We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Alton Four Marks
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Four Marks
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Terrible!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Prior to arrival I was told it was recently refurbished.

The Room was roasting hot, the twin room we had was a Queen Size and ironing board size single. Not only ironing board size but also felt like an ironing board.

Small rooms with only 1 available key between 2 people sharing. Staff if not on Reception can be found around the corner smoking usually with the housekeeping staff.

Untidy outside areas with rubbish and various litter.

The room was roasting hot, and the local area can only be accessed with a car.

I would rather next time sleep in my car.

Sorry but this is below budget standard. Even though a refurbishment has been completed.

Room Tip: Go to a different Hotel & Location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mrwurzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Alton Four Marks, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Mrwurzal, we are sorry to learn of the problems you encountered at our Hotel. We want our customers to enjoy their stays with us and we would like to further understand the issues you have highlighted to find a resolution. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to provide us with more details and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    85
    34
    28
    19
See reviews for
88
80
15
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I think the travelodge has been recently refurbished because it was 100%better than the last time I stayed here. it was spotless comfortable and quiet. A twenty minute walk takes you to an excellent Indian restaurant take away or eat in, booking advised as it was full on the Saturday I went there. Luckily I had booked. There is a Fish and chip shop if you prefer, and an M & S store in the garage. I thoroughly enjoyed my short stay and would recommend it. Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Themikel47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Very clean and comfortable and looks recently refurbished. All Staff friendly and helpful. Double bed in family room very comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. Turn left out of travelodge and approx half a mile down the road on the right is a Tesco express, shops, including a bakery which opens at 8am, and a petrol station which does breakfast baguettes & muffins, tea and coffee and M & S Simply food. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Had a lovely evening meal at the Ship Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Family weekend away that was ruined by a shoddy hotel chain. We stayed in three different rooms over our stay and none were particularly clean. Our first room had a broken toilet door and wouldn't close, our second room had a broken lock on the room door. We only found this out after returning from dinner with 2 small children at night. We couldn't get into the room, the master key failed to work and we were camped out in the corridor. Kids crying and very very tired as past their bedtime. I asked for a lock smith to be called as we needed to get our stuff (in particular my sons medication). We were given a holding room whilst we waited for a locksmith, obviously we couldn't get the boys ready for bed as pyjamas etc in other room. The locksmith turned up and had to drill the lock and therefore disabled the room - hence another change of room at 10pm with 2 screaming and tired children. As a means to say sorry we were given breakfast boxes - in the morning my eldest (3 years) opened his box and the cereal and chocolate roll were covered in mould. We ended up going out for breakfast as the sight of Travel lodge was driving us mad. After a complete refurb i would have thought that the place would have been a lot cleaner - it seems that one dodgy coat of paint constitutes a refurb. Plus side - good bed and nice woman on reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Crikey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Alton Four Marks, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Dear Crikey76, we are sorry to learn of your disappointing stay and that you experienced issues with your door during your stay. We would like to take the opportunity to investigate your concerns in more detail so we would very much appreciate if you would visit our website and use the Contact Us button to provide us with more details. All customer feedback is provided to the hotel directly which helps improve the service they offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Four Marks hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This place is in the middle of nowhere and you must have a car to travel around just to get something to eat, Unfortunately our room had silverback beetles. We were so disgusted we left a day early...





  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Unluckily we had a room with a problem, a terrible vibrating noise started from the fan or pipes in the bathroom at bed time we were offered and changed rooms. Hotel clean, parking easy, if no room noise then all ok and no problem, staff friendly

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

A recently refurbished hotel located in Four Marks.
Car Park is free however this hotel suffers from a complete lack of air conditioning in the rooms which can make them ridiculously hot.
Lack of a bar and and a breakfast room are also sadly missing.
For people that use wi-fi, don't!! The charges are extortionately expensive.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
3 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Sophie from Customer Care at Travelodge Alton Four Marks, responded to this review, 27 July 2013
Dear Richard M, unfortunately not all of our hotels have air conditioning, however we do have a number of fans available from reception. Out Alton Four Marks hotel does not have a bar/café, but they do offer Breakfast Boxes. Our website is the best place to understand what facilities each of our hotels has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Four Marks
4.6 mi away
Swan Hotel
Swan Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
458 reviews
4.9 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
361 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Alresford
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Days Inn Winchester M3
Days Inn Winchester M3
#12 of 13 in Winchester
232 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#5 of 13 in Winchester
983 reviews
10.1 mi away
Travelodge Basingstoke
Travelodge Basingstoke
#6 of 13 in Basingstoke
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Alton Four Marks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Alton Four Marks

Property: Travelodge Alton Four Marks
Address: A31 156 Winchester Road, Four Marks GU34 5HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Four Marks
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Four Marks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Alton Four Marks 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Alton Four Marks reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Alton Four Marks Hotel Four Marks
Travelodge Alton 4 Marks
Travelodge Four Marks
Travel Lodge Four Marks
Four Marks Travel Lodge
Four Marks Travelodge
Travelodge Alton Four Marks Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing