We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sadly disappointed”
Review of Lismoyne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lismoyne Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fleet
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Sadly disappointed”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We visited the hotel for afternoon cream tea yesterday with great expectations but came away sadly disappointed. We say 'sadly disappointed' because we had always wanted to visit the hotel and went there in a positive enthusiastic frame of mind having read the many good reviews.
We had our tea served in the conservatory restaurant and apart from another couple who came in for a short time, we had the place to ourselves. A little bit of soft unintrusive background music would have helped create a more relaxing ambience.
The pot of tea was good and strong, the finger sandwiches were nice but the scones had been warmed up and certainly did not taste as though they had been freshly made that day as they were dry with just a little fruit in them. The cakes were not particularly appealing and looked and tasted as though they had been made by a cookery student - no disrespect to cookery students, we've all got to start somewhere!
The staff were friendly and attentive and it is a pity that small issues detract from what is a nice hotel tucked away near Fleet town centre. Local hotels like this need supporting and our comments should be taken in the context of wanting the Lismoyne hotel to succeed, it deserves to.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, General Manager at Lismoyne Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Richard N

Thank you for the candid review and indeed for supporting your local businesses.

Very disappointed at the title of your review, particularly that the Afternoon Tea wasn't a complete disaster...at least you enjoyed the sandwiches and the tea (and the friendly staff)!

We do try and serve a Traditional Afternoon Tea and serve it in a similar style to that which has been enjoyed over many decades. The tea usually comprises three varieties of Finger Sandwich; Banana/Fruit Cake; Individual Lemon Drizzle Cake; Large Fruit Scone with Cream, Jam and a Chocolate Shortbread Tart..all of which are homemade.

I'm very sorry they didn't meet with your approval, our guests usually really enjoy Tea at the Hotel.

I have discussed the comments raised with the team and I do hope that you will consider visiting us again the next time you are in the area.

Kind regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    211
    110
    44
    36
See reviews for
107
286
37
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel in July 2014 for a wedding. The staff were very friendly, they even let us check in a little early before the wedding. Room was big, bed was soooo comfy and bathroom was clean. Check-out was just as friendly as check-in. Would defo stay again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly4102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, General Manager at Lismoyne Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Carly4102

Thank you so much for your top review, we are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us.

Do come back and see us again soon!

Kind regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The room was luxurious, spacious and comfortable; however, the disabled room that we were in was a long way from the reception and way out.

Their tea or coffee, and cream scone with jam was really nice, but filling, like a small meal.

For a break just outside London, it is worth a visit, and there is plenty of car parking space.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, General Manager at Lismoyne Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear WeRTravelBugsUnited

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel, so pleased you enjoyed your Cream Tea, which I'm guessing was included in one of our Great Value inclusive deals?

Our disabled room is not adjacent to reception, main reason being that the rooms along the Executive Wing are generally larger and more accessible than those rooms closer to reception, I hope this didn't create too much of an inconvenience?

Please come and see us again the next time you plan a visit to North Hampshire!

Kind regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Enjoyed an afternoon tea treat yesterday with my partner to celebrate a birthday. Very reasonable, attentive and charming staff. Home made scones, delicious and generous portion, three tier afternoon selection. For price of Afternoon Tea £14/£15 per person, good value for money and enjoyable afternoon treat.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CMCM14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, General Manager at Lismoyne Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear CMCM14

The team were delighted to read that you enjoyed the Lismoyne Afternoon Tea experience...I'm so pleased that you enjoyed the selection of homemade cakes and scones and also that my staff were charming and attentive.

Reviews of this nature do mean a lot to the team and we are grateful that you have taken the time to post the review on Trip Adviser....For the whole world to see.

Do come and see us again soon!

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We got a Wowcher deal so this was extremely good value for 2 nights B&B plus a cream tea (which we upgraded to afternoon tea). The staff were all really polite and helpful and very friendly. The breakfast was lovely and lots of choice, and we had dinner there on the second night, and again, the food was great. The room we had was not huge but had everything we needed and was spotless. It was a really muggy evening, and the room was very warm. but there was a very efficient fan in the room when we arrived. We were in room 18 which was up two flights of stairs so if you have mobility issues it might be worth mentioning it on booking as the stairs are quite steep. All in all a really nice place to visit, near enough to the town to stroll in, and far enough away to feel you were more rural. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Mention if you have issues with stairs as no lift. Even though there was a wedding reception in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank potterylot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, General Manager at Lismoyne Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Potterylot

Thank you for the top scoring review of your recent sat at The Lismoyne...I was delighted to read that we met with your expectations and provided a quality stay.

Room 18 is not ideal for guests with mobility issues, however we do have more suitable rooms in both the other wings of the hotel.

Thank you once again for your recommendation and we very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton keynes
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as it was close to a family wedding we were attending. Beautiful rooms, very spacious and we both had an excellent nights sleep. Check in and out were both very quick and easy. Breakfast was delicious as well, as we were only there for one night we didn't have dinner.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejwxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, General Manager at Lismoyne Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear ejwxxx

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a 5 Star review following your stay with us!

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time at The Lismoyne and only disappointed that you weren't able to stay longer!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards

Jon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for an overnight stop post Farnborough Airshow and safe to say one of the worst nights sleep I have had.

The hotel as a whole is ok, I wouldn't say anything to make it stand out from the rest on first impressions. The problem comes with the room. Walls are paper thin, could hear, word for word, every conversation from the neighbouring rooms, what was on TV and where abouts in the room they were walking as the floorboards were constantly squeaking!! Had problems with noise at 2:30am, took 6 attempts to get hold of someone in reception to raise a complaint which in itself is shocking service.

The room was what you would expect, very squeaky bed however! TV and selection of channels were very good, however the room could have been cleaned better as there were cobwebs in door frames, and mould in the bathroom and on the net curtains (see photos)

If you want a sound quiet nights sleep, this is not the place for you unless they decide to soundproof and insulate rooms.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Polish1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon G, General Manager at Lismoyne Hotel, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Polish1610

I was disappointed to read your review following your recent stay with us.

Its very difficult to comment on the issues concerning the thickness of the walls as it does not appear that we were made aware of your feelings at checkout, I would have much preferred the opportunity to have given a personal response to your complaints.

We have a Night porter who patrols the building regularly during the night, whilst this doesn't excuse your calls not being answered it may be that he was unable to get to the phone in good time.

The Housekeeping issues you have mentioned have now been addressed, please accept my apologies, once again having mentioned these concerns on checkout may have avoided the need to unnecessarily post the pictures on our Trip Adviser page...as I'm sure you'll agree parts of the Hotel are much more photogenic!

With regard to the final paragraph, for those prospective clients reading this review, please be assured that the hotel structure is no different to the majority of other hotels of this type and unfortunately some noise transference is unavoidable.

Sincerely

Jon Gettings
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Fleet
4.0 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,874 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Elvetham
The Elvetham
#1 of 1 in Hartley Wintney
395 reviews
2.8 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Fleet M3
Days Inn Fleet M3
#3 of 4 in Fleet
242 reviews
1.3 mi away
Travelodge Fleet Hotel
6.0 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lismoyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lismoyne Hotel

Property: Lismoyne Hotel
Address: 45 Church Road, Fleet GU51 4NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Fleet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Fleet
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lismoyne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lismoyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lismoyne Hotel Fleet, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing