We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty meal but a bit expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Oatsheaf

Oatsheaf
Ranked #16 of 74 Restaurants in Fleet
Price range: US$10 - US$29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fleet
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Tasty meal but a bit expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

A good town centre venue for a meal with friends and a nice change from the standard restaurants. Liked the fresh decor of the restaurant area. Our group enjoyed starters of Stilton mushrooms on toast, fried squid, or scallops. Mains included a tasty sea bass with new potatoes, steaks, and also available dishes such as venison and pigeon. My dessert was Eton mess and there was a good choice of coffees. Our party enjoyed the recommended beers. Staff were friendly and service good. The only criticism would be that the price of the meal was a little on the expensive side for what it is, though there were no issues with the quality and taste of the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RosieCFleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    127
    61
    41
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hants
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor service limited menu unhelpful manager”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I booked a table for 6 people for the evening of Bank Holiday Monday. During my phone booking I advised them that we are all vegetarians and as there were only a limited number of veggie options and we wanted to ensure they had enough available.. I was told "no problem" at the time of my booking.

However when we all arrived at the restaurant and all of us placed our order, (early evening) we were told that the one thing most of us wanted to order, the vegetarian tart, that this was not available as they had sold their last one just 2 minutes earlier.. sorry we could only have the Gnocchi. I was unable to choose this option as I am not able to eat it.. and had to order a side salad and fries (the only other choice) my friends ordered it though and all of them said it was tasteless and had no sauce so very dry.

We ordered a bottle of red and some beers between the 6 of us and had no dessert, the bill came to nearly £200 for meals none of us liked and when we asked to speak to the Manager to complain he was very dismissive saying it had been busy so there was nothing they could do and completely overlooked the point we raised about saying when we booked that we were all vegetarian so why didn't they ensure they could offer us "both" vegetarian options before accepting our booking. He laughed at me and said just aswell I only ordered 2 side orders as I could now have those free of charge in compensation. We still paid over £190 for the total bill and quite frankly the food was definitely not worthy of that. Insufficient veggie options, dismissive management and attitude. We will definitely not be eating here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank francesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Our local...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Good town pub. Beer & food very good. We are regular visitors for food and drink and the staff always look after us and make us feel welcome and special. Good varied menu that caters for all tastes and budgets.

Interior decor and furniture very comfortable. Dining area smart.

Garden needs a make over. Often scruffy and dirty!

See you soon guys

J & M

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jason A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“It's been refurbished but needs to concentrate on improving the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

A group of seven of us went to this restaurant for lunch and had two course meals. We were served by a very nice and polite Australian girl who paid attention to our needs.That said we waited a fair time for each serving to be served.
The food however was dissapointing. Out of the seven of us who sat down only two of us were entirely happy with the food.
The interior of the restaurant had been renovated and was very acceptable and the outside of the restaurant was in the process of being renovated. Most of us will not be going back following this experience

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“30th Celebration”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

We travelled to Fleet to celebrate my son's 30th birthday. We were given a private room and bar which was great as the pub was very busy that night. The food and service were great. Lots of choice on the menu. The staff were very attentive and patient throughout the night. We would certainly recommend you eat here when visiting Fleet.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewandcarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oatsheaf also viewed

 
Crookham Village, Fleet
 

Been to Oatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing