We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classiccc!”
Review of The Elvetham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Elvetham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartley Wintney
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Classiccc!”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

My sister had her wedding reception over here. Being my first visit to a English-sy mansion, I was totally excited about it ! The place was amazing with nice grounds ! It was pretty cold and windy since it was October but apart from that, everything was perfect ! The rooms were all unique with its own characteristics and the honeymoon suite ( we took a peek !) was fabulous ! If only I had more time to roam the grounds….

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    197
    128
    45
    18
    7
See reviews for
92
73
18
132
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights recently for a wedding. It's undeniably a beautiful venue and the whole day was amazing. Food very good and bar prices not too horrendous. Room was in separate building across from main building and although more our room was more modern, it would appear you get more if you stay in the main building e.g bottled water. Had to shower in our friends' room as we had no hot water either days we were there, mentioned this at check out and received a discount. Other than this it was a beautiful place to stay and we enjoyed our visit.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teamfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

It's already been a week since we got married and had our wedding breakfast and reception at the Elvetham Hotel. 99% of our guests were coming from Ireland and France and they said that our wedding was out-of-this world. I would like to thank Kacey, Nick and Andrew from the hotel who organised everything smoothly. As bride and grooms we were treated as if we were prince and princess, we had our own waiter and everybody from the hotel looked after us.
The food was gorgeous, the chef listened carefully to our feedback and the all team made us and our guests feel as if we were at home. The venue is beautiful and the team who works is at the standard of the venue. I highly recommend the hotel for weddings ( although you want to keep it to yourself!) and some member of my family and us stayed over and they all loved it.
I did my own flowers and deco and Andrew and Nick arranged the room exactly how I wanted it to be arranged.
To be honest, the day went so fast that I would like to do it again and be able to absorb slowly every minute of it.
Marie( wedding 18 October 2013)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie_do2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristianstad, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

A beautiful estate and a splendid main building. Doesn't help a lot if you are placed in the dog bin right across. Not the same at all so make sure that you get a room in the main building. High class indeed but come on; £3.50 for a cup of coffee is a rip off either way!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulf W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We attended a friends wedding and have to say, it was absolutely beautiful. The civil service was held in a lovely room with a pair of registrars who clearly had done a few at this venue. They knew the hotel well and made a more elaborate than usual ceremony. We then went through to the bar area, the ceilings and fireplace's along with the art work displayed around the hotel are historically interesting and beautiful. The bar service was friendly and efficient. The chairs, tables and comfy sofas are dotted about which enables you to be private or sociable - the views from the floor to ceiling windows onto the grounds are lovely during the day in the evening tasteful and subtle lighting around the grounds make it beautiful. The wedding breakfast was served in the conservatory, again, it was done efficiently and professionally - the food was good sized portions, well presented and nicely cooked. The master of service was very professional and ensured the whole day ran smoothly, the wedding cake was displayed in the stairwell which made the "confetti throwing" photo's with the cutting of the cake beautiful. The dancing was held in another lovely room and the evening hot buffet was served in the halls, the way the hotel is laid out makes it feel comfortable and not overcrowded - more lived in stately home rather than austere and standoffish - (The ladies toilets are very modern, well decorated and extremely clean.) We enjoyed our day immensely and will probably visit again for a meal when we can enjoy the grounds as when we visited the weather was torrential rain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank commonasmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
276 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

The magnificence of The Elvetham is the stunning red brick building and period details partnered with the wonderfully kept grounds. The location is good for the north ends of the M3/M4 and easily reachable from Heathrow and Southampton airports. I know the hotel is a very popular wedding venue and it would present the most spectacular backdrops for photos. There is even a church in the estate grounds. I stayed midweek for business meetings and found the front desk service very polite and efficient, although they could do with a doorman to assist those carrying luggage. The bed and breakfast rate I paid was good value at £95 so within the budget for most business travellers. Breakfast is a buffet with a hot and cold selection. It's ok but I would expect a cooked to order breakfast at similar higher end hotels. Toast and hot drinks are prepared to order. Service was a bit slow during my first breakfast but was much improved on morning two.

I enjoyed a nice evening meal which was very well prepared and they also offer some typical 'pub menu' staples in the bar area which looked good.

I had a small problem with my room key which was quickly and politely resolved by the front desk staff and they were similarly efficient on check out.

Only thing scoring The Elvetham down is the rooms. They are getting dated now and in need of refurbishment although mine was clean throughout. Also, I could have done with having the heating on as autumn had well and truly arrived but didn't manage to coax any heat from the radiators in my courtyard room.

Will stay again if hosting overseas visitors for the splendour and service alone; it's good value which I suspect is driven largely by the recognition of the outdated rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hypothalamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My partner and I stayed overnight for a wedding celebration. Everything ran like clockwork, great architecture, atmosphere, food and attention to detail. Our deluxe room was very large and traditionally furnished although the bathroom was a little outdated. (Wedding guests receive a discounted room price). Comfortable bed and quality bedding. The view from the conservatory at breakfast was stunning.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartley Wintney
4.5 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,302 reviews
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
1.9 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fleet
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
73 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
5.6 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elvetham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elvetham

Property: The Elvetham
Address: Fleet Road, Hartley Wintney, Hook RG27 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Hartley Wintney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartley Wintney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elvetham 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elvetham is a privately owned country mansion, taking great pride in delivering outstanding customer service and attention to detail. We are located just outside Hartley Wintney, a quaint little village in Hampshire, surrounded by rolling countryside and beautiful views. Our fascinating history dates back many centuries yet our modern approach to our customers is fulfilled with dedication and professionalism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Elvetham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elvetham Hotel Hartley Wintney
Elvetham Hartley Wintney
Elvetham Hotel Hartley Wintney
The Elvetham Hartley Wintney, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing