We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small overpriced portions” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ranked #11 of 82 Restaurants in Havant
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Small overpriced portions”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Fish and chips is more like 3 fish fingers and chips with more coating than fish. This place looks nice but is way too expensive I wouldn't ever use the ship inn again not unless they bring down their prices to equal the portion sizes. Also I don't see management's apologies and explanations to unsatisfied customers...that says it all.

Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    138
    81
    73
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great food, amazing location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food, great service and a beautiful view. I had the sea food stew which was amazing, the best I've ever had. Love this place and it's amazing for all occasions. I don't understand some of these reviews; I think they're either reviewing the wrong pub or they simply work for another pub.

Helpful?
Thank Lottieg92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We rode our bikes to this pub. 2 grandparents, parents and 2 children. It was Friday lunch and looked very busy. We ordered from the bar snack menu. 1 soup of the day a couple of ham and cheese sandwiches , sausages for the children(limited selection for children)and pitta with houmous. We waited 50 minutes for it to arrive- far too long. It was ok but nothing special. It was overpriced. Eg. 2 sausages was £3.95. On the plus side it is a lovely location when the weather is good, overlooking the harbour.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ajg2393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Good pub food (nothing exotic, but good, nevertheless), great beer and efficient and friendly service. Added to that, it's in a great position, with lovely views over the harbour. Highly recommended !

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Small portions, functional food served by friendly people”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We pop into the "ship" after an enjoyable walk in the area and although the service is always friendly, they really do need to improve the quality of the meals served. The portions are also pretty stingy and this alienates me from wanting to dine in such places. You shouldnt have to pack a sandwich as a top up for an excuse of a main course and this is so often the case now. We will no doubt go again because of the location and quick access to the A27. I dont however enjoy the feeling of being cheated over a dozen chips, or two spoon fulls of rice, etc, etc. However small and miserly the portions are , I still will not have a dessert and will leave feeling far from happy. More food please and once you get the idea of filling a plate, you could justify charging for it accordingly. For now , you are selling many large starters as mains which is wrong.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andiymac777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

 
Hayling Island, Hampshire
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing