We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Quality friendly service”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Met a few folks staying there. Staff were really helpful & polite. Had dinner of duck, which was cooked as requested & really nice. Dinner was great value & breakfast was good too.

Room was clean & very comfortable. There is a charge for internet use & would recommend you establish the costs when booking. Rates vary for an hour, day etc but I avoided as thought a little salty.

Comfortable stay, thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Peter S,

I was delighted to read your recent review about the hotel and pleased to learn that the staff were friendly and helpful during your stay. I was also pleased to note that you enjoyed the food both at dinner and breakfast.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of looking after you again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Once again many thanks for your review

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

639 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    232
    138
    54
    28
See reviews for
192
112
26
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the staff very helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable and we had a lovely view of the garden area beside car park. The breakfast was adequate though, like other Holiday Inns we have stayed in, the coffee is atrocious. I do not know why a group as large as this cannot use their influence to purchase better coffee. That said this is a good value hotel and if we were ever in the area again we would retun

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Simmag,

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review further to your recent stay at the hotel. I was delighted to receive your feedback which I have since shared with my team.

I will forward your comments regarding the coffee to our central Food and Beverage team, I am sorry that the taste did not live up to your expectations. We do serve Starbucks coffee in the lounge which we can offer you as an alternative on a future stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Farnborough having spent many nights there on business some years ago. The hotel itself has, I think, improved, with excellent staff who were friendly throughout my stay. The breakfast was excellent and is highly recommended. Room service was good and relatively quick. However, dinner in the dining room was a little disappointing.

My only real complaint is the swimming pool, sauna, etc. which looks very tired and little, if any, money has been spent on it since my previous visits.

All in all, an excellent stay, but it would have been improved had the leisure area been updated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Richard C,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review further to your recent stay at the hotel. I was delighted to hear of the improvements since your last visit and glad that the staff looked after you.

I was sorry to learn that dinner and the Leisure Club did not exceed your expectations, your comments will be reviewed with my team. I can advise however that a new Jacuzzi is being installed w/c 16th June.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

After a busy day travelling and visiting Legoland The Holiday Inn at Farnborough was the perfect combination of price, distance and comfortability. Our room was lovely, as you would expect clean & comfortable. The lady who checked us in on reception was very thorough and very polite and got us checked in quickly whilst making sure we were fully informed. The cookie & milk voucher and welcome packs for the kids were greatly received. Food was ok ...as we had pre paid for dinner & breakfast we were given a slightly restricted budget menu..it was alright. It filled a hole. I wasn't overly impressed with the kids meals , pretty much looked like a microwaved cottage pie! Extremely over priced on the bar drinks (£22 for two brandy's!) but then i don't really know a hotel that isn't. Breakfast was lovely, nice & fresh with plenty of options - definitely value for money and the pancake station was a nice touch. I would stay again but i wouldn't pre pay for dinner as i would have like more options... the other food being brought out looked like it was a much nicer quality but then again you get what you pay for! Overall it was an enjoyable stay with very helpful staff. Nice touch giving the kids goody boxes upon departure.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeriJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Berskwell,

I was delighted to read your recent review further to your stay with us. I was so pleased you and the family enjoyed your stay and that you would return. We pride ourselves on being a family friendly hotel and strive to ensure our younger guests are as satisfied as the older ones!

I have noted your comments about the food and will discuss this with my Head Chef. The dishes on the set menu should be the same standard as those on the a la carte menu. I am sorry if you felt this was not the case.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon!

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

we stayed hear april 19th 2014...really really nice..staff amazing did everything they could to make our stay as comftable as possible...the pool is brill n the room are lovely..u must stay hear...best hotel ive been to..so thank u

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leannekearney1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear leannekearney1986,

Thank you so much for your recent review. My team were so pleased to receive 5 stars from you!
I was delighted to hear you had a great stay with us and I do hope it will not be long before we are welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

If I book an executive room, I expect more than just a couple of fluffy dressing gowns! Tiny room, minute bathroom, booked a twin, got a double, we both fidget, before you ask! TV had a mind if its own! Wedding had taken over the place, staff rushed off their feet, public loos filthy, baby room bins full of soiled nappy 's - no management in evidence. Wi-fi charged for? Went out! Breakfast manic, small buffet stuffed in a corner, pancake machine broke, toaster ran on candle power, too many choices? Staff excellent but ran ragged, moved to the lounge for peace and quiet, discovered free Costa coffee thing! Never again ......

Room Tip: Find a room away from the front and function room! No lifts by the way....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romeo017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear romoe017,

I was most concerned to read your review as we certainly failed to deliver exceptional service to you during your recent stay with us.

I am not sure how you were able to book an Executive Twin room as the hotel only has Executive Double rooms and I do hope the Receptionist on duty explained this to you. I will be sharing your feedback with my team to review your comments and to put procedures in place to prevent a similar experience for any future guest. I am very disappointed that you did not have a more positive experience and I would ask you to contact me directly on jane.standing@ihg.com so we can make amends.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed again recently after a disappointing previous stay and must say it has improved. The room was spotless and the staff were second to none. Very friendly and professional in a genuine way not the false corporate way you often see at chain hotels. The only let down is the quality of the food but I think this is down to the Holiday Inn group. Overall and good central hotel with fantastic staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Farnborough, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear SteveB,

Thank you so much for your recent review. I was delighted to see you have increased your rating from 2 to 3 stars since your review last September. I am so pleased you can see the improvements we have made.

I will talk to the Chef about the food but you are correct in as much as the menu design is carried out centrally. However I would value your specific feedback so we can improve further the current offering. Our menus are changing on the 6th May so do let me know your opinion should you stay with us after this date.

I am certainly hoping for a 4 star review on your next visit!

Kind Regards

Jane Standing
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnborough
0.4 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,912 reviews
0.9 mi away
Village Hotel Farnborough
Village Hotel Farnborough
#5 of 7 in Farnborough
1,425 reviews
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Farnborough West (Southwood) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
7.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Guildford
Holiday Inn Guildford
#4 of 11 in Guildford
713 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Farnborough Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Farnborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Farnborough

Property: Holiday Inn Farnborough
Address: Lynchford Road, Farnborough GU14 6AZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Farnborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Farnborough
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Farnborough 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Hampshire/Surrey border with easy access to the M3/M25, the Holiday Inn Farnborough is a great choice for a weekend break for visiting Birdworld, Legoland, Thorpe Park, Chessington World of Adventures, Wisley Gardens and Aldershot Military Museum.The hotel is within walking distance of FIVE, the South of England's new premier conference venue, the Farnborough Air Show and the Aldershot Army Show, and is two miles from Rushmoor Arena, which hosts the annual South of England Tempest Rally among other events.This Farnborough hotel offers guests comfortable air-conditioned bedrooms, with high-speed Internet access and full use of the Spirit Health Club with its pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna and well-equipped gym. Our newly refurbished restaurant offers varied menus with daily specials and themed menus once a week, and light bites are served in the lounge. Kids stay & eat free.*We take pride in delivering an efficient, friendly service for conferences, private parties and weddings. Our 10 meeting rooms offer scope for flexible programmes and events for up to 180 delegates/guests.See the hotel's package page for special overnight packages, hotel offers and our monthly theme/tribute nights.*Terms & conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Farnborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Farnborough Hotel Farnborough
Farnborough Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Farnborough Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing