We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just beautiful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gnadenhutten
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Brick House on Main Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Gnadenhutten B&B and Inns
Louisville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just beautiful!”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is an amazing home with a great history. Cathy and JIm were so friendly and very knowledgeable about the home and the town. This old home was charming and very clean. The bathroom was just amazing. This is a wonderful place to get away and rest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickHouseonMain, Owner at Brick House on Main Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review!
Since nearly all of our guests find us online, we rely on reviews like yours to promote a positive image of Brick House on Main to folks who are looking for a place to stay.
We hope you'll be able to visit us again soon!
Your innkeepers,
Jim & Cathy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Espanola, New Mexico
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I was on a solo road trip and decided to stay in a real bed and breakfast (I had stayed in many lovely Airbnbs but wanted a little luxury). What a charming place to stay. The hosts Cathy and Jim were as gracious as could be, and the food was marvelous. A very comfortable bed, quiet and perfectly decorated surroundings with a sweet garden. You could tell they had put a lot of hard work into refinishing this beautiful brick house. A special thank you for the delicious dinner - as I was arriving late on a Sunday in Amish country, it was such a good idea to have supper made especially for me. Thanks dear hosts - and next time I am in the vicinity of the Tappan Lakes, I will invite my husband to come along too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathleenedna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickHouseonMain, Owner at Brick House on Main Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Kathleen - We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us - and your food! You were our first guest from airbnb.com, and we'll be happy to welcome other airbnb travelers if they're all as great as you! Let us know when you're going to be back in our corner of the world, and we'll have your room ready & waiting!
Your innkeepers,
Cathy & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at the Brickhouse on Main for three glorious nights. I have stayed in a lot of B and B"s and this one is the best I have ever visited. This grand home is sparkling clean, the guest rooms and the entire home is beautifully appointed with antiques, warm wood floors and a huge, new, period bathroom. The hosts, Cathy and Jim Marker are friendly, welcoming and accommodating. The little, town of Gnatenhutten is Main Street, USA with Amish country just a short drive away. Don't miss the big, comfy, chair at the top of the stairs for reading good book or a cat nap! You will love this! I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: One room has a TV. One does not. I liked the option of a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 3rdplanetravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickHouseonMain, Owner at Brick House on Main Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
M - It was lovely to host you in March and again in June. We're glad you were able to relax and find rest here at the B&B, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Your innkeepers,
Cathy & Jim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Our stay at the Brick House on Main was perfect in every sense! The house (and its setting) was beautiful and serene. Cathy and Jim were gracious, loving, and accommodating. The quality of the food was equivalent to that of a five-star restaurant! We could not have picked a better setting for a weekend away, and are already planning another visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lydia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrickHouseonMain, Owner at Brick House on Main Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thank you, Lydia, for your gracious review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your "surprise" trip to Brick House on Main. Jim & I are looking forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn, mi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My husband and I were recently honored guests at the lovely Brick House on the Main. We absolutely loved the 1800s farm house converted into a lovely B & B. Although we were alone, as they make sure to not have guests in the second room, unless you're traveling together as it is a shared bathroom, we were delightfully surprised to find out that Cathy & Jim welcome families with children. In fact, if an extended family is traveling together or if two couples with children are traveling together, what a wonderful accommodation. We almost exclusively stay in B & B's, and you will seldom find one offering such a lovely setting to families, especially one open to any age, including babies and toddlers.Being grandparents of seven, we were pleased with their willingness to accommodate families. Regardless of whether you're a couple, two couples traveling together, a couple with a widowed parent along or an entire family, you will find Brick House on the Main to be an outstanding place to stay while visiting the Amish areas of Dover and beyond. From the huge arched windows to the spacious bathroom with a claw foot tub, you will be pleased. The history of the home and the breakfasts prepared made the experience even more delightful. Cathy has a passion for cooking and presentation, and it shows. Both she and her husband are extremely proud of their B & B, having totally restored it from the hand sanded stairways to the original hardwood floors. Their passion and love for this historic home is obvious. Likewise, they are gracious hosts, who go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room was spacious and beautiful. They are quite close to Dover, Berlin and other Amish areas offering a respite after a long day of enjoying the area or as a starting off point with plans to tour the next day. Cathy can provide detailed information about some of the best places to visit. We took her advice and had a memorable time. Thanks Cathy and Jim for hosting us! Gary & Joani Z

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pontoonwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley City, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My husband surprised me the day before my birthday telling me he had booked a b&b close to Amish country for the next day. What a delightful experience. Our room was beautiful, the bed and pillows were awesome. We left asking brand and were we could purchase them. Cathy and Jim love what they are doing and they were excellent hosts.
Cathy's breakfast was fanfastic. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank May T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Good fortune led me to the Brick House on Main.The house is an impressive piece of work that has been beautifully restored. Cathy and Jim know how to make the house appealing and accessible. They are also great hosts who share their knowledge of the house and the area. Cathy will tell you not to miss the Warther Museum in Dover and she knows what she is talking about. Also, check out the Village Store in Gnadenhutten. It was an easy, pretty drive from Pittsburgh. I had a wonderful stay and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gnadenhutten
24.6 mi away
Berlin Resort
Berlin Resort
#3 of 4 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
5.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Uhrichsville
Red Roof Inn Uhrichsville
#1 of 1 in Uhrichsville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
13.9 mi away
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek
Carlisle Inn Sugarcreek
#1 of 5 in Sugarcreek
5.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brick House on Main Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brick House on Main Bed & Breakfast

Property: Brick House on Main Bed & Breakfast
Address: 529 E Main St, Gnadenhutten, OH 44629-9667
Region: United States > Ohio > Gnadenhutten
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Gnadenhutten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brick House on Main is more than just a bed & breakfast. It is an inviting home -- and our guests feel welcome from the moment they walk inside. We've got two fantastic guest rooms, each with a wonderfully-comfortable queen-sized bed. Evening snacks and a hot, homemade breakfast are included in your stay. What else? Great hospitality and a peaceful, elegant 1879 home in a quiet town, just a few miles east of I-77, Exit 65. Give us a try. You'll see why our guests look forward to their next stay at Brick House on Main Bed & Breakfast. NEAR: Ohio's Amish Country, Dennison Depot, Warther Carvings, Performing Arts Center at Kent State Tuscarawas, Trumpet in the Land, Schoenbrunn, Pro Football Hall of Fame, Tappan Lake, Atwood Lake, Alive Festival, Sugarcreek's Fabulous 50's Fling, Miss Clayland Pageant, Polar Express, Dennison Railroad Festival, Uhrichsville Water Park, more than a dozen wineries, golf courses, bike & hiking trails. Located in Gnadenhutten, Ohio, 100 miles from Pittsburgh, Cleveland and Columbus. Nearby towns: Uhrichsville, Dennison, Newcomerstown, Coshocton, Tuscarawas, New Philadelphia, Dover, Sugarcreek, Walnut Creek, Berlin, Baltic, West Lafayette, Stone Creek. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing