We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper pub”
Review of The Tweseldown

The Tweseldown
Ranked #35 of 75 Restaurants in Fleet
Price range: US$3 - US$21
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Proper pub”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Great food and service and a really nice place to sit in and eat. Good choice on the menu and there is a specials board too. The food was well cooked and piping hot. Very reasonable prices! Will be back

Helpful?
Thank Mrben86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    49
    28
    29
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“best fish n chips ever”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

My new local pub, which has good, if limited range of real ales has a fab food menu and finally got to try it.

I'm normally very disappointed with fish n chips - soggy tasteless fish and frozen equally tasteless chips but these were amazing. Fish that looked and tasted of fish. Homemade tartar sauce (a bit bland for my taste but still pleasant). Only improvements would be skinning all the fish ( so I can eat all the batter) and mushy peas.

Can't wait to try more.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brum S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great pub food in a proper pub !”
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

We popped in here last sunday evening feeling hungry but having no idea what the food was like but knowing that it had been voted best pub in Fleet. Now we know why ! The first thing you notice is the roaring fire. The service is fast and friendly, there is a very good selection of beers and the menu looked tasty and when it arrived we weren't disappointed - the trout was perfectly cooked as was the roast lamb and unlike the last pub we went to , we got proper roast potatoes and a good selection of well cooked and nicely presented vegetables.! We were too full up for deserts ,

Helpful?
Thank pimlicoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fleet, Hampshire
1 review
“Fantastic home cooked food!”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We eat at tne Tweseldown most Friday evenings. Food is always freshly prepared and the
service excellent. Beer is good too!

Real log fire in winter, makes for a great atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
“Home from home cosy warm welcome”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Delicious food that suits a range of tastes, open log fires in the winter, sunny beer garden in the summer. A gem of a pub :-)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisybex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Tweseldown also viewed

 
Bentley, Hampshire
 

Been to The Tweseldown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing