We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticked the box”
Review of Tree House - CLOSED

Tree House
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hartley Wintney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Ticked the box”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

The ribs are delicious - the whole reason for our visit. Good portions, no room for a pud! Always room for more variety on the salad cart and perhaps cut down on the amount of tables, but it fulfilled our needs. The service was good, no rushing as it was mid afternoon and not busy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SneekyPeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Tree House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for your review, we do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments following your recent visit to The Tree House Harvester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    66
    44
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing to recommend”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Ate here at lunch time , meeting a large group of friends.
The air temp was cold. The immediate service on standing by the bar was poor.
The salad bar was standard and not very inspired.
Had the ribs off the main menu and they were ok, but the corn on the cob was pathetic.
Apple crumble appeared to be stewed fruit with crumble sprinkled onto it, Quite tasty, but is that apple crumble?
There was a dish called banoffee pot, with banana custard, no idea if there was any banana.
Clever use of words though.
Plenty of room and service was ok, but would not go again.
Would I recommend? No, because it has nothing to say "must go again"
It provides very ordinary food at a more or less ordinary price, borderline between poor and average.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank geoff l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Tree House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
May we take this opportunity to thank you for raising these issues with us. We always aim to learn through the feedback we receive, and we have replied to you personally about this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Horrific girls toilets...”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The thing that lets this place down for me is the girls disgusting toilets. Its the only restaurant where if I know I am going there, I go before I leave the house! I have been going to this place for a few years and its never improved, what kind of Management would ignore this?! Awful.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 789TravelBug2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Tree House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your interesting and informative comments on Trip Advisor following your recent visit. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and have replied to you personally, as we are working hard at getting it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“You know what you are getting”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

As I was staying at the Travel Lodge next door I thought I would eat here. The good thing with a restaurant like a Harvester is that you know what you will be getting before you walk in - a clean and tidy place to eat, friendly waiting staff who can be a little too keen to find out if "everything is OK", a salad bar that typically needs stocking up and a range of food that is filling, calorie laden and probably lacks a little nutritional value. Add it all up and you get a reasonable meal at a fair price. It was fairly busy on a Wednesday night but service was good and I have no doubt that I'll return again to this particular outlet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Tree House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your positive review following your recent visit. We are passionate about getting it right and your feedback will help us to achieve this aim. We really hope you will visit us again and we have sent you a personal reply.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
371 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Back After Six Years”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The last time I visited this Harvester was almost six years ago, when I was working in Blackwater. This time, I was on my way to an evening out, in Basingstoke, and thought this would be the best place to grab an inexpensive meal. I managed to get in early enough, before 6PM,that it wasn't too busy and I was immediately seated. I went for one of their £9.99 deals, which includes a main course, unlimited salad bar, a refillable soft drink, and a dessert. I had the cheeseburger and it was very tasty. The waitress, Theresa, was great. When I ordered my dessert which was ice cream with a sauce, they were out of chocolate sauce. Seeing how disappointed I was, Theresa suggested chocolate sprinkles, instead. Great save! The salad bar seemed fresher than the last Harvester I went to. They also offer free wifi. Easy access from the M3 and free parking, what more could you want?

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvester R, Public Relations Manager at Tree House, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. All the staff here find it very encouraging to see feedback, and we are pleased that you enjoyed the experience when you visited us recently. We would love you to visit again, and have replied to you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tree House also viewed

 
Fleet, Hampshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing