighted to read your comments and have since shared them with the team

Meeting and exceeding guest expectations is key to our success and each and every member of my team is trained to ensure all guests have a great stay. This is of the utmost importance.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of looking after you again when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

It has delightful, caring, considerate staff who really care about your stay. The buffet breakfast is amazing. There is a scotch/American pancake machine!!! The health club has an excellent pool and a bubbling jacuzzi. The bar and restaurant have a warming atmosphere and exceptional menu. One of the only bad things was that because the hotel served Starbucks, it was massively overpriced (£3 for a cup of tea!) The room service is 24hr and you can get the same menu from the restaurant to your room. We didn't use the WiFi because it was quite expensive so I can't comment on its quality. There were always staff on hand to help. The food was delicious and classy. The whole thing was good value. The beds were comfy and there was a good range of in-room teas and coffees and you could ask for decaf and herbal. Although it was next to a roundabout there wasn't much noise. (-:

Room Tip: Can't say much but 209 is lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwhite1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear mwhite 1968,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review and feedback further to your recent stay at the hotel! I was delighted to read your comments which I will be sharing with my team.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is now my 4th stay at Holiday Inn Farnborough. Although the property itself does not seem fascinating, the courteous and helpful staff more than makes up for the extravagance that the place is lacking. Enjoy IHG membership points for your stay here.
The one quality about this hotel that makes it stand out from the rest is the homely feeling you get while staying here. The air is not too professional and the Hampshire weather makes it all the more suited for a quiet place of rest.
The lounge/bar is alright with a host of freshly brewed local beers. If you are an IHG Platinum member, the internet is on the house which is great, except for the fact that its standard medium speed grade access which does not make up for a good experience on youtube.
The train station is not too far and the Rushmoore taxi service available locally is superb. Taxi bookings made through the hotel reception for airport transfers will fetch you pretty good discounted rates. There is also a BAE systems private airport at walking distance from the hotel. The hotel also enjoys proximity to a lot of restaurants and pubs situated in Aldershot and Farnham.
For those staying for a long duration at the hotel, the sticking point of complaint I have with the hotel is there never changing breakfast menu!
If you do need to visit the not-so-happening town of Farnborough, I would recommend Holiday Inn as the most suited place of stay.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 431-436, they are the best in the house. The floor boards on the main tower of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishal_Wahal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Vishal_Wahal,

I was delighted to read your recent review further to your stay at the hotel. I certainly value guest feedback particularly from guests such as yourself who it would appear stayed in the hotel for some time.

Thank you for your kind comments about the staff which I was so pleased to hear. Staff helpfulness and friendliness is of the utmost importance in ensuring a great stay for all of our guests.

I am aware that we do have some creaky floorboards in the main hotel building as a result of it's age (Built 1904). We have recently completed a sample room where we have laid new flooring to resolve this issue with the intention of doing all rooms on the top floor to prevent further complaints.

Many thanks once again and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#4 of 8 in Farnborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Aldershot Hotel
3.6 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
0.6 mi away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#7 of 8 in Farnborough
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Farnborough

Property: Holiday Inn Farnborough
Address: Lynchford Road, Farnborough GU14 6AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Farnborough 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Hampshire/Surrey border with easy access to the M3/M25, the Holiday Inn Farnborough is a great choice for a weekend break for visiting Birdworld, Legoland, Thorpe Park, Chessington World of Adventures, Wisley Gardens and Aldershot Military Museum.The hotel is within walking distance of FIVE, the South of England's new premier conference venue, the Farnborough Air Show and the Aldershot Army Show, and is two miles from Rushmoor Arena, which hosts the annual South of England Tempest Rally among other events.This Farnborough hotel offers guests comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms, with high-speed Internet access and full use of the Spirit Health Club with its pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and well-equipped gym. Our newly refurbished restaurant offers varied menus with daily specials and themed menus once a week, and light bites are served in the lounge. Kids stay & eat free.*We take pride in delivering an efficient, friendly service for conferences, private parties and weddings. Our 10 meeting rooms offer scope for flexible programmes and events for up to 180 delegates/guests.See the hotel's package page for special overnight packages, hotel offers and our monthly theme/tribute nights.*Terms & conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Farnborough Hotel Farnborough
Farnborough Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Farnborough Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing