We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Staff and very slow service”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Costa Coffee

Costa Coffee
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Seating, Takeout
Farnborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rude Staff and very slow service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have never been in such a poor Costa (and I have been in a few!!) When people say nothing is too much trouble this is quite the opposite as far as this Costa is concerned as everything does seem to be too much trouble. You ask a member of staff to clean a table and you get 'Huff' and she just brushes the crumbs etc on to the floor. You ask for you coffee to be done a certain way or in a cup and you get a 'Tich I suppose so'. This is all of course when you have been finally served as the service is always extremely slow.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jeremy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Costa at Its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

This is a great "village" Costa always busy but staff excellent, especially Dan, always happy and efficient.
Sometime get table huggers without drinks just laptops and yummies but otherwise very good

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hobson's choice”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Late Saturday afternoon, costa was the most only place available
Very full with an engineer trying to fix the heating, the place looked as though a bomb had hit it. Not ideal for a relaxing coffee

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gerald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good but noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I like Costa Coffee in general and this one fits the formula: a reasonably good selection of cakes and snacks and a wide menu of well-brewed coffee. Comfortable seats, busy, friendly staff.

My biggest concern with Costa is the infernal noise of the coffee machines. I was in Canada a few months ago and visited their "national" chain, Tim Hortons. Somehow they manage to brew great coffee without the racket.

I will be back at Costa, but not sitting anywhere near the counter.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank msjhaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costa Coffee also viewed

Hartley Wintney, Hook
 
Hartley Wintney, Hook
Hartley Wintney, Hook
 
Hartley Wintney, Hook
Hook, Hampshire
 

Been to Costa Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing