We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee ...”

Baristas Coffee House and Bistro
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good coffee ...”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The food is ok without being great, the service is ok. I think perhaps the scone I had last time was made way before 300, not really fresh. I find the service a bit aloof. The menu looks good, but i'm afraid that the food seems bland. Cakes are nice, but again, they seem to not be really fresh when I go in. Coffee is really good. They serve food all day (not sure about evenings). Somehow the cooked food doesn't really do it for me, but I know others love it. Just wish for really fresh cakes and scones :-( Its not extremely bad, just average to me

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZVistingUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    19
    3
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
391 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Best scones in the area”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Really like the Little House. They make great scones, have good tea and really good friendly service. Also nice to be able to sit outside and watch the world go by on a warm day. Best place for afternoon tea in Hartley wintney. Shame the council allowed Costa to open next door as it is not as good and draws customers away from a great local business

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best omelette of my life! ”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

And on top of that, the same about the milkshake! Such great value for money and - also - such great chips!

Helpful?
1 Thank TimmyAndBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Love this place”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Often come here for lunch or afternoon tea and always enjoy the delicious freshly cooked food from a varied menu. Staff are very welcoming and the service is always prompt and efficient. Much prefer the Little House Tea Room experience compared to the larger chain store type of coffee/tea shops which is why I will keep going there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthtowan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Went here for a quick breakfast one Saturday morning. Service was really slow, but to be fair they were completely full with no free tables. The breakfasts were all £5 with lots of choice and good portion sizes but fairly average taste. The fruit smoothie that my sister had was brilliant, just like I've had in Thailand before, very refreshing and unlike the smoothies you usually find in the UK. Worth a visit for a cheap breakfast and a good smoothie!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SGCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baristas Coffee House and Bistro also viewed

Hartley Wintney, Hook
 
Hartley Wintney, Hook
Hartley Wintney, Hook
 
Hartley Wintney, Hook
Hartley Wintney, Hook
 

Been to Baristas Coffee House and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing