We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality staff.”
Review of The Elvetham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elvetham
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartley Wintney
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality staff.”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I was invited to a wedding here at the hotel. I decided to book a room for the night of the wedding.
The wedding arrangements were well organised by the family and the hotel. It was a wonderful 24hrs assisted by the well trained and helpful staff at the Elvetham. My room was well appointed clean, quiet and very reasonably priced. The breakfast was terrific. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRB300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    129
    47
    18
    7
See reviews for
94
74
18
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights for my nephew's wedding. Our first impression of the hotel was awesome, set in beautifully landscaped gardens and lit up in the darkness of a winters evening and we were not disappointed. We were greeted very warmly by reception staff and found our room to be spacious and welcoming. There was a huge variety of food for breakfast to cater for every taste.
The wedding feast itself was absolutely delicious, the presentation excellent, and staff courteous.
This stunning, superb Mansion and grounds complete with faultless service, made the wedding a day to remember.

Room Tip: The entire hotel was booked by wedding guests and we heard no negative remarks about any of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackslybacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We had booked a wedding here, but life dealt a blow. My daughters father was diagnosed with terminal cancer. Which caused an array of emotions, so planning a wedding was not upper most on my daughters mind. Emotions were running high and all over the place. My daughter informed the Elvetham wedding team. We were aware that the 2k deposit was non refunable, but due to the personal circumstances we thought they would return all or at least some. The Elvetham showed no compassion or cup of kindness. The original date was covered, so The Elevetham had 2k for doing nothing. Don't book your wedding here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rabbitstewandsylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PetershamGroup, Owner at The Elvetham, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
I have to reply to this unfair review that is factually incorrect. It is sad that some reviewers abuse the site in this way.

Our wedding deposit policy, like most venues, is to not transfer or refund deposits as we would end up with dates with no bookings and the business losing money. The original wedding date in Feb 2012 was set and when it became clear that the couple had some serious family concerns and worries, we compassionately agreed to transfer their deposit to a date in November 2012. We were unable to sell the original Feb 2012 date and had an empty and therefore loss making day.

They cancelled the Nov 2012 date for further family reasons and we agreed to move their booking to November 2013. Fortunately we did sell the November 2012 date to another couple. They cancelled the November 2013 date and we were unable to sell this to anyone.

At their suggestion we even agreed to transfer the deposit to one of their friends, if they wished to choose a date. We gave them a month to arrange this and never heard back from them, until the bride's mother - the reviewer - asked for their deposit back because we had been so unreasonable, insensitive and inflexible. Really?

We did all we could to help this couple, often at our expense, and a negative review on tripadvisor was threatened and was therefore inevitable.

Philip Warden - Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My daughter held her wedding reception here at the beginning of January and we would just like to say a big thank you to the staff for helping to make the day so special.
The hotel is a lovely old building in absolutely stunning grounds, and despite the weather at this time of year, even the outdoor photographs were beautiful. The Wedding breakfast was held in the conservatory which looked amazing, and the lovely Christmas decorations at the Elvetham added to the occasion. The staff looked after us so well especially Andrew and Nick who were very attentive and ensured that everything ran smoothly, and the reception staff who were friendly and helpful. Many relatives on both sides stayed in the hotel and all loved their rooms, and the buffet breakfast the next morning, which was plentiful with lots of choice, finished it off perfectly!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank M2339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, MD
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed the weekend of 17 Jan 2014. As we drove up and saw the beautiful gardens, outbuildings, and the Elvetham itself, we started to get excited. It pretty much went downhill from there. We were greeted (if you can call it that) by a surly receptionist who told us we couldn't possibly get into our room before 1pm, and that we could wait in the bar. Finally got into our room, exhausted from our red eye flight. The room was nice and the setting beautiful. Bed was comfy. I went for a jog and came back for a shower.. Slipped in the tub, and in the process of trying not to fall, grabbed a faucet. It was the hot water tap which immediately started gushing near-boiling (I wish this were an exaggeration, but it literally burned my skin). This was all bad enough, but when I called the front desk they were unapologetic..didn't ask me if I was ok, nothing. If I had been elderly or god forbid bathing a baby it could have been a real tragedy.I was appalled, not only at their lack of consideration for me, but for the danger they put their guests into. This matter should be examined by safety authorities immediately.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary64Bethesda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This hotel is in absolutely stunning grounds, with access to lovely country walks where it's extremely common to see deer etc.
Now for the hotel: generally very good and very friendly service. The rooms in the main house are generally stunning. The ones in the courtyard are by far plainer and quite a bit cheaper looking. They are indeed cheaper as well...
I have stayed at this hotel a LOT as I was commuting long distance week in week out for months.
And I kept going back. The little village is an easy half hour walk through country tracks and there are an assortment of restaurants.
The grounds are incredibly well kept and they have some truly stunning trees.
Excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is one of the best New Years Eve parties ever. From the moment we arrived we felt very special. Everyone was served champagne and canape's from what seemed an endless supply. Some time after 8pm we joined a table made up of couples. It did not take long for everyone to enjoy each others company.The entertainment (billed as Frank Sinatra but far more versatile) was great and people were dancing before the main meal. Later the band made sure that everyone was included and the only criticism is that the dance floor was just not big enough for everyone and people were dancing around their tables. Final verdict at £120 a bit expensive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hartley Wintney
4.5 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,322 reviews
3.4 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
95 reviews
3.1 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#2 of 4 in Fleet
686 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
5.6 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elvetham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elvetham

Property: The Elvetham
Address: Fleet Road, Hartley Wintney, Hook RG27 8AS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook > Hartley Wintney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Hartley Wintney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Elvetham 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elvetham is a privately owned country mansion, taking great pride in delivering outstanding customer service and attention to detail. We are located just outside Hartley Wintney, a quaint little village in Hampshire, surrounded by rolling countryside and beautiful views. Our fascinating history dates back many centuries yet our modern approach to our customers is fulfilled with dedication and professionalism. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Elvetham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elvetham Hotel Hartley Wintney
Elvetham Hartley Wintney
Elvetham Hotel Hartley Wintney
The Elvetham Hartley Wintney, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing